We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasurable experience, too scared to sleep.”

Continental Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Continental Inn & Suites
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a pleasurable experience, too scared to sleep.”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We choose to stay at this hotel because it was the location of a wedding reception we attended. Before making the reservation we read all the reviews here on trip-advisor and decided to check it out ourselves as the reviews seemed mixed. In our honest opinion this would be a place to avoid. The front desk and other staff were all friendly though not professional, we had to wait both at check in and out for staff to finish a conversation before being helped. As well as numerous interruptions such as checking a cell phone or delaying service to chat with a cook or cleaning lady who just walked in. The room was spacious though in obvious need of being updated, rips in the wallpaper were visible as well as water damage stains and a very damaged bathtub. The bed was clean and comfortable. What finally turned us off completely as with previous reviews was the noise. Every sound from the entire floor is as audible as if it were right outside your room door, including normal level conversation. Partying including loud swearing, screaming and yelling continued until 2am in the morning. At 4am an angry patron could be heard for 30 minutes in the hallway continuously screaming the F word and threatening whomever he was with. We were very uncomfortable and got very little sleep trying to us the t.v. to cover unpleasant noises. My husband also made sure the deadbolt on the door was locked and we considered calling the police several times in fear of the escalating violence of the activities. Unfortunately this sounds like it is a common problem in this hotel. We left very early the next morning and will not consider staying again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jakyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    5
    15
See reviews for
9
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manville
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Managment and staff made us feel most welcome, we were always greeted with a hello at the front desk or restaurant. Enjoyed the buffet that was reasonably priced, also meals from the menu were like homecooked meals. The rates seemed high when we first booked but as i phoned around rates were higher at other hotels in this city, I guess we have to get with the times. Plus it was a bonus being so close to west edmonton mall.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManvilleJean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Your hotel was in a great location , right by the west edmonton mall. We enjoyed our stay with your hotel mostly because the staff were very friendly and egar to please us. The food was great ,it was like having a home cooked meal, made by your own mother.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We chose this hotel b/c of the AAA rating -- two diamonds; comparably rated hotels have been perfectly acceptable. The CI is very cheap and substandard for a traveler wanting decent accommodations in a decent environment.

The CI had a bad vibe from the minute we pulled into the parking lot. A hotel staffer was following a drunk patron across the street, radioing back to somebody to call the police. Another drunk guy was standing outside Billy Bob's, which is part of the hotel.

The room had no opening windows and no way to adjust the A/C ( the temp was set at about 65 and it was NOT cool in the room. Beds were made with sheets hanging onto the floor. There are laminated cards with rules and warnings all over the place in the room and the hotel -- big $500 fine if you dye your hair in the room!!

There is a stern warning on the entrance door to take all valuables out of your car. We rode the elevator down with yet another drunk guy and his woman who was about to light her cigarette in the elevator when we stepped on.

Once outside, we noticed the building next door which is a rooming house or apartment that looks to be filled with squatters or crack heads, I'm not sure which. I did not feels safe there at all and told my husband I did not want to stay.

The desk clerk, Barry, was the only good thing about the place. He was not overjoyed that we were leaving, but did void out the charge with no complaint and no cancellation charge.

We went half a mile down the road to a much better area and booked a room for 2 nights for a total of $30 more at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2009

This is a horrible place to stay. Our first room was so unbearable hot, we called the front desk several times. After several hours, maintenance was send up and "supposable" turned down the heat. After another hour, the room was still unbearable. Calling the front desk again, I was told "we cannot keep turning down the heat in each room it will bursts the pipes". Two fans were eventually set up in the room.

After dinner in the dining room, we returned to the front desk and reported that the room was still far to hot. We were told someone would be sent up. Getting up to the room, we discovered that the toilet was stopped up. We called the front desk, who, did not even recall that we had stopped by regarding the heat, told us that they would sen maintenance up. It took nearly TWO hours for maintenance to arrive. Meanwhile, we were sweating simply laying on the bed. Our two young pups were so consumed by the heat, they were listless and did not move. Finally maintenance arrived and the toilet was unplugged. We asked AGAIN about the heat, we were told "I told the front desk not to put anyone in this room because the heating unit is broken and it cannot be turned down and will blow full blast no matter what."

So, when we called and spoke to the front desk several hours earlier, we were lied too. We were changed to a different room on a completely different floor at 11 PM. Additionally, we were placed in a non-smoking room when we clearly requested a smoking room. I will say that the non-smoking room was much, much nicer then the smoking room we were in.

The next morning we called the front desk and asked to be placed in a smoking room. By the same clerk as yesterday afternoon, Natalia, we were told "There are no smoking rooms available today or tonight and we cannot keep changing your room because we have to keep cleaning up the rooms that you are being moved from."

My significant other went down to the front desk and was reporting his complaint the the manager. The staff was quite RUDE!! Finally, my SO found some other staff to talk to. At first she was rude as well. He explained the situation, AGAIN, she offered to change our room again.... to a smoking room.... HMMM we were told there were no smoking room available for the day or night. Strange that one seemed to just pop up. We transferred rooms AGAIN.

We entered the new "smoking room" and it was not very clean and quite frankly substandard as compared to the "non-Smoking room"

All in all, it was a horrible place to be. The staff, including some of the dining room staff, were rude. The cleanliness of the rooms vary significantly, smokers seemed to definitely given rooms that are substandard. I would never recommend this place to anyone, even someone I did not like.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkellydobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

i have stayed in some poor conditions but this was one of the worst. We rolled off the road at about 2:00 am. We haven't had more then 4 hours sleep in 36 hours and this was going to be the only night for a good nights sleep.

We had rented 2 rooms and and asked for a cot bed for the other members. we never did get a response on those beds, so the remaining members slept on the floor. unacceptable.

No sooner did we fall asleep a baby started to wail and cry in the hotel next to us...thats usually no problem....but there were no parents. i called down to the lobby and they said there was nothing they could do. unacceptable.

The next morning i made a formal complaint to the front desk and they gave me the run around. First they told me the manager wasn't going to be in until 11am, so we waited.
Soon after they told us he was "not going to make it". We realized that the manager had been there all along and they were hoping we would leave.
This woman who we think was the manager was completely rude when we complained stating that we were "harassing her" and to "call 911". totally unacceptable.

harassing her? we were simply making a complaint. can you get arrested for that? anyway.....very idiotic, insanely rude, very unreasonable.

this hotel did not know how to be managed or maintained, it almost seemed prejudice, and for $130.00 you can stay at a nice quiet hotel with no bums and a swimming pool.

the only thing it has going for it is location.

be warned.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cup0ftea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My husband and I went to Edmonton on a Christmas shopping trip. The hotel was 2-3 minutes away from the West Ed. Mall which was the perfect location for us. Our hotel room was clean and the restaurant in the hotel had a buffet dinner at a reasonable price- $29.30 incl tx for 2. Also they gave us a coupon for $10 off the meal as well... which ended up amounting to $19.30. Good deal. Nice yet small buffet. This is basically the pros of the trip.

Restaurant staff lacked a little finesse. Little sarcastic. The location of the hotel was seedy- dimly lit and people hanging around the outside no matter what time we entered or exited the hotel. I had the same feeling of a previous customer who wrote a review. The feeling of dread...absolute dread when we pulled into the parking lot and I got out of the car. We should of left but we didn't. And of course we got asked for a cigarette outside the hotel..

We had a small room that held a king sized bed. Windows that didn't open and no air conditioning. There was a games room attached to the hotel which meant that guests were constantly walking back and forth the halls all night. I was awaken many times throughout the night to constant slamming doors. And the worst thing about it all was that there was no dead bolt or chain lock inside the door. There was no feeling of safety, security or even relaxation. I mean what kind of hotel doesn't have a dead bolt or air conditioning?

The front desk staff were friendly and conversational upon checkout. But talking is not what I wanted to do. What I wanted to do was just leave. I was peaved that I had paid $130.00 for `the night...I won't be returning.

  • Liked — location and buffet
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Place LaRue
Candlewood Suites West Edmonton - Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#43 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn & Suites

Property: Continental Inn & Suites
Address: 16625 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Continental Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Edmonton
Continental Inn & Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing