We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Very spacious rooms. Clean and comfortable. I liked the fact that we didn't have to leave the hotel to go shop and have fun. Everything was right there. We had the luxury executive suite and it was very large with a hot tub in the room. Nicely decorated. I will be coming back again for sure. Loved everything about it. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Liked — Big beautiful rooms located in a mall.
  • Disliked — The roll away bed cost $12.00 and all it was, was a single mattress. Not very comfortable. The hotel doesn
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalynn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    369
    214
    154
    124
See reviews for
509
294
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We booked the roman theme room and got a back to school special price (33% off) and recieved 2 passes to the waterpark or the galaxyland park worth $60. Included is a free breakfast or 7.95 off a 12.50 buffet (highly recommended) . The room was very nicely decorated and the jacuzzi was absolutely huge! Plenty of hot water and the jets were powerful. I found the room to be anything but tacky, (perhaps other themes might be but what do u expect when u order a truck bed). The room was very clean aswell. The bed was very comfy and the carpet was quite soft and looked new. The hotel was quiet at night and in the morning, fast and always available elevators, access to the mall 24/7, room service was great. Would recommend this for anyone (maybe a bit pricey for the regualr price) and we will be returning for sure next summer. Very impressed and after reading these reviews i was worried but i was more than satisfied with our stay! It was a very romantic weekend.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — the kids in the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — dont bother with a luxury theme, the theme is good enough
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank forzanerazzurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Having read some of the reviews I was a bit concerned about this hotel - but wer were committed so had to go with it. We were a large party with young children and older relatives in tow and needed 4 rooms so pleasing all of us was not going to be easy. We had passed on the theme rooms on the grounds this was unnecessary as we didn't intend to spend our time in the hotel!

The rooms were big and comfortable although the bathrooms were a bit small -there was a good range of toiletries and the bed was really comfy. I had a fabulous view which I really enjoyed and the proximity to the mall meant it was easy to get about and find alternative dining options - the main restaurant looked pricey and rather stuffy! The only concern I had about my room was that it was at the end of a corridor and that there was then a corridor from the door into the room - this meant that I didn't hear when anyone came to the door - as I was quite a long way from the rest of my party and we needed to keep in reasonable touch this was a bit of a disadvantage - perhaps a doorbell on such rooms would be a good idea?

The lift area was a bit tired and I have to say the decor on some of the other floors didn't look very bright and welcoming either - but this was a hitch they probably didn't think about when theming the floors - as I was on a 'roman' floor the decor was bright relaxing and clean looking.

Reception was really helpful, cheerful and welcoming - they looked like people who enjoyed their jobs and they acted like they were pleased to see you (in contrast to Toronto).

The only thing I would say, is if you don't like shopping its a bit hard work unless you have a car. The waterpark was great but rather expensive if you couldn't stay all day.

  • Liked — huge, comfy room
  • Disliked — Couldn't hear people at the door - but could hear people in the next room!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bother with the themed rooms - the standard rooms are great and there is so much else to do
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rendlesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights. First night was a reservation for an Igloo room. Arrived for early check in around 3pm and room was ready. Kids had no idea we were getting a theme room, actually they had no idea theme rooms exist! They walked in and they were so excited.....the room was great for kids! On the other hand Adults could see this room needed a major deep cleaning and updating.

The next morning we checked with the front desk to stay another night but in just a regular room. We got a regular room, they call it superior....it was available right away....and it was so much nicer than the theme room. This time the adults were happy, everything felt clean and furnishings were nice.

Would stay here again in the future, probably book for 2 nights the next time.

Location, Location, Location

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank murcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

I am not pleased when we arrive at the fantasyland hotel the check in is way way too late at 4 pm its too hard to wait till 4 if you have 3 handfull children,the room is yucky smelly and the bed sheet is very itchy.The only good thing is inside the mall .Plus very expensive,you can get the better deal outside

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not friendly
  • Tips/Secrets — make it sure the bed is rinse properly so itchy and you paying 300 a night is not wothed to stay at all
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank whitehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in july in an executive style room which had one double bed and a set of bunk beds and a huge jacuzzi in the room.
Really thought the quality of this hotel was 3 star not 4 - our room had a shabby feel about it - the carpet was not clean and frayed around the edges. I thought that the whole place needed a revamp.
It was very convenient for the mall and my teenage kids had a ball at the Waterworld (which we got free pass with the room).
All i can say is either ask for a beter room or pay for an upgrade but to be honest i wouldnt stay there again!

  • Liked — Nothing at all!
  • Disliked — It was really shabby
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

My family just returned from a five night stay at the Fantasyland Hotel. We had a superior room overlooking the Santa Maria in the mall. Our room was very clean, housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat in the Hotel, choosing to eat in the mall every meal. The staff do share the elevators, but we did not find them slow as I had read in earlier reviews.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
West Edmonton Mall Inn
#63 of 93 in Edmonton
222 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Property: Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Address: 17700 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing