We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Place is a JOKE...avoid at all costs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This Place is a JOKE...avoid at all costs!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

On Oct 20, 2012 we had made reservation for an executive suite for my mother's birthday (Oct 20th was her actual bday!!!) After a great day of celebrating we were going to suprise her with a room at fantasyland hotel. My father had even drove in from out of town, over an hour away to join her. When we checked in at 8pm the EXECUTIVE ROOM we had reserved was not available. The front desk staff had offered us an "upgrade" which in our opinion was a complete joke (the sports room...not a very romantic room for my parents, or a woman's birthday...looked more like a "kids" room) or the polynisian room which had two queen beds (we reserved a king room so not at all what we wanted) Plus my sister had stayed in a polynisian room before and said they were less than desirable rooms..dirty and dated.

We declined these rooms as they were not what we had booked or wanted (the king bed, jacuzzi upgraded suite is what we wanted), and were very disappointed that our birthdy surprise was ruined by the hotel. We asked for the manager but apparently she is not in on weekend??? We cancelled our reservation which was free of charge as this was the only "consolation for the inconvenience" the staff could give us...no fee for cancelling a room that wasn't even availabe that we didn't book, come on, really???

If there is an issue with a room that you had booked, would it not dawn upon the staff to contact their customers to let them know of the situation...not everyone likes "sports room" upgrades, so it's not very wise for them to just assume someone would be OK with this room dump.

The front desk staff was less than helpful, she didn't seem like she was able to help resolve the issue, or understand our disappointment and was actually very rude to us. Instead she gave us the room managers business card to contact on Monday. My sister had tried to contact Marilyn on Monday and I have tried the past 3 days to contact the hotel with no response, only a voicemail. We have both left messages...this is really poor customer service. Not to mention I have left emails as well....no response.

We feel that fantasyland hotel should rectify this situation for the HUGE inconvenience. Not only did my father drive in from out of town, but that my mothers Birthday Celebration Surprise was ruined by this poor customer service and room issue.

The lack of response from management is upsetting. Most reputible business would make an effort to contact a customer with concerns. Not Fantasyland hotel. Both my parents and my sister's family have stayed here before at least once/year and doubt they will refer any of their friends now because of our experience, or even stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunnydsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We're glad to be able to connect with you the other day and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide service to your again. Please contact me directly to arrange your reservation at guest@fantasylandhotel.com. We are looking forward to your next visit and perhaps that romantic getaway for your parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    341
    205
    148
    120
See reviews for
479
278
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel used to be nice, really gone down hill lately. Need a reno in a bad way. Too expensive for the quality of room that you get. Much better value elsewhere. However, the room service was very reasonable and food was great. Tips: Don't let them put you in a room with an adjoining door to another room. Sound carries through it badly.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room with an adjoining door to the next room. Noise travels through badly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were two mothers with teenage daughters there only for the mall. The convenience that the hotel was in the mall was great. We were there from October 11th to the 14th. There are four elevators which two were not in working order most of our visit. The Friday and Saturday evening many were lined up to use the elevators and did take approx 10 minutes to get an elevator. We did try and use the computer room which there is a charge added to your room, to print off our boarding passes, computers and printers were not working.
The hotel was clean but just found that it was a little highly priced for no extra's. When we did go to check out, the computers were down again and they could not give me a reciept. They did email me a reciept the next day after I had called.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're coming to vacation at the mall...waterpark, Galaxyland etc...great location. The rooms are dated. We stayed in the railroad room that had a bunk bed as well as a king, and a HUGE jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. Great novelty for sure and the kids loved it. Didn't like that internet was extra to the room, so we never used it (that's always a bummer). Elevator wait times were slow - particularly in the AM when we were trying to leave, but that could be accredited to volume. I found it very Vegas-style with their full-service amenity (gratuities extra) approach. Unless you made a point of hauling all the stuff up yourself the bell hop was coming for his tip. Most of the staff we dealt with was friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on a walk up available floor if there's a conference while you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBelleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, decent LCD with good channel options. I had to use all my strength to use TV controller since the buttons we're not very responsive. Lobby area is dated much like the mall I guess. In summary, if need to spend some serious time at the mall, good option. Otherwise, consider looking for other location closer to the city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed in the hotel several times over the years and have always found it to be a great experience.
We recently stayed in a regular twin bedded upgraded ( renovated room) and found it to be excellent. The room was larger than the average hotel room and very clean and modern.
These rooms are an excellent value, being only slightly more than the surrounding hotels and way more convient.
The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom large and clean and modern. the room had a new large flat screen tv and fridge.
I would recommend this hotel .
It looks like the lower floors have been renovated and the floor seemed like a brand new hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prariedave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for being one of our loyal guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the amenities in your Superior Room - comfortable beds, large bathroom, flat screen tv, fridge and being located right inside the mall is certainly a plus. I would like to inform you of our Christmas Theme Room Gift Certificate promotion available now starting at $169.00 plus taxes. Purchase them for your friends and family or keep one for your next family trip to Edmonton. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed on september 21 and 22 2012. On the last night when we packed up to leave we found a huge bed bug on the kids shoe. We checked the bug with the internet to confirm the bug. We took the bug to the front desk and complained. We packed our cloths and suitcases in garbage bags , twice. We had to get new cloths and shower in a diferent room to be sure not to take these home with us. When we confronted the hotel they were only going to credit us for one nite stay . No refund for all the cloths to buy and they would get inspectors in to check over the room to see if there were any more.. Was expecting a bit more of a refund and maby a bit more concern from the staff but i think this happens more than they lead up to. VERRY DISAPOINTED!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Conrad1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Fantasyland Hotel during your recent visit to Edmonton. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the delay while we wait for Ecolab's report; the pest control company that we contacted to inspect our hotel in a situation like this, as I mentioned on the email I sent you directly. I took the liberty of sending you a copy of the report from Ecolab showing "no infestation" found in the room you and your family were in; I hope this help put you and your wife's mind at ease. We take the safety of our guest as well as our staff seriously so we take every precaution to ensure bedbugs infestation is not present in our hotel as Fantasyland Hotel is also our 'home away from home'. If I could be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
West Edmonton Mall Inn
#70 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Property: Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Address: 17700 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing