We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel... A few issues though...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western South Edmonton Inn for two nights in August. We came from Fort McMurray to spend two days shopping/relaxing. There were a few good points and a few not so good points.

Hotel was nice and clean. My daughter had a blast in the pool and waterslide. Rooms were reasonably priced and clean. Fridge and microwave included in the room came in handy.

The issues...

We were out of our room at 8:30am on Saturday and hung the make up room sign on the door. We came back at 3:30pm and our room still wasn't cleaned. My wife contacted the front desk, and she was told that maybe the sign flipped over. C'mon now. That's a pretty silly thing to tell a guest.

Also, my mother came to visit us at the hotel. She went up to the front desk and asked which room we were staying in. Without ANY consent from ourselves, she was not only told which room we were staying in, but GIVEN A KEY to our room. Luckily it was only my mother, but can you imagine? I've worked at hotels before, and when my mother showed me her key she was given OPENS our door, I was shocked.

All in all, the hotel was alright, but I will never stay here again for fear of who may be given a key to my room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

I certainly agree with your feedback regarding the proper channels not followed through and would be happy to discuss this with you in more details.

I can be reached at the hotel or via e-mail at ----------- and would be happy to contact you at your convenience.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 920 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

Loved it here. Staff very pleasant, great breakfast, rooms and bed were comfortable and clean. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hello003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beeing used to Days Inn, Holiday Inn and the likes, coming to this hotel was a positive surprise. Everything new, nice colors, and not the "carpet smell" you typically find in a lot of hotels.

We had 4 rooms for a total of 10 persons. We stayed for 5 nights.

The hotel is located close to the highway, so expect some noise if you sleep with your window open. It didn't bother us.

The hotel has a fitness room with bikes, etc, and a nice swimming pool with waterslide. The kids loved it.

Breakfast was nice, the only negative thing is they use only non reusable plates, glasses, knives and forks. Not very good for the environment!

Given two choices of hotels recommended for a wedding in Edmonton, we chose this hotel because of the highest rating at TripAdvisor. It lived up the rating and our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We enjoyed the service both at check in, check out and when having breakfast. All employees were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were very nicely furbished (the hotel is nearly brand new). We had a spacious room with two queen beds and a fold out couch.

We spent much time in the pool and the hot tub. It was clean and easily accessable. The whole family loved the water slide. Even though it was not very big it was fast and thrilling; not just the kids loved it.

The warm breakfast exceeded our expectations (clearly the best of the 3-3.5 star hotels we visited on our trip). The juice was tasty and there were fresh fruits. The jam were "real" jam and not just some jelly. There were multiple toasters (eliminating risk of having to stand in line). Two standard waffle irons were provided.

Internet connectivity was provided free of charge (both ethernet and wifi available).

Not far from the hotel (app. 1 mile, i.e. app. 2 km) there is an outlet center with numerous famous brands, e.g. Nike, Tommy Hilfiger, Adidas and GAP.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swede_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Great service, always clean, fantastic free breakfast, kids love the pool and waterslide, free parking and close to south end shopping and airport. We always stay here! And always recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay. We certainly do appreciate your loyalty to the hotel on multiple visits.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My family and I recently stayed here for just one night. We were visiting Edmonton specfically to visit West Edmonton Mall for the waterpark and all the other attractions there. Overall I can say that we had a good nights stay. We were able to check-in early, our room was clean and comfortable, the kids enjoyed the pool and slide and the breakfast was surprisingly good offering both continental and hot breakfasts. Had we done more research we would have found that there was a 20 minute drive to the Mall (reception gave us a map though) - I was surprised as I had thought that the hotel ad the Mall were fairly close to one another BUT we were able to secure a great rate on our room by booking in advance online and that made up for the drive too and fro. Having had a BLAST at the Mall we hope to visit Edmonton again, we would certainly consider staying at this hotel again, dependant upon the rates being offered at the time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for the business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I had a quick stay here after arriving late at YEG. The hotel is about a 15-minute drive from the airport, and is conveniently located for accessing most of Edmonton.

The hotel is modern and clean, and features a small water park for the kids. The room was very comfortable, with a separate sitting area, large bathroom, and very cozy beds. The breakfast buffet was ample and a great start to the day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers to Edmonton for a short or even a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm61078, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to post s review on trip advisor. I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the staff and management at the hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you

Farid Janmohamed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#24 of 93 in Edmonton
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Address: 1204 101 St SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, stylish and contemporary, this Edmonton, Alberta hotel is located close to the city center's most exciting dining and shopping district and features easy access to the Edmonton International Airport and the University of Alberta. The BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites is in the Top 20% for Quality Assurance Scores for Best Western hotels.This hotel in Edmonton is located just off of Highway 2 and offers spacious, well-appointed guest rooms that feature upgraded amenities - like comfortable pillow top mattresses, an in-room microwave, personal refrigerator, flat screen televisions with cable satellite and free high-speed Internet access. Start each morning at this BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites with a complimentary full breakfast before heading out to enjoy a swim in our indoor saltwater pool - complete with water slide and hot tub - or break a sweat in our fitness center. This hotel in Edmonton is also 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Edmonton Inn And Suites
Best Western South Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing