We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle Spicing”
Review of Guru Restaurant

Guru Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 2,405 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Subtle Spicing”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The food at this restaurant is truly remarkable and is the basis of my "excellent" rating. We had the Lamb vindaloo which was very tender. The menu said the level of heat was high, but we didn't find it all that hot. In fact, the spicing was very subtle; and what's more, we could actually taste the lamb (something that is not always the case in Indian cuisine). The surprise of the evening was the Chicken saffron. It was wonderful. One could taste the saffron but it was not overpowering. The chicken, which could have been tough, was so tender that it almost melted in the mouth. I've never had anything like it. The vegetable samosas were good as was the nan and rice. The cost for two was reasonable for such excellent food. The decor is modern, not faux oriental. All in all a terrific place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    65
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Favourite Restaurant”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Superb service and food! The staff treated my two children to a hands on lesson in how to prepare and bake naan bread, to top it off they were given what they made to take home. The food was absolutely savored by the whole family! If in Edmonton, I highly recommend this amazing west end gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
504 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Every Dish Outstanding”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Try their butter chicken poppers and deep fried cauliflower starters . . . . awesome. Misha our server was super friendly and efficient. This is a higher end Indian Restaurant looking more like a steak house. Super clean throughout. All dishes served hot. I tried their Rajasthani Lamb Curry and pula rice - perfectly cooked. The Naan bread was superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food with a great person. Definately will be back again for a wounderful meal. Really enjoyed the atmosphere here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alpineman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian meal ever!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just left the Guru Restaurant as very full, extremely happy guests. The food, the service (including manager Jeet) and the overall experience made it one of the best meals we've ever had! And that means something as my husband is in the catering business himself and we've eaten curries in England, Germany and Canada. We thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is after a fantastic dining experience. I wish they would relocate to Truro, NS.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gaby2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru Restaurant also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Guru Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing