We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$142
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Matrix Hotel(Edmonton)
$119
$112
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$93
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Edmonton South(Edmonton)(Great Value!)
$80
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveler rating
805
397
71
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
397
71
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond cupwhyte avenuegreat locationwine tastingvalet parkingold strathconairish pubfringe festivalnight lifevalet servicecomplimentary breakfastwithin walking distancegreat place to stayexcellent hotelwould stay againclean roomsnice stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Varscona on Whyte for a night out and a little shopping. Like many people we booked this hotel because of its great location, as well we found it for $100 on expedia sort of last minute. The parking is handy and the value is there but don't expect this hotel to be as swanky as its sister hotels - we had stayed at the Matrix prior and it was a lot more updated.
My only negatives for this hotel are minor - its slightly outdated and the rooms show some wear and tear (like small stains on carpet/wallpaper lifting etc.)
We were looking forward to the wine tasting that we were given our complimentary drink tickets to and when I asked the front desk what time it went until he told me 10pm - we went at 7:45 and it was over.
As well we missed the complimentary breakfast as we had slept in until 10 so that was unfortunate but completely our own fault. It was nice to grab a cup of coffee @ 2nd Cup in the lobby however.

I would stay here again for a night out on the town but for a more romantic night away of special occasion I would stay at the Matrix again or try the Mettera.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjsmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a night at the Varscona on a quick trip into Edmonton, and enjoyed it very much. Our stay included complimentary drinks for the two of us as well as a continental buffet breakfast, both at Murrietta's Bar & Grill which is in the same building. Normally I prefer to book directly with a property, but rates shown on all of the online booking engines I checked were cheaper than as advertised on the hotel website.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, however the clerk should have explained how to access both Murrietta's and the parkade from the lobby. She didn't mention anything, and after parking our vehicle, we did not know how to access the hotel from the parkade (which is a public parkade in an adjacent, separate building), and wound up walking around the corner to the main door of the hotel. Similarly, until we checked out, we were not aware that you could access the restaurant from the hotel lobby.

There is also coffee shop which opens to the lobby, and the wonderful aroma wafting through the lobby almost tempted us into having a late-in-the-day java.

The room was fairly standard in quality and a bit smaller than some newer hotels. We had a room with a kingsize bed. Perhaps the armchair and the desk could be switched around, since you can't view the TV from the armchair, only from the bed (the armchair backs onto the same wall as the TV). The room had a fridge tucked away, and was also stocked with a "mini bar" basket with various snack items and a half-size bottle of each red and white wine (at $15 each!! ... buy your own, there are plenty of liquor and wine stores in the area.)

The bathroom finishes were not brand new, but were in good condition, and cleanliness overall was better than many hotels. There is lots of counter space, but oddly, there were no towel racks; clean towels were folded on a shelf underneath the counter. There were two hooks on the back of the door though.

The hotel is ideally located for enjoying the Whyte Avenue area, with its unique shops, and tons of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krp329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great old hotel amid funky shopping and entertainment district. Walked everywhere. Rooms were nice, quiet, secure. Restaurant good. Service very good. Reasonably priced. Would stay again. Could have used some extra towels. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Parking handy.

Room Tip: Great place to stay to take in the Fringe Festival or some leisurely shopping and entertainment.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stay here every Easter when we take the kids to West Edmonton Mall. The hotel is not close to the mall but is in a funky little area which makes for good eating and walking around. This past stay the A/C wasn't working very well, but it is the third time we have stayed there and the only time we had that problem, so I'm hoping it was just a bad room. They have a nice little breakfast with an excellent coffee maker for espresso drinks. Parking area seemed shady but we've never had a problem. Probably should be about $10 cheaper a night, but still a good value. Good location for walking to the Farmer's Market on the weekend. Overall, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaperKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Varscona is always our first choice when staying in our favorite part of Edmonton. Our recent stay, however, was less than stellar. After recieving a complimentary upgrade, which was a nice surprise, the faulty plumbing in our room forced a move to a much smaller room with zero view. The tables were dusty and the comforter was upside down. The manager left a free bottle of wine for our inconvenience (thank you!) but the biggest disappointment was a managerial decision to eliminate the evening wine tasting and the excellent complimentary breakfast buffet, replacing each with a voucher for an adjacent restaurant. The location is always appealing, but I don't believe we will book at Varscona our next visit to Edmonton.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews