We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Edmonton West
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Kelowna
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We took our 2 granddaughters there and had a very comfortable clean room. Great pool and good hearty breakfast. It was only a very short drive to the West Edmonton mall so very convenient as that is where we spent our time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniekelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    90
    48
    27
    24
See reviews for
116
33
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here one night with my wife and it was just ok. The check in went great and I liked that they phoned to see if everything was as expected. The bathroom was really small and the ceiling had mildew on it. The room was clean and teh extra large pillows were a nice feature. You could here teh person next door cell phone going off all night. The breakfast in the morning was interesting as the muffins were cold and dry. To me felt like they had been frozen the night before. The selection was not the best but it is free so what can you expect. They only have one elevator and it is super slow so we took the stairs. I was not blown away from staying here but would stay here again if I needed a room for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mark E,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am happy to hear you had a smooth check in. However, I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced caused by the hotel amenities and poor cleanliness of the bathroom. We shall definitely look into the matter and see that all amenities and service are in order. Please do visit us again and give an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelton, bc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March 2014 for spring break. The family suite has a great layout with a separate kid area with bunk beds, tv and table set. Great for separate quarters. Cleanliness was not as good as it could have been, but would stay here again. Although the name says "at the mall", it is not and a drive is required which would be explained in the affordable price! Breakfast was also included which was nice, check the hours as it seems to be over early!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camping-is-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Last hotel on our trip and we do like HIE..usually consistent quality.
They lobby was certainly the right place but when we went into our king suite I burst out laughing..
The bathroom was totally mirrored with a huge jetted tub and NO shower....really! Had to double check to see if the bedroom was HIE....not sure where that bathroom came from...totally tacky!!!! And useless, I'm pushing 60 and getting in and out of that thing could break a hip!
So we went back to the desk got another room...the spa suite. Oh..the jetted tub and mirrors were in the corner of the bedroom this time. But it did have a shower. Actually a steam shower. Couldn't get the water hot so I called the desk and the maintenance guy came and explained that the hot water setting was not at the top of the dial (where you'd expect) but half way...never would have know that...
Bed was not comfortable and the linens thin and worn....not what I would have expected...
There was a micro wave and bar fridge in the room. They had the usual morning breakfast.
This hotel is in such a great location, close to lots of shopping and restaurant and the West Edmonton Mall...
The bones are HIE just need to get the rooms updated...or maybe it was just us...

Room Tip: They do have different suites or regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear kitten50,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. While we are very pleased that you liked our location, it is unfortunate that the bed and bathroom were not to your liking. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have encountered. Please be assured that we take all reviews very seriously as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we can improve on.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Edmonton.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here one night, and really enjoyed it. The entire property was clean and modern. Our room was spotless and spacious. The breakfast was surprisingly good, and there were two different types of omelets. Yum!

When we checked in, the receptionist asked us if we were aware that the pool and hot tub were being renovated. We weren't, but they said we could use the Super 8 across the parking lot. The front desk staff could use some work. They weren't very friendly, and were a bit awkward.

Very close to the West Edmonton Mall. We found this hotel to be conveniently located. I would not hesitate to stay again next time we are in Edmonton.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is our second time staying at this hotel and both times were GREAT. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms were very clean. Beds were some of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in. The complimentart breakfast is very fresh and tasty. The lady working at the breakfast was always busy filling stuff up and keeping it clean. We didn't use the pool this time as it was being renovated but that was stated on the website when I booked so I was not suprised. We did go to the pool last time we stayed and it was good. You get what you pay for at this hotel. KUDOS

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

the stay was great as usual, not an issue, nice and quiet even with kids and spring break. Service was great as usual, breakfast excellent and ladies at breakfast friendly as usual. No problems with anything and best location

Room Tip: 4th floor is quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
211 reviews
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#49 of 93 in Edmonton
214 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Edmonton West

Property: Ramada Edmonton West
Address: 10017 179a St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2L4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Edmonton West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton At The Mall
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton
Ramada Edmonton West Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing