We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Handy Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Handy Location”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've been to Edmonton several times with the kids and have never stayed here before due to the prices listed on the website. On advise from a friend to call for prices instead we found that they also had rooms that were very reasonable in comparison to other hotels. It was soooo nice to be able to park the car and not drive for the days we were there. Another helpful piece of advice was to purchase the 5 day play pass from the mall. Not only did this get my family of 4 into everything the whole time we were there, it also got us 25% off our hotel room. This nearly payed for the play pass! The room was average and clean, although we weren't there very much.

Room Tip: Phone rather than book online and if staying at least three nights, get the play pass from the mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    345
    209
    148
    120
See reviews for
484
280
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

9 of us spent the Easter weekend at the hotel. We had 3 rooms. The truck room, Roman room and a suite. The theme rooms were quite small. They definitely all need an update. The one thing we all agreed on was the air in the hotel was awful! Every morning when we woke up we were all sniffling and had headaches from the dirty air. I checked the vent and it was more disgusting then the inside of a vacuum cleaner. Not fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLMM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at a Roman Themed room for a couple of days. The decoration was quite interesting compared with the usual hotel rooms.The room overall, looked a bit tired and dated, but it was clean.
Hotel staff were very helpful. Food was also good;good selection and prices are fairly reasonable. Very nice location inside the mall!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilianna-Angelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your most recent visit. We are working hard to improve the interior of our theme rooms. We have renovations on schedule and our Roman Theme Room will certainly take part in this; we will be sure to keep it interesting. It's great to hear we did a great job with the cleanliness of your room and your taste buds satisfied. I will share your compliments with the entire team and they will be happy to know of their excellent work. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a beautiful modern hotel with nice rooms (I did not stay in a fantasy suite). It reminds me of a Sheraton. The service was very good and I really can't complain about anything... except the price. Yikes! If you have your heart set on staying in the mall then you will love it, but other than that there are many other hotels in the area of a similar caliber - minus the hefty price tag.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service; our entire team is cheering to know they did a great job. We do run various promotions regularly to meet everyone's budget and desire. An upcoming one to watch for is our Spring Fling promotion; you can reach me directly at guest@fantasylandhotel.com for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed in an executive luxury room at the Fantasyland Hotel in the West Edmonton Mall. The best part of the trip was the availability for shopping in the mall and dropping packages off at the room. The room itself was clean, but in need of a renovation. Having stayed at the hotel over the past few years while attending a conference, I find that it has not seen any upkeep to the rooms at all. The floor themes are reminiscent of a tacky Vegas hotel while the interior of the rooms have never been updated. It is time to spend some money and bring this hotel back to being the star that it was! If you want a more updated hotel, there are many more to choose from in Edmonton that are within easy driving distance to the mall. For the cost of staying at the Fantasyland Hotel, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit with us. Having a hotel room right inside the West Edmonton Mall is really such a great convenience while you shop and enjoy the attractions in the mall. It's wonderful to know that our room attendant did a great job with the cleanliness of your room; I will share this compliment with our housekeeping team. We make every effort to maintain if not improve our guest rooms. Our Hollywood Theme Rooms have been completely renovated; I encourage you to see them if you have not had the chance. We are continuing with this update; as a matter of fact our design theme is now working on our Polynesian Theme Room. I hope you will find some time to visit us again so we can show you our finish product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We did a last minute trip to West Edmonton Mall for Spring Break and decided to spend a little extra and have some fun. The service was good, staff was very friendly and helpful. The room that we stayed in was not one of their theme rooms but we had a king and bunkbeds for the kids which they loved. Room was adequate hot tub took for ever to fill. The room was clean. The location was really the only thing that comes close to justifing the $300 per night price tag. Was super convenient to be able to zip back to the room between meals, attractions and shopping. Definately check for any package deals we got a $50 prepaid card (which they had run out of so they applied it to the room) and a credit to their buffet for less than what their listed room price was.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lundvike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for spending your Spring Break with us; we are delighted that your family had a great time. It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, we will certainly pass your compliments to the team. Our housekeeping team takes pride in making sure we are meeting your expectation; they will be happy to know you are satisfied. Having your hotel room right in the mall certainly saves time that you can spend enjoying what West Edmonton Mall has to offer. I would agree that the convenience of not having to drive back and forth, and battling with Edmonton traffic does add value to your stay. We run different packages year-round that will suit everyone's budget and desires - Spring Fling Promo is definiltey one to look out for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I feel we got jipped out of our igloo bed, which online showed a circular igloo domed bed but instead it was a regular queen bed, nothing igloo-like. I don't recommend this theme room and feel I was overcharged for it. Bathrooms are small. The standard queen room (night 2 of our stay) was way nicer than the igloo room. Great location because of the mall but not very family-friendly with everything so overpriced but good overall.

Brandi the front desk staff needs some help in customer service, too. Too slow, no eye-contact, not very welcoming, hardly ever smiled...I even tried to avoid having to talk to her.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatsitthatsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit at the Fantasyland Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you found staying with us convenient while you enjoyed the West Edmonton Mall. I would like to thank you as well for letting me know about your experience with one of the front desk agent; this will be taken care of promptly. We have two different kinds of Igloo Theme Rooms; our regular Igloo Theme Room comes with a queen size regular bed with ice block walls. Our Igloo Luxury Theme Room comes with the round king size bed in an Igloo and is 40% larger than our regular theme room; it's unfortunate this was not available when you made your reservation. We are happy to hear you are satisfied with our Superior Room and we do hope you'll be able to experience our Igloo Luxury Theme Room on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
West Edmonton Mall Inn
#68 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Property: Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Address: 17700 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing