We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matrix Hotel(Edmonton)
$119
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Bank Inn(Edmonton)
$144
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,181)
Filter reviews
1,181 results
Traveler rating
683
326
107
46
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
683
326
107
46
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconfederation loungegold flooroverlooking the riverbeautiful hotelnorth saskatchewan riversteam roomvalet parkingan upgradeself parkdowntown edmontonbed was very comfortableharvestsmudgesbrunchweddingbellmanstaycation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,181 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A beautiful hotel with amazing views if your room happens to be on the river's side. I expect the other side to have magnificent city views. I loved the historical touches throughout the building - very Canadian and reminiscent of the Banff Springs.
The hotel is immaculately kept, the room was comfortable and clean. All staff we met were genuinely friendly and helpful.
We were there on business and enjoyed the buffet dinner and plated lunch very much - the food was fabulous. The only complaint is that the kitchen or staging area that was right beside the conference room was quite noisy during presentations. (Glasses and plate clinking together, people talking and laughing.)
I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity. I've been to a few Fairmont properties and they are generally extremely well managed and maintained and a pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Liesl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for posting the comments of your stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the magnificent views that our property offers. In addition, it was very pleasing to hear that you felt our property was immaculately kept and that our team was very genuine and friendly. I will ensure your comments are shared with them.

We do hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a beautiful and historic hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly. The rooms are spacious but there is a need for an update. The furniture is worn down. The shampoo, lotion, (Rose 31) is great for a woman, very perfumed, but not for a man. My room was not ready until 3:30, and the is still dust on the furniture. All in all not what I would expect from a Fairmont.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank knealagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post the comments of your recent stay. All feedback is important for us to grow our individual hotel and brand.

It was very pleasing to hear that you felt our hotel is beautiful and historic and that our team is courteous and friendly. It was disheartening to hear you felt our product is in need of an update. We will ensure that we inspect and repair any deficiencies that we encounter in the room you stayed in. With regards to our Le Labo products I will ensure your comments are shared with our brand.

Please contact me personally as I would like to gather further details on your stay so I can address the issues.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent service,very nice room,excellent food-we particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet.We had only positive impressions of the Hotel and no negatives.
What a delight it is to stay at the Macdonald.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments of your more recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you felt our overall product was Excellent and that you only had positive impressions. We are very pleased that you felt it was a delight to stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel has a spectacular view of the Edmonton river valley and the sun patio in the warm weather is the place to be. The hotel is in a good location for any activity in the city centre. The service in the hotel is consistently very good, the health club fantastic and the restaurants excellent. The lounge is a great place to linger over a drink with a newspaper, enjoy the view from a highbacked chair in the window. A great place to meet friends for a quiet drink and a chat. As in all these old Fairmonts, the building is full of interesting angles and the rooms are all different. Ask for a room with a river valley view. The breakfast buffet or the brunch on Sundays is a popular event for locals and visitors alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a river valley view room. Try for an upgrade to a suite.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndigoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff is exceptionally nice... Every single one of them is professional and kind. It is a historic building so you should expect some inconveniences. The shower pressure and bathroom overall is poor. Furniture is old and frayed and the front door has a gap that runs all around it that let's light from the brightly lit hallway stream in as well as noise.

Beds are comfortable and everything is clean.

2 speed tiers for internet at 13 $ and 23$. Save your money and go for the 13 $ service. The 23$ fast connection is no faster than the 13$

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aftimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to relay the feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you felt all of our colleagues were exceptionally nice and professional. That being said it was very disappointing to hear of the poor shower pressure in the bathroom and the state of some of the furniture in your guest rooms. I will have our Executive housekeeper locate these items and have them repaired as this is not the level of quality and attention to detail that we are known for and represent.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews