We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
red deer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel midweek and found the rooms very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent with fresh baked goods and the wine and cheese was nice. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and the valet parking was always quick.(even on short notice). It's in a great location on whyte and is good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear westcoastkayaker,

Thank you for your great review! It's wonderful that you found your experience to be pleasant and our amenities to add value to your stay! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    338
    64
    19
    9
See reviews for
208
299
102
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Varscona Hotel while visiting family in Edmonton. It was ideally located only a few blocks from our family and in a neighborhood full of restaurants and boutique stores. We really appreciated the free parking and internet! The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The ventilation system was one of the quietest that we have encountered. We appreciated the Keurig coffee machine although it wasn't the easiest to operate. Tea made in a Keurig always tastes like coffee so I had to go to the Second Cup for my tea. We liked having the extra blanket available as the comforter was too hot. The room was ready for us earlier than expected. Check-in was efficient and staff were friendly. Breakfast was okay although the room was dark. We had a room away from Whyte Avenue and it was very quiet at a time when it was very noisy on the street due to the World Soccer Games. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Whyte Avenue as it can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0bNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear B0bNM,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you found your stay to be comfortable and made use of some of our many amenities! Thank you for your notes on our breakfast room and the Keurig. We will take them into consideration as we look to making improvements in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for easter weekend, front desk staff were incredibly helpful, suggested places to go eat, gave us VIP passes to several bars, took care of parking for us, explained the parking in detail and were just in general the most friendly and helpful people I've ever run into in the city. Rooms were clean and comfortable, the price is reasonable, the location cannot be beat, and room service was quick. Loved it. Would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Anya K,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are so thrilled that you found your stay to be comfortable and our staff to be helpful and friendly. We appreciate you closing our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Varscona three different times while visiting my son at university, and every time I am amazed at how accommodating they are with small things like early check-ins and late check-outs. The staff treats everyone like a member of their own family. They have everything you need here, from valet parking and wi-fi to an amazingly comprehensive continental breakfast. The location is very accessible to all parts of the city. I love this hotel, and will always make sure to stay there whenever I go to Edmonton. Thank you staff for being so awesome!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Lindsey3000,

Thank you for your very kind review! We are so thrilled that you feel that level of sincerity, comfort and friendship from our staff. That's exactly what we are striving for! We are very lucky to have such quality people working with us and could not be more thrilled that you feel the same way.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

On a recent trip to Edmonton I stayed at the Varscona primarily because it was close to my work so I skipped the usual downtown hotels Ive visited before.

While a bit cheaper than some of the major chains the price gap didnt make up for the cons. The rooms are small and dated. The mattress had seen better days. The TV had troubles with color and resolution. While there was a free breakfast my appetite was put off by the dirty cutlery I found every day, three days in a row. The breakfast room is small, cramped and windowless. Dont bother with room service.

On the Pro side, the staff were helpful and friendly. The place was very quiet, aiding a good nights sleep. The hotel is located in a neat neighborhood with lots of neat shops and great restaurants.

While it advertises itself as a Boutique hotel, I dont think its an appropriate desciptor

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatlandermanitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Varscona definitely gives you value for your money. Rooms were clean, well equipped and the staff was friendly. The parking garage next door is an added bonus, since we did not have to squeeze into a narrow parking with our truck and we never had to struggle to find a spot. The hotel is slightly less luxurious than some of the other hotels we've stayed at, but we had no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear happyann3,

Thank you for your review! We were so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Couldn't have been happier. The staff are that great combination of friendly and focused. My bed was to die for. Premium linens, perfect pillows for side and back sleep, lovely, light warm comforter. The air was fresh, place was super clean, good supply of toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. How can you go wrong? I also enjoy the eclectic Whyte Ave.

Room Tip: Was on the quiet side facing away from Whyte, didn't hear a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Junkaholic,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,360 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Property: Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton
Varscona Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing