We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had to book somewhere other than my usual hotel and thought I would step it up a notch. I went to the Delta as it is very close to the Royal Alex Hospital. It is also right by the Greyhound terminal. Walking there I was approached by people that I shouldn't be walking in that area, it wasn't safe. The entrance was very wet and unattended, not to mention secluded in a parking area. However, the service from the front desk was second to none. This man made me feel like royalty! I had my room upgraded which was wonderful. But it is older, I was disappointed to see an old yellow jet tub in my king suite. It is a little blah. The walls are very thin as I got to hear the guy next door blow his nose and walk around. I ate at the restaurant for breakfast but as a single older woman it was clear the waiters priority was the business men. Don't ask for a glass of water. Upon leaving the front desk again was fantastic in their service. Can't say I will spend the extra again there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dining experience. I have shared it with the food and beverage director and we will certainly use your feedback as a learning opportunity.

I have also shared your wonderful comments regarding our front office team with the front office manager so that he may reward his team accordingly.

Thank you for your feedback and most importantly for your business. They are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    148
    133
    94
    37
See reviews for
84
110
42
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had an overnight stay in Edmonton to catch the train to Jasper. Very comfortable hotel within the complex of a shopping mall towards the north of the city which made trip in from airport rather long. However we had an excellent dinner and it was close to railway station for an early morning train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and specifically the location.

Thank you for your business and I hope that you enjoyed Jasper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Another cold Delta experience. Arrived in Edmonton with a temperature of 4 degrees Celsius and calling for snow overnight. Didnt want to stay in an inside room (facing the mall) but wanted an outside room (prefer daylight to mall lighting). Clerk spent over 5 minutes until, exasperated, he exclaimed "are you sure you want to move ... Its a really nice room." We acquiesced from impatience. The Air conditioning was on in our room. Turned it off and turned up thermostat as it was cold. Called front desk 2 hours later when it didn't warm up. No one came. Ordered room service and they delivered cold clubhouse sandwiches (made with toast and bacon which shouldn't be cold). Complained of cold room. They summoned maintenance. Maintenance showed up with a space heater saying, "it's 20 degrees like its supposed to be." 20 is only 68 Fahrenheit. Room temp is 70-72 F. No way to turn up thermostat. Maintenance told us he'd ask his boss about turning up master unit set for 20. Well then what's the point of the thermostat if guests have no control over it?

Duvet was so thin you could see through it. All the down/filling was in a one-foot section up by your neck. Next morning when we checked out early because we couldn't sleep from being cold, clerk comped our room service and promised their hotel manager would call later that day. I left my business card. No one ever called.

Don't bother. If they're trying to save money on costs, remove the empty fridges from the room, warm up tile floors in bathroom and shut off the air conditioning when snow is in the forecast. But let your guests choose their own comfort levels.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We were having temperature challenges in both the Hotel and the Mall as we transitioned from Fall to Winter settings and were not prepared for the surprise, earlier than normal cold spell that hit the city while you were here. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

I have shared your comments with our front ofice manager regarding your experiences with our team and he will follow up accordingly.

Thank you for your business and for your feedback. They are both very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I travel for work on a regular basis and I was very disappointed with this hotel. The whole place, especially the rooms, is outdated and run down. It was clean and the staff were friendly, but definitely not what I expected for a Delta property. At best this is a 2.5 star hotel. I'll be staying somewhere else next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul-T-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your business and I am sorry that our product let you down.

We are aware that there are areas of our property in need of an upgrade however it is within the same lifecycle as other properties within our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel for a weekend away September 28-30. The lobby is lovely, and the trainee who checked us in was friendly. She did try to ask the manager/supervisor a question, and he was quite rude to her, which was uncomfortable to witness. Given the number of trainees we saw, perhaps the hotel has a high turnover?
Our room was large, but quite dated: stains in the tub, lots of dents and scratches on the furniture, lumpy carpets. The hallways are also quite old-looking, with worn carpet. However, everything was clean, and we found the housekeeping staff to be very friendly and helpful -- we ran into various cleaning staff in the elevators often, and enjoyed talking to them.
The location was great, right downtown in the City Centre Mall. We went shopping, out for dinner, and to a movie over the weekend. We really like the location for the convenience, although the downside (as mentioned by many others) is that parking -- even to check in -- was a huge nuisance. We parked elsewhere, and just used the LRT.
We were disappointed by the “guarantee” posted in the room, however, about everything being perfect, or the first night was free. Our room had only one robe, and a missing pillow. The pillow was not a big deal, but the missing robe was annoying. We did get a replacement the next day, but the attitude was rather dismissive by the front desk clerk (maybe people don’t usually use the robes?). An apology would have been nice.
We booked through an Expedia sale, and got a great deal on the room. Had we paid more, we would have been more disappointed with the dated nature of the room. As it was, we felt it was good value for the money. It certainly was not up to the standards of other Delta hotels I have stayed in; I would rate it 2 ½ - 3 stars, at most. It was not remotely a 3 ½ or 4 star hotel.
I should mention – we did plan to eat at Cocoa’s lounge, the hotel’s restaurant on the third floor. We were seated quickly, but then just sat. There were only 5 other tables, and the waitress seemed very flustered. After waiting over 15 minutes for someone to come take a drink order, we left and went to the Elephant & Castle, where in the equivalent amount of time we had been seated, given drinks, and had our order taken.

Room Tip: I do not know if there are any renovated rooms, but it couldn't hurt to ask. Premium suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and helpful review.

I have shared your comments with our director of rooms as well as our food and beverage director and they will follow up with their teams accordingly.

Thank you for your business and I do apologize that you did not feel you received value during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and not much has changed except the hotel is showing it's age,however the room was clean and the beds were comfortable and the service was very good.The location was good for us on this visit as we we there to go to a football game at Commonwealth Stadium and the train took us there and back and it was the first stop in either direction so it was very convenient.The hotel is in a mall which can be interesting and convenient.Good breakfast but again more specifically was the staffs good service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
On behalf of our team, please accept my heartfelt thanks for taking the time to recognize our team in such a postive way. I have shared your comments with the hotel and I am sure they will be pleased to read that their efforts do not go unnoticed.

Thank you for choosing us and for your business.

Sincerely,

Steven Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I arrived, to a nice clean well appointed room. However the television was your standard twenty inch...nothing special.

I am a wheelchair user so I asked for an accessible king room, and when I used tohe washroom I was not happy with the curved bar on the wall-it made it hard to transfer to and from the "john." Also the lip on the shower, and lack of space in the shower stall did not make for a good stay. To top it off the air quality in the room was very poor, and parking was very hard on the pocketbook....

I am not sure if I'd be back...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResDeltaEdmCentre, Director of Sales at Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Please accept my most sincere apologies.

I have asked our maintenance team to look into he accessible room to see what improvements can be made and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
Address: 10222 102 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 4C5, Canada (Formerly Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 7 minutes from everything…The Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel is ideally located in the heart of downtown Edmonton within the City Centre Shopping Mall. Featuring pedway connections to the subway, 2 other shopping centres, the Shaw Conference Centre and 17 office towers the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel is just 7 minutes from everything. Just steps away from Sir Winston Churchill Square, City Hall and the heart of the Arts District we are right next door to internationally recognized festivals such as the Edmonton Folk Music Festival, Jazz Festival, Street Performers Festival, and Taste of Edmonton. If festivals are not your thing, the same area boasts cultural locations such as the Alberta Art Gallery, Winspear Theatre and Citadel Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Edmonton Centre Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Delta
Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing