We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good but needs updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good but needs updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel has great service and the staff were very kind during my stay. Rooms and bed's were comfortable but the room needs some updating for the price paid. The wallpaper in the bathroom were coming off and there were some spots on the carpet. Shower was a little dirty as well and the toilet cover had a hard time staying up. The room just needs to be a little cleaner but I had a soundless sleep and service was top notch at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMTravel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    222
    65
    32
    17
See reviews for
147
253
46
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Mac is the best, it has everything you want during your stay in Edmonton.
Excellent restaurant, great lounge, very pleasant staff, beautifully appointed rooms with everything. A tremendous spa area, neat clean with everything operational, steam room, hot tub, pool, exercise equipment ... it's a great hotel in the heart of downtown Edmonton.

Room Tip: Ask Erin at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over New Year's. It is in an excellent location -- close to the downtown New Year's festivities; LRT and bus stops; and, downtown shopping. The employees were polite and friendly. The service (in the restaurants and at the front desk) was a bit slow -- maybe, they were understaffed. The hotel was beautifully appointed -- the Christmas decorations were very pretty. The Confederation Lounge was a very cozy place to enjoy dinner and evening night caps. The pool was the best I've ever used in a hotel -- ten meters long, so, could actually do some lengths. The bed was super comfy and our view was excellent -- kind of wished we'd gone in summer so we could look over the grounds and the river valley. I only have a few complaints: parking was EXPENSIVE; we got charged for internet (again, expensive) even though I'm part of the President's Club; the tv seemed to distort the picture (made the actors look wider;) and, the smoke alarm flashed really brightly. But, overall, a grand stay at a grand hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald over the holiday season. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the departments to ensure your concerns are addressed.

At the same time, we are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed some of the various facilities that our hotel has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Best regards,

Afif Salibi – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a great hotel, with very friendly staff. I asked for late check out and staff were more than accommodating to meet my request. They have a great breakfast, albeit a bit pricy. I absolutely love the lounge in the lobby, best place to enjoy a drink by the fireplace. Rooms are nice, but could use a bit of a facelift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wow! You open the curtains of your riverview luxury hotel room in the morning and you see a prairie sunrise you have ever dreamt of. Overlooking the river, the Mac (this is how Edmontonians call this hotel with a lot of affection) is an amazing island of peace and luxury in downtown. Staff is amazingly friendly, big guestrooms, all bathrooms renovated and in great shape and if you pay the increment to a riverview room you have a stunning view! Can't get any better in Edmonton!

Room Tip: Pay the extra couple of $$ for a riverview room. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding your stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald.

The team was delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Your comments regarding your guestroom, the views and the friendly customer service is appreciated and has been shared with the team. They all work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friendly and professional staff from the valets, front desk and housekeeping. Cannot stress more how friendly the staff were. We were there for one night, Christmas party. The food was good and the room was nicely decorated. We had a city view room. Must mention how comfortable the bed was! Slept great! Thank you again to the staff for making our visit very enjoyable! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarDeeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback regarding your recent experience at our hotel. We were delighted to see that you have enjoyed the services offered at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Our team works very hard to ensure that your stay is memorable and your warm comments will be shared with all the departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob-Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowsnest Pass, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel Macdonald located above the river valley provides an amazing view of the city skyline and is a historic marvel. We enjoyed wandering the rooms and taking in the craftmanship that went into the orgingal construction and later renovations of the hotel. The friendly & courteus service coupled with elegant rooms and excellent cuisine creates an atmosphere that is both relaxing & refreshing. Another bonus is the location which is within easy distance of attractions including a stunning art gallery, botanical gardens, concert hall & museum.

Room Tip: Request a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Downtown
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing