We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoping they do a good job in the upcoming renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Ranked #46 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently for one night in May for business. Got a river valley view room on the 17th floor. Pretty nice view for sure. But also noticed the window could not be shut tight completely (in fact the lock was quite worn out). Thus at night was hearing quite a bit of traffic noise (you know, the tuned up vehicles speeding uphill). In the early morning, there were quite a bit of traffic noise too and thus didn't have a good night sleep at all (Sorry, I am a light sleeper).

Room temperature works alright for me. Most of the other things in hotel works perfectly (lighted mirror, hair dryer, toilet and shower head).

Because of the age of the hotel, the parking lots looks old and scary. Elevator from parking lot to hotel also is pretty old too.

The revolving restaurant is still pretty good. Cocktails and deserts are great. But again, everything was pretty old as I remembered going up to the restaurant back when I was in high school. It pretty much looked the same as back then, which was probably a good 15 years ago....

Currently the hotel is under new ownership and there are signs that it will do some new renovations. Hopefully it will do better as it is in a good location but just old.....

Room Tip: Try the rooms facing Edmonton downtown instead of the river valley, you might be able to sleep bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 515 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband, one year old baby girl and I stayed there for the on May long weekend. At first we wanted the Executive Suite on the 22nd floor for the view but when we got up there the room hadn't been renovated as of yet and it was pretty outdated. The size of the room was great and the balcony view was amazing but we went down to the front desk to see if they had any rooms that were renovated with a king size bed. The manager (Jacob) was so nice and eager to help us out! Best customer service I have had in a long time! He found us a room on the 4th floor (a junior suite) that was beautifully renovated with a king size bed and a nice view of the river valley. Our room was very clean and had paper view movies which was important to us. We went for a late dinner (9pm) at the revolving restaurant with our daughter and the food was delicious! The views were beautiful that time of night and the seating was great for our daughter as well. It was a bit pricey but expected for fine dining.. Only issue we had at the restaurant was our server. He wasn't very friendly, didn't ask us how our meals were... We purchased a $100 bottle of wine and he only poured our first glass! He was filling up everyone's glass that purchased a bottle so wasn't sure why he wasn't coming to our table? Our daughter was so well behaved so that wasn't the issue.. All in all the trip was nice and I would recommend the hotel to families exc

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor if you want a renovated room... Or ask about other floors with renovated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have not had a good night sleep at this hotel. I have stayed here at least a dozen times (unfortunately the only hotel that the company I work for currently uses in Edmonton). The rooms are warm in the winter AND warm in the summer. Mattresses and pillows are long past their useful life and need to be replaced. The room thermostat has NO effect on the room temperature (central air conditioning, rooms do not have individual heat/air conditioning units). If you stay on a warm day in March/April, good luck sleeping (especially on the west facing rooms). Only heat is available until late spring, so the room will be very warm from the unseasonably warm outside temperature plus the evening sun warming up the west facing room. I have personally experienced this and my room would not cool down below 29c/85f! Changing to a room on the east side of the hotel did not help, my room was still too hot. Free wifi keeps dropping off. Everytime my iphone goes into sleep mode (after one minute of disuse) the wifi disconnects and you have to sign in every time. Get in the elevator and the wifi signal drops - you have to sign in again.

Room Tip: East facing may be more tolerable. Don't count on a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have reviewed this hotel a few times. I thought I would give it one more chance and got a decent rate through my company plan.

On arrival they had a sign that they were purchased out of receivership. This seemed like good news as perhaps some long needed upgrades would be done. It wasn't until I asked for an upgrade that I was told they are no longer honouring Priority Club status as they are not part of the program. They seemed to have no problem honouring my reservation and taking my money.

Other than a friendly staff and reasonably close location to downtown the PC Points were one of the few redeeming qualities. All of the signage, stationary, keys, everything still says Crowne Plaza yet they cannot inform me that they are no longer part of the program. I realize I should direct part of my frustration to IHG, and I will, but the hotel needs to step up.

The purchase was May 1st yet even a couple of the reviews below this show reference to an IHG relations manager.

Room Tip: Look on the Edmonton south side and commute downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be so much better. It's in a good location right in downtown Edmonton, with a stellar view (if you are facing the river and not downtown). I was here only two days/one night for a work conference but I saw enough to know that I would not choose to return, but nor would I be upset if work booked me here again.

The front desk service at check in was barely tolerable. About 25 of us arrived together to check in and although I get that it's stressful to have a bunch of people checking in all of a sudden at one time, it's still your job to attempt some friendliness. The lady checking me in only said "Next" when it was my turn to check in.....no hello, no smile, barely any eye contact. She looked annoyed in fact. I attempted to joke with her about it getting so crazy all of a sudden but she barely acknowledged me. Very awkward.

Anyways, got up to my room and it was what I'd call adequate. The view however, on the 18th floor and overlooking the river was FANTASTIC. Loved it. There was decent closet space and it looked like new wallpaper. I think they've been attempting to update. All the lights in the room were lamps that had to be turned on at the source.....a little annoying but I'm being nitpicky. Bathroom had a hair dryer and a (lighted!) vanity mirror. It was just a big white bathroom, nothing special here. The shower was horrid.....one of the worse shower heads I've encountered in awhile. I normally enjoy a nice long shower but was eager to get out of this one. There was a small coffee pot in the room. My bed was comfortable which is absolutely the most important part of the room for me.

Our banquet servers during the conference were great, in and out, friendly and efficient. I had a nice server in the breakfast room too (they serve you coffee/tea/juice etc). Breakfast assortment was pretty good....waffles, bacon, eggs, sausage, eggs, yogurt, cereal.....the standards. I ate well.

I was expecting more out of Crowne Plaza, not sure why. I was, as another reviewer said, underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Lacombe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Nina J,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the breakfast served during your visit and our location was convenient for you. However, I'd like to apologize that you were inconvenienced upon check in. Please be assured that I have noted your comments and this will be relayed to our staff to that they can further improve on their efforts.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze che guardano verso il fiume
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescoDiCrescenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andre g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 91 in Edmonton
355 reviews
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,099 reviews
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#67 of 91 in Edmonton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Lacombe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lacombe Hotel

Address: 10111 Bellamy Hill NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1N7, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: $90 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Lacombe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the iconic landmark Chateau Lacombe Hotel. Locally owned and independently operated, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel offers 307 guest rooms including 69 Concierge guest rooms allocated on the upper floors requiring key access, each fully renovated Concierge guest room offers Telus Optic LED TV and 15mb dedicated internet access for each room. Enjoy access to our private Concierge Lounge overlooking the majestic Edmonton river valley. Lounge Privilege's include: Daily continental breakfast & Daily evening beverages with Canapes. The Hotel is home to the city's award winning rooftop revolving restaurant La Ronde on the 24th floor and rotates over 88 minutes capturing the cityscape and river valley views. A great location for celebrating memorable moments and milestone events. With its 307 Guest Rooms and 14,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, the Chateau Lacombe Hotel is the preferred location for business and leisure travellers wishing to be close to downtown with the Arts & Culture, nightlife and soon to be revealed in 2016 - the Downtown Arts and Entertainment District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Lacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Edmonton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Lacombe Hotel Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing