We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent service,very nice room,excellent food-we particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet.We had only positive impressions of the Hotel and no negatives.
What a delight it is to stay at the Macdonald.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the comments of your more recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you felt our overall product was Excellent and that you only had positive impressions. We are very pleased that you felt it was a delight to stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    256
    80
    37
    17
See reviews for
175
311
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel has a spectacular view of the Edmonton river valley and the sun patio in the warm weather is the place to be. The hotel is in a good location for any activity in the city centre. The service in the hotel is consistently very good, the health club fantastic and the restaurants excellent. The lounge is a great place to linger over a drink with a newspaper, enjoy the view from a highbacked chair in the window. A great place to meet friends for a quiet drink and a chat. As in all these old Fairmonts, the building is full of interesting angles and the rooms are all different. Ask for a room with a river valley view. The breakfast buffet or the brunch on Sundays is a popular event for locals and visitors alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a river valley view room. Try for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff is exceptionally nice... Every single one of them is professional and kind. It is a historic building so you should expect some inconveniences. The shower pressure and bathroom overall is poor. Furniture is old and frayed and the front door has a gap that runs all around it that let's light from the brightly lit hallway stream in as well as noise.

Beds are comfortable and everything is clean.

2 speed tiers for internet at 13 $ and 23$. Save your money and go for the 13 $ service. The 23$ fast connection is no faster than the 13$

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aftimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to relay the feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you felt all of our colleagues were exceptionally nice and professional. That being said it was very disappointing to hear of the poor shower pressure in the bathroom and the state of some of the furniture in your guest rooms. I will have our Executive housekeeper locate these items and have them repaired as this is not the level of quality and attention to detail that we are known for and represent.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our night at the MacDonald - I only wish we could have stayed longer! Try the signature Confederation Cocktail in the Lounge - a great drink in a lovely club-style room.
Excellent service from the front door staff - Fairmont staff are consistently outstanding everywhere we travel!
(We hope to see Smudge the hotel dog on our next visit - he was on holidays this time round.)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Res4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent stay. We appreciate all feedback to ensure we growth and develop our offering.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your feedback is shared with my team. In addition, I will ensure that Confederation Lounge and Arrival team receive special recognition. It was disappointing you were not able to meet Smudge and we hope to ensure this happens on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife spent 2 nights at this hotel. Food & service were good, overall appearance was nice. Room was very outdated and overall based on what you pay per night is definitely not worth it compared to other hotels we've stayed in the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very disheartening to read your comments regarding our hotel being Just OK. We pride ourselves on a very high level of service and attention to detail. Please contact me personally at the hotel as it would be my pleasure to learn more about your stay so that we may improve and enhance our offering.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've wanted to stay at the Hotel Macdonald for years, and finaly did so this weekend for our 22nd anniversary. The staff is excellent, the rooms a bit small (but this is a historic property, so to be expected) but luxuriously appointed, and the bed is possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! Our room was absolutely quiet - I didn't hear a thing from either outside or from other guests. The self parking is a bit shady and requires walking outside in the cold through a dirty parkade and parking lot - perhaps I should have sprung for the valet parking. We had a light meal at the Confederation lounge and found the food excellent (though pricey) and the server (Jennifer) was wonderful! My only other objection (besides the parking situation) is that I think they could be a little more generous than they are - for a hotel that is already in the "very expensive" range, I don't understand the upcharges. You have to be a member of the President's Club to get free wifi - otherwise it's about $15 extra. A 1 litre bottle of water in the room was $7. And the room HAS a mini fridge but you have to pay (I think $25?) for the privilege of using it (it's locked). I felt a bit like I was being "nickel and dimed" to death. All in all, we very much enjoyed it, but I doubt we'll be back for at least another 22 years ;-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzzyWhirled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend your special anniversary with us.

We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were glad that we could add to the enjoyment of your occasion. It was disappointing to hear your comments on our pricing structures. I will follow up with our leadership team to ensure that our pricing is comparable to our market set. We do offer complimentary WiFi to all our President’s Club Members and this is a no fee sign up. With regards to the use of the mini fridge in the room, these are not locked and there is no charge to utilize this feature.

Thank you for your comments as all feedback both positive and constructive are key to our growth and development.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in February for two nights. I travel to edmonton four to five times a year and this is by far my favorite place. Very pleased with everything. It's beautiful. I usually stay at the Matrix or the Westin. This was far better. Fantastic service, lush room. Adored it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing