We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for nature lovers”

Muttart Conservatory
Ranked #6 of 183 things to do in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five glass pyramids housing plants of different ecosystems: arid, temperate and tropical.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for nature lovers”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I visited the conservatory with my family and really enjoyed it! We joined the guided tour for the four different ecosystems/pyramids and learnt a lot of new things! The pyramids are great and have plenty of species to showcase! If you like nature, Muttart conservatory is a must-see in Edmonton!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bela-Minas-Gerais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    195
    64
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Save your money ”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This place is not worth. $12. It took me a total of 30 minutes to visit all four pyramids.
I was expecting more flowers.
What is nice is taking a picture of the pyramids at night.

Helpful?
Thank Loves_Snorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
245 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice but not a must see”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The four pyramids allow one to enter different climatic zones and experience different types of vegetation. One pyramid is used for temporary exhibits (when I was there, tulips and hyacinth were on display). The space within the pyramids is not that big and you can easily be finished within 45 minutes (and have seen things twice).

It is a bit pricey, but if you live in the area you can buy an annual pass, which pays for itself after three or four visits (and the Conservatory serves as an excellent escape from cold weather).

The cafe has excellent food and a great place to enjoy lunch or a coffee before or after a visit.

If you really love plants and flowers or need to escape a dreary winter, go. Otherwise, it can be nice if you have a free time in the afternoon or morning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon area
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Green in the midst of snow”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

If your a plant freak this is a place for you. We truly loved the temperate pyramid, the smells reminded us of home. Some issues was the plants where not always listed and left you wondering which plant was which. I would love to come back to see the orchids. I would recommend this little trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely place especially in spring .... well cared for and laid out.
Show pavillion is changed by the season. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muttart Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Muttart Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing