We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE!”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Comfortable room, very good food, convenient for airport and downtown, and a complimentary shuttle service to meeting locally.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    132
    52
    36
    21
See reviews for
96
82
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The hotel is beautifu and very well maintained. The only problem we had was that the frame on the sofabed was badly damaged. When we asked if there was another room that would accomodate our whole family, the only other room also had a sofabed with a mangled frame. The room was great for two of us ... but the kids didn't sleep very well.

Would I recommend this hotel ? Yes... as long as you aren't relying on using the sofabed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Each time we stay at this hotel I keep meaning to do a trip report, but never get around to it. I use Trip Advisor when looking for hotels myself, so I guess I should share in the reporting.....

My wife and I travel from the Northwest Territories to Edmonton several times a year. Sometimes it is just to shop, and other times we stay prior to a trip to sun, beach and hotter weather.

We find the service great at this hotel, and the location is very convenient. When we stay we are minutes away from South Common, but if we want to go to West Edmonton Mall, the Whitemud is right there and it is a quick trip. Also, getting to the airport is easy at this location, because you don't have to fight traffic to head south.

The restaurant on-site is good, but if you dont want to drive after shopping all day, then Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Montana's, etc are just across the street.

Most of all the service is great, and any special requests we have had of the front desk have always been accomodated. A big plus for us to is that it is fairly quiet. Lots of hotels on main streets are loud, but this hotel is pretty quiet inside the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polarguy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2010

loved this hotel ... staff was very friendly and helpful
buffet breakfast was excellent lots of stuff to choose from
the rooms were very clean and tidy

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-25-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slave lake
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

the beds were very comfortable, something we have had a hard time finding in our last few stays in Edmonton. The decor is very appealing and the new lounge area is very cozy and inviting. We have not tried the resturant yet but am looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOBERMORY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Rooms were clean, and fresh, Most rooms face the reataurant, bar, which has music running till 1 am. Not good for those who wish a quiet stay. The back rooms face the railway, which speaks for itself. Food is fantastic. Sure with they pool to relax in. On service, we had to inform the desk of used dishes, and food that sat outside the door next to us for 1.5 days. Need to work on service!! Very difficult to access entrance unless you preplan your directions to allow you to come from the south.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Went to the Sawridge for the night of our wedding as a gift from a parent. We had the princess Suite and it was not quite what we expected. When we walked into the hotel, the front was beautiful and extravagant, the restaurant was nice etc. When we walked into our room however, we were surprised that it had not be renovated like the rest of the hotel. It seemed very out of date, there was a bar in there that looked really run down, an old television. There was a sign on the inside saying not to open the door to anyone unless you knew them and another set of doors that double locked. Made us wonder why? Then we went to enjoy the wonderful Jet Tub and when we turned it on pubic hair came out of the jets into the water!! It wasn't just a little either, it almost seemed like they hadn't even cleaned the tub. The tub was a nice large size and so was the shower. That night we kept having people knock on our door! It happened 3 times! We were worried because of all the signs and extra precautions that someone was trying to rob us! I do not know what the rest of the rooms of this hotel are like, however, I would not ever go back to this hotel. This room cost a whopping 240 CAN to boot! We felt our father had been ripped off definitely.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpectrumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SawridgeEdmontonGM, Colin McBeath - General Mananger at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
I am writing again to apologize for this but am slightly baffled. I am writing this in March of 2010 and the guest stayed in October 2009, essentially five months ago. In the month of October I had only three guests staying in the Princess Suite and non were for a special occassion and all paid under $150.00 dollars. I'm obviously going to investigate further and attempt to reach this user personally through Trip Advisor, however when looking through thier prior postings I see only two and both were simply horrible. The other one is from a resort down south.

As a General Manager of a hotel and a frequent user of Tripadvisor for personal trips and posts I'm feeling incredibly perplexed and mixed about this particular post.

We have a strict program of disinfecting our jacuzzi's after each guest departs even if we are not sure they used them. We also take apart the motors on a monthly basis to disinfect each moving part. This should be standard practice in ANY hotel as the motors can collect debris very easily as anybody who owns a home jacuzzi will testify.

Again I trust Tripadvisors posters to be as honest as possible and in my years of working throughout the world have always respected posts for some reason I'm concerned about this particular one. I do hope this does not come across as defensive ....just concerned.

Sincerely,

Colin McBeath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Address: 4235 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5H2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn - Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Sawridge Hotel Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing