We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a few nights at this hotel recently. It's location is great for access to downtown. Check-in was quick and the staff was quite helpful. There is underground parking available. We were on the 17th floor and did notice a bit of dust but that is probably due to the extensive renovations being done on the floors above. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The lobby bar was quite nice and the food good. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 19th floor or higher as these floors have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is round so the rooms are shaped like a slice of pie, which is pretty cool. The room was comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. The room shape made the bathroom area a little weird because it could not be rectangular, but it didn't affect the efficiency of the room. The service was excellent, and the lobby area is beautiful. The only problem is the location - right down town, which can be confusing to locate, and currently there is construction going on which makes it even worse (not the hotel's fault). If you need to be in the downtown area, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location of the hotel, and the breakfast was included. Well priced. They have parking under the hotel, was convient. Rooms are a bit small. Hotel is unique due to it being a cylinder. Would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltop8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this Edmonton hotel. Based on the low price, I didn't expect it to be so lovely. What a beautiful, luxurious, clean and quiet hotel at a very reasonable price! I was told by staff that they would become part of a hotel reward program. I'm looking forward to this as I'd like to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonaFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My executive suite on the 21st floor was very reasonably priced. My view of the river valley was, quite frankly, amazing. The room was spacious and very clean and very quiet. I had a most restful sleep.
Staff was efficient and friendly. Breakfast was good.
The only negative is the arrival parking area. It is small and perhaps could use better signage to help arrivals but it was a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: High up and overlooking the river valley is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in August '13 before a trip to Banff. Very nice hotel, clean, comfortable, and in the city. We got free parking, free breakfast for two, quality room overlooking the ravine for just around $130 a night, which i think was a bargain. We were able to walk around the city and the parkland right behind it. The breakfast buffet was excellent! Great selection and totally carried us to a late lunch. The CariWest festival was on that weekend and we strolled and got a taste of multicultural Edmonton. Very nice to see the city all without driving everywhere. Great stay.

Room Tip: If you want the downtown view you can pay a bit more but honestly I preferred the greenbelt view for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The good: Congenial staff at the desk, in the bar and in the breakfast room. Nice place, but showing its age. Nicely appointed rooms. Comfortable bed (maybe a little too soft).

The bad: Bathroom could use updating. Cracked sink and an old-school toilet that really didn't want to flush. Only one easily-accessible electrical outlet in the room. I understand about energy conservation - BUT I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE ENOUGH ILLUMINATION TO BE ABLE TO SEE AT NIGHT! Those 2-candlepower CFLs in the desk and bedside lamps just didn't cut it.

The ugly: Very clunky (slow and unstable) Wifi. Very noisy. Noise anywhere in the hallway reverberated through the entire floor. Noise outside welcomed it self inside. Even on the 18th floor, a utility truck at street level with a noisy PTO was enough to wake me out of a sound sleep at 4 in the morning.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing away from the Coast Edmonton House tower. Reflection off that buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#29 of 93 in Edmonton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Lacombe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Address: 10111 Bellamy Hill NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $90 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Lacombe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the iconic landmark Chateau Lacombe Hotel. Locally owned and independently operated, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel offers 307 guest rooms including 69 Concierge guest rooms allocated on the upper floors requiring key access, each fully renovated Concierge guest room offers Telus Optic LED TV and 15mb dedicated internet access for each room. Enjoy access to our private Concierge Lounge overlooking the majestic Edmonton river valley. Lounge Privilege's include: Daily continental breakfast & Daily evening beverages with Canapes. The Hotel is home to the city's award winning rooftop revolving restaurant La Ronde on the 24th floor and rotates over 88 minutes capturing the cityscape and river valley views. A great location for celebrating memorable moments and milestone events. With its 307 Guest Rooms and 14,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel is the preferred location for business and leisure travellers wishing to be close to downtown with the Arts & Culture, nightlife and soon to be revealed in 2016 - the Downtown Arts and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Lacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing