We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best butter chicken in Edmonton”
Review of Guru Restaurant

Guru Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Guru Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,555 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I love butter chicken and have eaten it all over the world, throughout India and at almost every Indian restaurant in Edmonton. This is the best. At one time, there was a rival, but the rival changed their recipe and now Guru stands alone at the top.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JimCelineSamZachZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEET N, General Manager at Guru Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so very much for your nice comments about Guru! We look forward to seeing you soon at Guru!
JEET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 308 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went with a large family group. We were seated in a nice separate room. Service was absolutely outstanding. Food was excellent and enjoyed by all, even those that had some doubts about Indian cuisine. Should be at the top of your list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEET N, General Manager at Guru Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Greetings from Guru!
Thank you for your kind comments! It is indeed a pleasure to see that you and your friends and family enjoy our restaurant and we hope to see you soon at Guru!
Jeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I go to Guru almost weekly. If I can't find any friends to go with, I'll just go by myself. Yes, the food is that good.

In my opinion, once you've experienced guru, there are no other restaurants in Edmonton worth going to. The staff (including manager and head chef) always treat me very well. The food is amazing, and once you try their butter sauce, you'll be hooked. Quality is the key word to describe this restaurant. From the food, the atmosphere, the service, it's all great. My favourite is the Paneer Butter Masala, Garlic Naan, Guru Chai, and Ras-malai. Oh yes, check out the samosas as well.

Open your mind to indian food at Guru. You won't regret it.

Sincerely,
#1 guru fan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEET N, General Manager at Guru Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Greetings from Guru!
Thanks a lot for your very positive comments. Each day we strive to do our best to ensure that we exceed your expectations and it is comments like yours that motivates us to do even better!
Look forward to seeing you back at Guru!
Jeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Good waiters , and the cook came out and talked to us , which was cool . The place was all good . The food was spicy, and so both my wife and I drank alot of water. If you like this type of food , it would be great cause there was lots to eat. Cool bread ! Price 60 with 2 drinks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dvkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant is large, but with a great atmosphere. The menu is varied and the food is extremely tasty and authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TreckingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEET N, General Manager at Guru Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Greetings from Guru!
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate feedback and it is our guest's comments that drive us forward and help us in doing what we do best! Look forward to seeing you at Guru!
Jeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guru Restaurant also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Guru Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing