We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent service”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Was in Edmonton to attend a specific event, and the Varscona was the perfect location for me. It's a small, boutique style hotel right on Whyte Avenue in Edmonton. Unique shopping, exciting night life (O'Byrne's Pub is attached) and restaurants are right outside your door. Some great perks to be found when staying here include free valet parking, a great little wine & cheese in the early evening as well as a complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately we couldn't partake of the breakfast, but from what I have heard, pretty decent, especially considering it's complimentary. The cost was very reasonable, and I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are there for some fun and look forward to being on Whyte Avenue, any room would be fine. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    337
    64
    19
    9
See reviews for
208
299
102
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Varscona is in a great location if you want to pub crawl in the evening. Did not get a chance to shop in the area as it was a holiday and stores were closed. The rooms at Varscona are an average size and clean. Appreciated the early check in. There were only three downsides to the Varscona. There is no pool at this hotel, parking is off property and a little sketchy (warning signs in parkade). T.V. in room is outdated, I would expect by now most hotels would replace their T.V.'s with wide screen flat panel type.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nighthawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed in the Varscona for five nights in September. It's a lovely, comfortable hotel. We had asked for a room away from the busy-ness of Whyte Ave and got a lovely quiet room. The best thing was the great lighting - for reading, make-up and in general. The best I've seen in any hotel. Complimentary breakfast was really good, top class. Second Cup coffee shop attached to the lobby was always busy. So many good places the eat on Whyte and just off it. Yiannis' Greek restaurant, The Keg, O'Neill's Irish Bar ... also Mexican next door to Yiannis but I forget the name. They were all really good. Friday night can be a bit daunting on Whyte with young people "flaunting it" and queuing to get into nightclubs but it's the same in any city. I highly recommend the Varscona and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaddyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was a terrific hotel - I've since recommended it to other family members travelling to Edmonton. I got in early - 7am! And I was able to check in straight away which was such a relief! Staff were really friendly and helpful and the location was superb. Great rooms, great breakfast and great gym. No complaints at all from me. Both the Varscona and the city of Edmonton impressed me greatly. I'll be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Varscona on Whyte Ave in the heart of Edmonton really is a great hotel. Its clean, the staff are friendly right down to the maintenance staff, the location is wonderful. I enjoyed the fact that they have guest parking and its free; you just drive up to the door, remove you luggage, and check in. Easy peasy. When you require your vehicle again, its ready and waiting, you're not! The rooms are spacious, the bed is very comfortable, the sheets have a nice soft feel. I was able to try out the gym which has everything you need and its clean! Would we stay here again, absolutely! Staying on Whyte Ave really makes for a different Edmonton experience. Shopping just a few feet from the lobby. Who doesn't like that?

Room Tip: Our room looked out on to the street at the front of the hotel; somewhat noisy but enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShylockHemlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Visiting our student son, once again blown away by the Varscona. Who owns this hotel? Whoever it is pays such attention to detail. The free afternoon wine tasting and breakfast, the cleanliness, the location, even the exquisite shower curtains. Kudos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Settle in here for the weekend and it is a sure thing. The wine and cheese tasting and free breakfasts are a great plus! Just a block away from the affiliated Meterra and a bit better value. Parking is a bit of an adventure but at least there is a covered lot option. Right in the midst of things on Whyte Ave ... give it a shot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#3 of 93 in Edmonton
1,359 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#14 of 93 in Edmonton
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Property: Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton
Varscona Hotel On Whyte Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing