We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nothing too special about this hotel. We were promised a brand new king size bed... what we got was a very soft, obviously not new bed. I had a sore back for days after sleeping one night in it. The room was not too bad besides the disappointing bed. They were renovating when my boyfriend and I stayed so it would be nice to see it post renovations. This would not be my first choice hotel though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dezzy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    293
    124
    57
    39
See reviews for
254
165
46
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Booked a room using a Groupon for a night in Edmonton for my girlfriend and I while in town attending a concert. The hotel is undergoing some major renovations so be prepared for a bit of a chaotic arrival with temporary entrances, constructions workers, dust and a crowded lobby.

After reading previous Trip Advisor reviews on this property I learned that a new wing had been built and to make sure that I requested a room in the new wing. I did this two times by emailing the hotel receiving no reply and obviously the message was not received as we were placed in the old part of the hotel. When we checked in we requested a room in the new wing and were told that they could put us in the new wing which was great! Once settled in the room the manager called and asked me to come to the front desk. When I went up I was told that I was going to be charged a $30 upgrade fee. I got into a bit of an argument with the manager as nothing was said about this on the groupon or when we checked in. In the end I was not charged however was upset at how this was handled.

As far as the room goes the room we had in the new wing was very nice. The bathroom and shower was fabulous and the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in. The location is quite industrial so you will need to take a taxi or your own vehicle if heading out as there is nothing near to walk to.

I should also mention that we ordered room service and the food was fantastic and extremely affordable.

For now I would avoid the hotel until all the construction is done unless you get yourself a rate that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsoM6, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

I am happy that in the end you were satisfied with your room, food and amenities and I apologize that someone did not get back to you in regards to your original booking. I am not sure how that happened as website booking emails all end up sent to three different people.

I do want to point out that our website does say that we are under renovations firstly. Secondly we ran a Groupon Special at $60/night just for that reason. We are almost done our renovations completely and wanted to bring in some new guests to see that our hotel is on it's way to becomming one of the nicest in this area. Groupon deals are often lower priced because it is a standard or basic service being offered. Our Groupon Deal "Clearly" states valid for STANDARD QUEEN OR KING ROOM. And regardless of what a guest would like, a standard room is all the coupon is good for. We do however and have offered a client an upgrade option for a fee, which in your case was $30/night. In the end you still received an Executive King, brand new room for $90, well below the regular nightly cost. We also allow people to upgrade to Jacuzzi suites, add on romance packages etc but that is something we ask at check in or time of reservation.

We try our best to accomodate all situations and all requests, and I would say that communication was where we were lacking in this instance. Our agents should have informed you at checkin of the optional upgrade fee and again I apologize for the misunderstanding.

Just for future reference, ALL GROUPON, DEALFIND, LIVING SOCIAL COUPONS are only valid for standard rooms. They do not include breakfast, they do not include taxes, they are not valid with any other offers, and have no cash value. All of this is clearly stated on the coupon and in the purchase description you receive prior to purchase. As a vendor I would advise clients to read the terms and descriptions of each of these internet specials prior to purchase.

Thank you
Mandy Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel has upgraded their rooms and the new building is like a luxury hotel. This is where I am gong to be staying from now on when coming to town. Awesome

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjcan8119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Obviously still under renovation. Was under renovation 12 months ago when I was here last time. Dust in the room was constantly visible and the bathroom smelled of mold. Room was nice. Comfortable bed. Very friendly and courteous staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregDaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Decent price for a renovated room. Had marble in bath room and flat screen tv. Bed was very clean and comfortable. Major downfall is that hotel under construction and they do not advise of this at check in. Room is renovated but lacks a fresh look. Still appeared somewhat cheap with wall paper peeling and chair in room very dirty, burned, and fabric worn off. Also none of the rooms at this hotel have windows that open and the AC unit worked for ten minutes then would blow regular air. Maintenance came up twice and unit worked for ten mins. Really warm in room. Room did include a free breakfast which was nice but not enough to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviewer123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Despite the initial appearance of the outside of this hotel (under extensive renovation) or it 's industrial area location, this is a great place to stay! Rooms were exceptionally clean, lots of room and the three-head shower was far and away the best of any hotel we have ever stayed! Especially enjoyed the complimentary room upgrade to King sized beds!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brdbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

While travelling for a business meeting, I stayed at the hotel for 1 night. Upon arrival late at 11pm, I was still greeted warmly by the front desk. They also informed me, since this was the first night I have ever booked here, the hotel had upgraded me to a Junior Executive suite with no extra charge. The room was in the newly renovated part. It was new, modern, fresh, and clean, and very spacious. I wish I had brought my spouse with me to share the room! The complimentary hot breakfast was enjoyable. There was a buffet style with the following selection: French toast, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, fruit salad, cut fruits, muffins, orange & apple juice. Service was quick for coffee too! Overall a very enjoyable experience and I will definitely stay there again next trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milleelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
818 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre

Property: Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
Address: 4520 76 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6B 0A5, Canada (Formerly Edmonton Hotel & Convention Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre welcomes you and your family to our lovely hotel. We offer 168 guest rooms with king and queen size accommodations. Our friendly staff will go the extra mile to help you on your next visit to Edmonton or Sherwood Park. Our hotel has easy access to all major arteries in Edmonton and Sherwood Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Carlson, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Hotel And Convention Centre
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn
Radisson Hotel And Convention Centre Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing