We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Done.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Easy check-in, accommodating, comfortable room and clean facility. The hallway to the parking garage could use a larger sign for direction to the parking facility off the second floor....I took the wrong door and ended up outside having to walk back around to get inside...despite this small inconvenience (of not looking at the sign on the wall)...the location is great and the hotel is quite nice.... "I'll be back".

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Rob L,

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you were confused about the parking sign. In future, our lovely bellmen would be happy to bring your car around for you or escort you to your vehicle.

We are thrilled our hotel lived up to your high standards and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Varscona Hotel on Whyte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

My stay here was really great. It was nice to have valet parking, as there was such a snow storm that night. The staff were very helpful with me, and the rooms were modern had a cozy effect. The beds were very comfortable as well. It was nice to be close to many stores and restaurants. I will defiantly stay there my next time in edmonton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Vannessa F,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for such a positive review!

We are proud of our hotel and glad that you were able to enjoy it as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel has potential, but attention to detail is required. It is on a trendy street close to the University of Alberta, so there are a lot of small shops and restaurants close by. The free valet parking is good.

The lobby is very welcoming. The rooms are just average, which is fine, but I was quite disgusted when I laid on the bed and had a view of the ceiling. The ceiling was black with dirt from the vent. It looked like they need to desperately clean the filter and then clean the ceiling! I wonder what the air quality was in the room when the ceiling was such a mess. I have never seen this in any of the numerous hotels that we have stayed at in the past.

They have a nice wine tasting between 5:30 and 6:30 pm in the hospitality suite. Cheese and crackers are also served. They have a nice continental breakfast with make your own waffles, oatmeal, cereals, toasts, pasteries, fruit mixture, yogurt, coffee, juice, ect.

It was also kind of odd that there was no pop machine in the building and you had to get ice from the workout room. Also, never ever encountered this in all the hotels we have stayed at. It seems like they are trying hard, but they seem to be overlooking the small items that should be standard in even a Super 8 Motel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgary149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Calgary149,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed our amenities such as the complimentary valet service, the evening wine tasting, and the complimentary continental breakfast.
We are so proud of these features and love our guest feedback on them.

We apologize that you found the details lacking attention. We are very excited to have a refresh of the rooms planned in the near future, which will address those issues.

Thank you again for the feedback, we always welcome any input from our guests to help us make your stay more comfortable. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Varscona on November 23. We found the hotel to be charming - the staff was exceptionally helpful at check in, our room was great, and there were lots of added amenities that we had't expected. There was a wine tasting from 5:30 to 6:30, parking included, and breakfast in the morning.

We had asked the front desk to call a cab for us for 6:30 - we had told the person at the desk we were going for wine tasting. When the cab arrived, she came upstairs and called us - amazing!! I wish I had her name. She deserves the praise!!

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in the Whyte Avenue area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed at this and the other hotels in this group many many times and have always enjoyed our stay. About 8 months ago the valet accidentally dented the side of the car and the management was very reluctant to pay for the repair. After 6 months and many calls and faxes as well as a threat to report to the police the bill was approved for payment. After the repair shop did the work it took over 6 weeks for payment. Dissapointing

Room Tip: Comfortable hotel in a good location
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 10000elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear 10000elle,

We are so sorry that you did not have the best experience with us. Our customer service is what drives many guests to our hotel and makes them feel comfortable and at home with us. We take these issues very seriously and are sorry that you feel you did not receive the best service.

Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My daughter goes to the U of A and when I visit Edmonton I stay at the Varscona. Rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable. There is a Keurig machine in the room but there is a Second Cup in the lobby, I love it. Great fun shops and restaurants close by. This is my go to hotel when visiting Edmonton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tequilawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Really nice hotel! Very bright and inviting lobby. There is a free parking garage just around the corner. Big room and really clean! The continental breakfast had lots of selection to meet everyone's needs! Would recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica1970_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.2 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,440 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,656 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.8 mi away
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
#3 of 93 in Edmonton
457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $153 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton
Varscona Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing