We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Continental Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Continental Inn & Suites
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed April 15, 2012

the guy at the front desk(barry) was ignorant towards us,saying he was a full house when we had reserved our room two weeks before,he was really upset to be proven wrong,we called down for room service and noboby answered the phone,thinking they where busy i went to the resturant only to find one other peron there eating,i asked him who works here,his answer was a very lazy woman (lolita).it took nearly an hour to get hot meal that was not very good at all.the rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff helpfull and friendly.the hotel itself seemed to be in need of work and was noisey,like paper thin walls,there will be no way i would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: the best room to choose would be one in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here because my Uncles friend owns this hotel. We were told we would get the 'family' deal. Upon arrival, the front desk was friendly and suggested that we take this room as the room with the king bed was 'too cold'. We arrived to this basic room that we paid the higher price for. The beds were hard and uncomfortable.

The interesting thing is my brother checked in after us and they were given the room with the King bed that was down the hall from us. Its interesting because the bad room was suggested to us as the 'only' better room located on a different floor was to cold and he managed to get the better room that didn't exist an hour before.

We called the front desk to have this conversation with them and they sent a security gaurd to our room to check out the condition. BECAUSE I had a shower, they said they would not upgrade us as the room was unrentable and that the rest of the hotel was booked solid. Ohhhhh and the security gaurd didnt knock upon entry and just let himself in.

NOW...remember, my uncles friend owns this hotel.

In the morning when we had breakfast with our $10 voucher, we ordered the only Western Combo Omlette on the menu that my brother had ordered ahead of us. His came with cheese as he arrived 15mins ahead of us. We pointed on the menu that we wanted 2-western omlettes. The waitress brought us 2-western omlettes with NO cheese. We were confused as my brothers came with cheese. She said we never requested the "combo". I worked in the service industry for years as a server and her responsed baffled me. Her only suggestion of fixing this problen was to add unmelted cheese to the top.

Remember.......My uncles friend owns this hotel and apparently they are GOOD friends.

Upon checkout, the frontdesk lady never asked us how our stay was. We asked her if the hotel was sold out and she told us that there was X amount of rooms available.

At this point, if your Uncles good friend owns the hotel and they still treat you like complete crap....how will they treat the clients that dont have any connections?

I was so disapointed with this stay and I wish there was a Motel 6 in the area because I would of stayed there ANY DAY!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank misfit311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Our stay there was very pleasent and enjoyable. The dining room food was great along with the service. The home style experience will bring us back for many years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We choose to stay at this hotel because it was the location of a wedding reception we attended. Before making the reservation we read all the reviews here on trip-advisor and decided to check it out ourselves as the reviews seemed mixed. In our honest opinion this would be a place to avoid. The front desk and other staff were all friendly though not professional, we had to wait both at check in and out for staff to finish a conversation before being helped. As well as numerous interruptions such as checking a cell phone or delaying service to chat with a cook or cleaning lady who just walked in. The room was spacious though in obvious need of being updated, rips in the wallpaper were visible as well as water damage stains and a very damaged bathtub. The bed was clean and comfortable. What finally turned us off completely as with previous reviews was the noise. Every sound from the entire floor is as audible as if it were right outside your room door, including normal level conversation. Partying including loud swearing, screaming and yelling continued until 2am in the morning. At 4am an angry patron could be heard for 30 minutes in the hallway continuously screaming the F word and threatening whomever he was with. We were very uncomfortable and got very little sleep trying to us the t.v. to cover unpleasant noises. My husband also made sure the deadbolt on the door was locked and we considered calling the police several times in fear of the escalating violence of the activities. Unfortunately this sounds like it is a common problem in this hotel. We left very early the next morning and will not consider staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jakyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Managment and staff made us feel most welcome, we were always greeted with a hello at the front desk or restaurant. Enjoyed the buffet that was reasonably priced, also meals from the menu were like homecooked meals. The rates seemed high when we first booked but as i phoned around rates were higher at other hotels in this city, I guess we have to get with the times. Plus it was a bonus being so close to west edmonton mall.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManvilleJean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Your hotel was in a great location , right by the west edmonton mall. We enjoyed our stay with your hotel mostly because the staff were very friendly and egar to please us. The food was great ,it was like having a home cooked meal, made by your own mother.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We chose this hotel b/c of the AAA rating -- two diamonds; comparably rated hotels have been perfectly acceptable. The CI is very cheap and substandard for a traveler wanting decent accommodations in a decent environment.

The CI had a bad vibe from the minute we pulled into the parking lot. A hotel staffer was following a drunk patron across the street, radioing back to somebody to call the police. Another drunk guy was standing outside Billy Bob's, which is part of the hotel.

The room had no opening windows and no way to adjust the A/C ( the temp was set at about 65 and it was NOT cool in the room. Beds were made with sheets hanging onto the floor. There are laminated cards with rules and warnings all over the place in the room and the hotel -- big $500 fine if you dye your hair in the room!!

There is a stern warning on the entrance door to take all valuables out of your car. We rode the elevator down with yet another drunk guy and his woman who was about to light her cigarette in the elevator when we stepped on.

Once outside, we noticed the building next door which is a rooming house or apartment that looks to be filled with squatters or crack heads, I'm not sure which. I did not feels safe there at all and told my husband I did not want to stay.

The desk clerk, Barry, was the only good thing about the place. He was not overjoyed that we were leaving, but did void out the charge with no complaint and no cancellation charge.

We went half a mile down the road to a much better area and booked a room for 2 nights for a total of $30 more at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayjey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#40 of 93 in Edmonton
218 reviews
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#47 of 93 in Edmonton
233 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
251 reviews
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn & Suites

Address: 16625 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5P 4A8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Continental Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Edmonton
Continental Inn & Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing