We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ND Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ND Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great old hotel amid funky shopping and entertainment district. Walked everywhere. Rooms were nice, quiet, secure. Restaurant good. Service very good. Reasonably priced. Would stay again. Could have used some extra towels. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Parking handy.

Room Tip: Great place to stay to take in the Fringe Festival or some leisurely shopping and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    319
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
183
276
91
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stay here every Easter when we take the kids to West Edmonton Mall. The hotel is not close to the mall but is in a funky little area which makes for good eating and walking around. This past stay the A/C wasn't working very well, but it is the third time we have stayed there and the only time we had that problem, so I'm hoping it was just a bad room. They have a nice little breakfast with an excellent coffee maker for espresso drinks. Parking area seemed shady but we've never had a problem. Probably should be about $10 cheaper a night, but still a good value. Good location for walking to the Farmer's Market on the weekend. Overall, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaperKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. McMurray
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Varscona is always our first choice when staying in our favorite part of Edmonton. Our recent stay, however, was less than stellar. After recieving a complimentary upgrade, which was a nice surprise, the faulty plumbing in our room forced a move to a much smaller room with zero view. The tables were dusty and the comforter was upside down. The manager left a free bottle of wine for our inconvenience (thank you!) but the biggest disappointment was a managerial decision to eliminate the evening wine tasting and the excellent complimentary breakfast buffet, replacing each with a voucher for an adjacent restaurant. The location is always appealing, but I don't believe we will book at Varscona our next visit to Edmonton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just got back from Edmonton where I travelled to be at my son's side after he hit on the street by a drunk driver--he was admitted to the University of Alberta hospital.
I booked on Expedia as I had to leave the East Coast in a hurry and paid ahead for a one-night stay and if I was happy with the hotel, I planned to book it for the duration of my stay in Edmonton once I got there.
I paid $129.25--upon arrival I figured it was a pretty good deal as the hotel was lovely, very clean, room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. The hospitality suite offers a complimentary breakfast each morning which was also very nice.
The next morning when I went downstairs, I told the front desk clerk I would indeed be staying for the duration of my trip.
The hotel is very conveniently located--about a $7 cab ride to the hospital. Second Cup coffee is attached to the hotel which is very convenient as well. A little noisy on a Friday night with the night life but not too bad.
The only big negative was when I went to check out and pay--I was charged $176.14 for the second night I was there--this was $160 plus a Destination Marketing Fee, a Tourism Levy, on top of HST.
For the third night I was charged a total of $143.12.
So my room went from $129.25 the first night, to a $176.14 the second night and $143.12 the final night.
I questioned the guy at the front desk and he said I got it cheaper the first night because I got the Expedia rate. The next night was $160 plus fees because really they consider it the 'First' night because I booked on Expedia, the final night I was charged $130 plus fees because they charge less for the second night.
I remarked to him then that had I known I would be charged such a higher price, I would have booked again through Expedia on my iPhone right at the front desk.
Then, out of curiousity, I went on their homepage and, YET AGAIN, the rates were different. $150 per night--get the third night FREE
I was not happy with they way they charge their guests and I think there should be a set price and that would be it.
My advice for this hotel is obvious, a great place to stay but very sketchy on the pricing.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking, prices vary greatly depending on what your source of booking is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here twice in July ... on our way to and from Fort McMurray for a family visit. We really like the location of this hotel ... it is right on Whyte Ave which provides ready access to some interesting shops. We can also walk to one of our favorite restaurants and down by the U of A campus quite easily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jovela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Varscona is perfectly located in the Old Strathcona neighborhood of Edmonton. Lots of good restaurants and interesting shops and walks, yet convenient to downtown. The staff is friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is older, it is charming and well-maintained. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
494 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

love this hotel. the staff are friendly attentive. the place has a welcoming feel. it is excellent value to be on whyte, but it has complimentry parking, free wi fi and continental breakfast included. only downside is the room could have used a good scrubbing on some of the tile edges and the vents. small thing but great hotel none the less

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Property: Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varscona Hotel is an elegant, old world boutique hotel providing guests with comfort in contemporary European-style surroundings. Casual sophistication and warm hospitality make Varscona one of Edmonton's top hotel destinations for discerning leisure and business travelers alike.Welcome to Varscona Hotel located in South Edmonton on trendy Whyte Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton
Varscona Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing