We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only reason to stay is convenience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only reason to stay is convenience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Truth be told, the only reason to stay is it is attached to mall. The rooms are okay, beds are okay, the 10th floor is being renovated which makes the 9th floor and 11 th floor very loud, it seems they are removing tile so jackhammering goes on from 9-8 pm. We had an adjoining room to strangers who left the adjoining room door open and let their 2 year old be as noisy as they wanted at 530 am til they checked out at 830am. The worst neighbours ever. The rooms are loud no matter who is your neighbour - I could hear our new neighbour through the walls as well.

No sit down breakfast nearby - can get a coffee and few things at starbucks.

If you have a car, I'd stay elsewhere. We didn't have a car there so we stayed for the convenience of not needing one. Definitely not worth the price - the whole place needs a deep cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the elevator - sure don't want to be walking any further than you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    337
    198
    147
    120
See reviews for
465
277
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

My room was awesome, looks like they have renovated a bit. You can't beat the convenience of the mall that's for sure.

Check in was fast. Valet parking was awesome and they had my car ready and warm.

Absolutely will be back

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mully19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a luxury truck theme room that easily slept 3 adults and 2 kids. The kids loved the room design and the 4-person jacuzzi. Having the hotel as part of West Edmonton Mall - restaurants, shops, galaxyland, and the waterpark were just an elevator away. It's so nice when you can have easy access to your room whenever you need a break from all the mall shops/attractions.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about free tickets to the water and amusement parks. They should be giving you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortmac_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Very clean rooms and service was great. Hotel is a little dated but the room is still top notch. You can hear people in the hallway quite clearly, but you can't change anything about loud people. It is quiet once they go in their rooms. Beds are super comfortable. Well worth the price and being connected to the mall makes for an unforgettable experience because there is so much to do there. Great for a weekend or mid week get away. The restaurant at the hotel has an excellent brunch.

Room Tip: request a higher room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Not worth your money. This place is outdated and what they advertise is not what you get. Rooms are very expensive and end up being no bigger or better than other hotels. Our shower had cold water all morning and hotel staff used "we have so many people staying with us" like it was a valid excuse to have no hot water. Sorry been to bigger hotels and never had to worry about being able to have a hot a shower in the morning. The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast like that would make up for cold showers and then decided that an extended stay til 1pm would be better. Unfortunately when we came back to our room at 12:30 they had locked us out and we had to return to the lobby from the 12th floor to have it activated. Terrible service and terrible rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The rooms had lights missing and decoration. The showers are tiny. Very unclean rooms. It's way too expensive for a room that is outdated. I can get a lot comfier rooms with more to offer for half the price.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else. There a lot of hotels located close to the mall for far less. The rooms here co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebonie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Edmonton. Our room attendants takes pride in their work so it's very disappointing to hear that you found your room unclean; we will address this with our staff directly. I trust the rest of your stay was enjoyable. The Fantasyland Hotel is continuously working on improving our product to make sure we can provide you with an updated and comfortable room. As a matter of fact our design team had completed the new look for our Polynesian Theme Room and we are very excited to see the completion of this project. I hope that you'll be able to experience the new Polynesian Theme Room on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were attending a conference in Edmonton and stayed here. Our daughter loved the bunk beds, the theme park and the water park. She lights up whenever she talks about it. We loved the convenience of the West Edmonton Mall. Forget something? No problem. The mall has everything.

The hotel is dated, but when travelling with family that is truly overshadowed by all the other add ons.

Service was a good. Restaurant was good. Overall a great place for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLVDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Fantasyland Hotel. We are glad that you were able to enjoy one of our Truck Theme Room during your recent visit. Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we will address your concern with our maintenance team for an immediate action. Our Christmas Gift Certificate is a great sale to take advantage of; only during this limited time promotion we offer the best rate for our theme room. I hope you'll be able to experience our newly design Polynesian Theme Room on your next Christmas Gift Certificate purchase if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
West Edmonton Mall Inn
#70 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Property: Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Address: 17700 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing