We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Yellowknife
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Stay Here”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

By far the worst place I've ever stayed!
The Manager gave out my key, no ID, no prior approval, nothing. Just ask for any key to any room they will give it to you....I found a man in my room.
Talking to both the Manager and General Manager, they told me upon check in I must notify the front desk that i do not want anyone in my room, thought that was a given? Plus the general manager was very rude!
I will never stay here again, stay somewhere else for safety sake.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!! Your Safety is in Jeopardy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChelseyDYellowknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
The fact that the hotel is always wrong applies for this review. However, the fact remains the guest let it be know what hotel and what room she was in to her co-workers and friends who passed the information on to the guests partner. The partner wanted to surprize the guest and met the requirements to obtain a key for the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    20
    7
    19
See reviews for
29
21
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is not near city centre but fairly easy to get to. My room was quite. Bathroom & tub were very clean. Carpet might need replacing as it does have old stains. The hotel gave us complimentary water bottle & newspaper every morning. Each bed comes with four pillows. The bed was reasonably comfortable as long as you slept in the middle of the bed.
The hotel does provide free wireless internet. If you don't have your laptop with you, you can buy 12 minutes for $2 in the main lobby. The hotel does have a restaurant on the main floor. The menu and service were above average. Parking is free. There are restaurants and a mall across the street. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelguy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I read the reviews and was scared but had someone who stayed there who said it was good. I was happy I listened to him because it was a quiet, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was very clean (which is what I look at most). Tub was new and linens were white. Will stay again next time I am in Edmonton.

Room Tip: If you like thin pillows, bring your own. Large fluffy ones are on the beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfedosoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We came to edmonton, due to a death of a friend. It was late and figured this was the closest and it accepted dogs. Used my debit card and they charged a deposit until the morning, once i was in the room couldn't understand why a deposit was required. The bed was very lumpy. My husband had a sore back. The room stank, not like smokers stank either as i am a smoker and can tell the difference. I was so in a hurray to leave in the morning as the stank was awful. I used to clean rooms in motels couldn't believe that the toilet wasn't that clean, around the bottom. I could of tolerated paying 60.00 for this awful room, but not 130.00. the quilt was a little ripped. the only plus was they gave me doggy treats for my dog.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindamich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
The guest was likely in a Heritage Wing room which is the older part of the hotel. The guest may have chosen this portion of the hotel due to price point. We do accept pets in the new part of the hotel as well. Hotels are always renovating, Beds TV's etc., all of the TV's are currently being upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed five nights at the Rosslyn in a tower room and was a pleasant stay.

Positives:
Extremely quiet sleep
Comfortable pillow-top beds
Refrigerator in room
Turn-down service (very nice)
Friendly staff
Reasonable price
Liquor store, Restaurant, Convenient store right there on site
Across the street from a mall/shopping center
Free wifi
Clean room
Many extra amenities aside from standard (shoe horn, make-up remover, bottled waters and FibreOne bars (daily), mouthwash, flavored coffee creamers)

Negatives:
Elevator was down/broken for three of the five days there (we were on third floor)
Older television (some other rooms had large HD TVs)
Heater/AC fan didn't have a setting (it was pretty loud or off)

Notes:
Seeing we requested a barrier-free (handicap accessible) room, I was puzzled they still kept us on the third floor without elevator access. They did lower the bed with a shorter box spring so it wasn't so high - still very comfortable. Very polite desk and housekeeping staff. Barrier-free shower was equip with bench seat and proper hand rails. I love the fact that they allow pets for a small additional fee - many don't!

Summary:
Overall, it was a pleasant stay. I would have rated it five stars if it wasn't for the couple negatives listed above. If ever travelling to Edmonton again, I would gladly stay at the Rosslyn a second time!

Room Tip: If you are missing something you need in your room... just ask. They aim to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadara49660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I have stayed in very few hotels that were as quiet as this one. Over the 4 nights there, I did not hear any noise from outside, the halls or the rooms surrounding or over top of mine. The bed was amazing and had about a four inch pillow top that you just sank into. The room was very clean and the sheets and towels seemed to be new. The air conditioner also did a very good job of keeping the room cool (which not all hotel air conditioners will do well.) The snack basket was also a real treat. Cookies, granola bars, muffins, juice boxes, an apple etc made a perfect snack and was also much appreciated. Was only able to go for breakfast at the restaurant one morning but the food was very good and the portion was huge.

The only minor inconvenience was that they do not accept pre-paid Visa Cards which I always use for corporate travel.

Thanks for a great stay. Your location will be my #1 choice when I'm working in the north part of the city!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abroseabrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while he attended training at the Base. While he did that, I was able to get in a couple days of shopping.

From what I understand, the hotel is an older one in Edmonton, but they have upgraded it beautifully. To me, it felt like a modern hotel with a great bed, nice washroom, coffee pot, and wifi.

It is in a great location as well being close enough to kingsway mall, Londonderry mall, north gate mall, and all the stores to the west on 137 ave.

We had a beautiful room on the fourth floor. Try it ... Bet you will like it too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#31 of 93 in Edmonton
129 reviews
Chateau Nova Kingsway
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Inn and Suites

Property: Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Address: 13620 97 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5E 4E2, Canada (Formerly Rosslyn Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosslyn Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 room value oriented property. Offers a cold continental breakfast, free parking and is a pet friendly facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosslyn Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Edmonton
Rosslyn Inn And Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing