We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found the room to be quite small and plain compared to other Best Western Hotels. The new tub enclosure was very nice though.

However,it served the purpose which was to stay while visiting grandchildren. The location next to the airport is fine if you are flying but not so convenient when driving
All in all a very average stay..
The restaurant was basic however our server was very good. The food was average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are glad you liked the new tub enclosure and you may be happy to know that we are adding granite and upgrading all the bathrooms on the property along with many other upgrades. Our guests love our hotel for the close proximity to shopping and a whole bunch of other amenities and services including the 24 hour Tim Hortons and the Runway 29 lounge.

We thank you again and hope to see you on your next visit to Edmonton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    168
    73
    14
    11
See reviews for
166
72
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family suite while attending a family wedding at the Petroleum Club, a short walk from the hotel. The rooms were clean and the extra living room was useful for entertaining extended family. The mall was also handy for last minute shopping before the wedding. We received a modest rate reduction for both the family room and regular rooms. The restaurant/bar upstairs was open for family breakfasts until 10 am, after that there are no minors permitted. The kids liked the pool and the slide, and all in all, it was a good location for our purposes and the staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnabyElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Many people book the "Family Suite" when they have a larger family or when they are having their wedding reception at the Petroleum Club.

We are glad the children liked the pool and slide and that you got to enjoy the food and service at the Runway 29 lounge.

We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

When in the city for medical reasons, this BW has great, reduced rates, which we appreciate. Bring something with you, confirming appointment. Most rooms have been renovated. The room was on the smaller side, but included a fridge, coffee pot, free internet, nice linens and Tim Hortons right outside. The staff were all very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Jogar1

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. All reviews are helpful for us to know where to improve and for your fellow travelers making choices on where to stay.
We are located just down Kingsway Avenue, a few blocks to both the Royal Alexandra and Glenrose Hospitals. We do offer a medical rate to patients and visiting family members who are able to show an appointment card or an “I Care” letter from the hospital.
Tim Horton’s has just had a full remodel and looks fantastic and the Runway 29 lounge is creating delicious specials for breakfast, lunch and supper.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time your in Edmonton.

Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was the second time I visited here and it was worth it again. The location is just across from Kingsway Garden Mall where you can also catch a bus from to the Rexall Centre or train system. There is no free breakfast for the guests but there is a full service restaurant on site as well as a Tim's Horton's next door. The room was clean, with a desk, table and chairs, large bathroom, flat screen TV and fast wifi. Hallways are undulating in some areas so be careful but very clean.

Cleaning staff are friendly as well as Martin, the manager who definitely cares about the property. It is also in a quiet area of town.

For the traveler who didn't see it as a "plus" unfortunately the re-branding a few years back to help Best Westerns be more like Hilton or Holiday Inn in their descriptors decided to use terms that were vague. Labeling properties as a "Corporate or Leisure" or a Group 1,2 or 3 would have been better than Plus or Premier because those words can conjure up any description in the guests mind. For plus properties upgrading the amenities is what separates them from regular BW's and this property does that well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavygambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Heavygambler

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. Trip advisor is a great tool for travelers to share their experiences with other travelers and to help them in deciding where to stay when needing a clean and comfortable place to spend the night.
Your review was concise and informative and will definitely help your fellow travelers make a wise choice. We hope you have a great summer and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again.
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights due to a surgery close by. The great thing was that we received a discount because we provided proof of the surgery - that is a nice touch!
We have 2 complaints. The first is that when we went to check in, there was a dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door - that is digusting!!!! The second complaint is that when you use the side entrance door, all the smokers stand right BESIDE the door smoking because there is an ashtray right there (less than 1 foot from the door) - isn't there a bylaw that you have to be at least 5 metres from an entry way? That is terrible for someone who has a smoke allergy. When we were bringing our suitcases in, there were 4 people standing there smoking away, so our suitcases and everything then smelled of smoke - GROSS!!!!!
The pool area was great and not at all busy.
Don't know if we will be back :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovindisney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Lovindisney4

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. I sincerely apologize for the dirty towel in your room, an oversight that should not have happened. We will continue to be vigilant to ensure it does not happen again. In November of this year the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn will be going 100% smoke free. We will continue to discourage our guests from smoking at the entrances, and the only reason we have placed the ashtrays close to the entrances is to discourage cigarette butts from being discarded on the ground. We are very happy that you had a great time in the pool and that we were able to give you the medical discount due to your surgery. We hope to see you and your family very soon for another summer cool off in our pool and waterslide and maybe a sweet treat at the completely renovated Tim Horton’s attached to the lobby.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morinville, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located a few minutes to downtown and across the street from a major shopping center.

I stayed there due to a last minute travel disruption. Staff at this hotel has been amazing overall. The rooms are very clean and comfortable but in my opinion, this Best Western hotel didn't meet my expectations of the "PLUS" status. The hotel is getting a little old with the decor showing as much. It has a certain motel-feel to it and doors/walls could be a little more sound proofed. The shower head was very low and uncomfortable; at 5'11", I had to significantly slump down to use it (and knocked my head a few times...). Also, while other Best Western hotels usually offer complimentary breakfast, this hotel didn't offer anything. Conveniently, however, there is a Tim Horton attached to the hotel.

All in all, this hotel was good with friendly and professional staff, but the aging decor and furniture and the lack of breakfast dissapointed me a little.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianquebecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityCentreManager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn. Here at the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn we are upgrading our property on an ongoing basis. The new granite bathrooms, large flat screen TV’s, complete lounge renovation with new elevator, parking lot, to name a few upgrades over the last year or so. We will continue to improve and ensure our guests are receiving a top quality hotel room and amenities when staying at our property.
I am glad that we are in agreement over the staff “overall amazing, friendly and professional staff” is how I also like to describe them. The housekeepers are diligent, friendly and do their utmost to keep the property spotless. The rest of the employees are professional, friendly, fun loving and have the guests comfort as top priority.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel as I needed to be close to the Royal Alex Hospital. It was great as it is right across the street from Kingsway Mall, and only a few blocks from the hospital. After providing proof that our loved one was in the hospital we received a discount on our room. There is a Tim Hortons right in the building and a lounge. The food was good at the lounge and the service throughout the hotel was great. The rooms were simple, but clean, and reasonably priced. The beds were comfortable.There was also free internet. The only complaint would be the noise from the airplanes flying into City Center Airport, but it wasn't bothersome enough to lose sleep over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addictedtotravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear addictedtotravel22

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. Words like "Great, Clean and Comfortable" are how we like to be described. Your concern about the City Centre Airport is a concern I have heard but guests are often pleasantly surprised at the lack of outside noise in their guest room.

I hope your loved one is better and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Martin
Best Western Plus
City Centre Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre Inn

Property: Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
Address: 11310 109 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 2T7, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#24 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus City Centre Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in Edmonton, just 400 metres from rapid transit. Guests park here for free while other downtown hotels charge you for parking! By train, times are: 8 minutes to the brand new Rogers Place Arena, home of the Edmonton Oilers®. 10 minutes to the downtown core and Shaw Conference Centre. 17 minutes to University of Alberta and hospital. 20 minutes to Northlands / Edmonton Expo Centre. Our hotel houses a full restaurant and lounge with great views, and has 24-hour food service in the Tim Hortons coffee shop attached to the lobby. Directly across the street is one of Edmonton's busiest shopping centres, Kingsway Mall. Fans of CFL football can catch the free shuttle to the Edmonton Eskimos games at the mall. Patrons of the arts can visit the Art Gallery of Alberta, the Royal Alberta Museum, the Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR), and our city's art festivals just a quick train ride away. You will love our contemporary guest rooms, each complete with all of the comforts of home. For your convenience, we have custom designed furnishings and oversized writing desks in most rooms. Families and travelers enjoy our indoor salt water pool, relaxing hot tub, and thrilling 30-foot water slide. Business guests visiting the Best Western Plus City Centre Inn will also appreciate the hotel's close proximity to area businesses, including the Royal Canadian Mounted Police K-Division, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Glenrose Hospital and the Royal Alexandra Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre Hotel Edmonton
Best Western Edmonton
Edmonton Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing