We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This Fairmont is not a 5 Star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 94 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“This Fairmont is not a 5 Star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Edmonton very close to everything. The lobby and the public rooms are restored and look fabulous. When I checked in I thought to myself this is going to be a very nice luxurious hotel to stay in. Service was top notch everywhere but check in which was ok but not what I expect from the Fairmont. Food was very good and the lounge was a very inviting space with live music in the evenings and very good but very limited menu.

The surprise came when I opened the door top my hotel room, the room was not large for sure but the bathroom was pathetic and the tub was chipped in many places, the bathroom was dark and small....come on the Fairmont is better than this! This is a 4* hotel and not up to the Fairmont name when it comes to the guest rooms so be aware of what to expect.

At the end of the day probably still one of the better hotels in Edmonton just ton't compare to other Fairmonts and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Sorry I don't have any tips on how to get a good room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moduline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We were certainly disappointed to read that your stay was not up to your expectations, especially with your check-in experience and the quality of the bathroom in your guestroom.

Please know that your experience has been shared with the departments involved and will be taken into consideration in the care and upkeep of our castle on the hill.

At the same time, we were glad to see that service received from our colleagues overall was top notch, which is a great testimony of us offering our renowned Fairmont luxury service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    237
    68
    35
    18
See reviews for
154
282
47
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are President Club members and very much enjoy staying at the Fairmont Hotels. One can always rely on the most important feature when staying anywhere and that is consistency. From the moment we walked through the front door we knew we were again in for a delightful stay. There were no line ups as we checked in at the front desk even though the hotel was super busy looking after several birthday celebrations along with a very large wedding.
After several stays in other Fairmont locations we were eligible for the suite upgrade free option that is offered for club members. Let me tell you we were not disappointed, the suite was super spacious with everything one could ever hope for in a first class hotel. We had just spent 5 hours travelling in our car and arrived at the hotel totally exhausted. When our bodies hit that soft bed with the mattress that just encloses itself around you we knew we were in for another comfortable stay. We always sleep with the windows open for fresh air and could not help but notice that the local pigeons very much enjoy sitting on the window ledge keeping warm as they peer in, creating a feeling of being home watching birds in your own back yard.
Everything in this hotel is absolutely done to perfection in every respect. The service, the fold down in the evening combined with the little pieces of chocolate is divine. Somehow it all makes the wine just taste so much better. The in house restaurant has food to die for and add that to the service one receives, one is truly spoiled in every respect.
If you ever want to go somewhere to celebrate an evening far beyond your imagination go stay at this first class five star hotel. Congratulations to all of the serving staff, room cleaners and managers, a job well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We have reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel
Macdonald.

On behalf of the team, thank you for all your wonderful words regarding your arrival experience,
your room with a view, the amenities, the quality of The Harvest Room Restaurant and the attentive and very memorable service received from the team.

Thank you for visiting with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In general the hotel is very traditional and a nice looking building overlooking the scenic river valley. Service was good, the usual Fairmont level but the room was, well not very nice. It was a room that I would expect at a Super 8 level and not a Fairmont. Very disappointing to see a room not renovated in years... and a bathroom with a chipped tub and decades old peeling wallpaper! YUK!
Finally, before management send out a standard comment... please take an actual shower in room 434. Shower had no pressure, extremely slow to heat up and then scalds and then you turn it down only to strart the process again. Overall the room was worth half the price paid not even including the "upgrade"!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDN-Traveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. On behalf of the team, our apologies for the challenges you experienced with your room and know that they are being addressed with the Departments involved.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. I would be happy to discuss these challenges with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly at hotelmacdonald@fairmont.com.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On an eight city Art Tour we found the Fairmont a lovely class act. The exhibit room was perfect ,set up flexible and staff very efficient and helpful. My wife, Jill Louise Campbell, has lots of clients in Edmonton and I was concerned about parking for them but no complaints and lots came out. We'll use this hotel again for any future art show.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent location ,affordable ,services are very good, friendly staff, buffet breakfast at Harvey's restaurant standard with healthy food prepared served fast. We are total 10 people traveled to Edmonton and stayed 3 nights ,3 rooms everybody says this our home away from home! Everybody checkout happy and with extra lucky time we saw Justin Bieber in the lobby,we have so much fun.Until next reunion Vancouver .

Room Tip: Higher floor corner room with the view,love every morning watching by my window while having coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We were very pleased to read that you and your fellow travelers thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and this has been shared with all of our colleagues. Our Harvest Room Restaurant is indeed a landmark from its fabulous river valley views to the tasty menu features!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very traditional hotel in downtown edmonton and within walking distance of all central Edmonton attractions. It has all that you would expect from a good hotel , and the service was excellent. Room was comfortable and had everything you need. I had the buffet breakfast which was pretty standard, although better quality bread would have been appreciated. i had room service on one occasion which was good and hot and at $40 with service and delivery was reasonable. On the down side -, good wifi in rooms but at $13 for 24 hours ,the business centre charges for both internet access and for printing, and the shower seems to be locked in the just about warm position, which isn't great when the temperatures are very low outside. Good experience overall though, and I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences faced especially with the shower temperatures and breakfast food quality. This has been shared with the departments involved and we are already looking at improvements to correct the shortfalls.

At the same time, we were pleased to see that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us which is a great testimony of our relentless efforts to deliver our renowned luxury services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,



Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Above all, the service was incredible. We took advantage of the "I'm on my way" check in by email. We arrived by car at the front entrance and the valet supervisor took our car keys and handed us the room keys! Done. It was impressive. The room was typical for the Mac. Very well maintained, immaculately clean and well appointed. Our one negative comment would be the meal in the Confederation Lounge. The fish and chips entree was atrocious- soggy fish and served cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a river room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We were delighted to read your gracious comments about the overall service received during your recent stay. At the same time we have well noted your remarks regarding the quality of our fish & chips dish and this is currently being looked at for further improvements as required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 94 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,945 reviews
Downtown
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#24 of 94 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 94 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 94 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Downtown
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#16 of 94 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#1 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing