We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion of Mendoza's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Excellent location ,affordable ,services are very good, friendly staff, buffet breakfast at Harvey's restaurant standard with healthy food prepared served fast. We are total 10 people traveled to Edmonton and stayed 3 nights ,3 rooms everybody says this our home away from home! Everybody checkout happy and with extra lucky time we saw Justin Bieber in the lobby,we have so much fun.Until next reunion Vancouver .

Room Tip: Higher floor corner room with the view,love every morning watching by my window while having coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We were very pleased to read that you and your fellow travelers thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and this has been shared with all of our colleagues. Our Harvest Room Restaurant is indeed a landmark from its fabulous river valley views to the tasty menu features!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very traditional hotel in downtown edmonton and within walking distance of all central Edmonton attractions. It has all that you would expect from a good hotel , and the service was excellent. Room was comfortable and had everything you need. I had the buffet breakfast which was pretty standard, although better quality bread would have been appreciated. i had room service on one occasion which was good and hot and at $40 with service and delivery was reasonable. On the down side -, good wifi in rooms but at $13 for 24 hours ,the business centre charges for both internet access and for printing, and the shower seems to be locked in the just about warm position, which isn't great when the temperatures are very low outside. Good experience overall though, and I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seajay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences faced especially with the shower temperatures and breakfast food quality. This has been shared with the departments involved and we are already looking at improvements to correct the shortfalls.

At the same time, we were pleased to see that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us which is a great testimony of our relentless efforts to deliver our renowned luxury services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,



Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Above all, the service was incredible. We took advantage of the "I'm on my way" check in by email. We arrived by car at the front entrance and the valet supervisor took our car keys and handed us the room keys! Done. It was impressive. The room was typical for the Mac. Very well maintained, immaculately clean and well appointed. Our one negative comment would be the meal in the Confederation Lounge. The fish and chips entree was atrocious- soggy fish and served cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a river room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We were delighted to read your gracious comments about the overall service received during your recent stay. At the same time we have well noted your remarks regarding the quality of our fish & chips dish and this is currently being looked at for further improvements as required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Macdonald and had a fantastic experience. Valet staff was extremely helpful, and check-in staff made sure that I felt comfortable. Rooms were great, and worth the pretty penny they charge :)

If you're looking for an experience stay as opposed to a economical stay, I highly highly recommend the Fairmont brand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about how fantastic your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.


Sincerely,



Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Seems to have been renewed. I had a 6th floor room, spacious, with new furniture, nice sized bed, and flat screen TV, and nice sized bathroom. I stayed here a number of years ago and it reminded me of the Royal York Toronto that can be outdated in many of its rooms - but this time, everything seemed new - new and fresh looking furniture.

No Gold Floor, so that was surprising for a Fairmont. Love the lobby patio, especially this time of the year - it was beautiful. And service was over the top, from reception, valet, lobby and patio bar service. And the gym facilities were great - bigger than most hotels. But no towels in early morning to help with the workout.

Overall, great visit, one night stay. I would stay again for sure.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a landmark in Edmonton (and for the past many years, now without the ugly tower building). Its a great hotel - the rooms are comfortable and very quiet. I had a river-view room, which was wonderful - sunrises and sunsets over the river valley - which is beautiful in the fall. The patio overlooking the river is wonderful.

Great service - particularly the room service staff - very respectful and non-pushy.

All in all, a great place! And excellent for travelling around Edmonton.

Room Tip: Get a river valley room view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyRCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the outside all is grand and impressive, but when you experence all the flaws it works out to a little less than impressive. We just stayed at the Hotel McDonald again and it is still a beautiful building with architecture from the turn of the century and great service also from the turn of the century. Exquisite wood paneling and deep carpeting. But to no fault of the employees the plumbing was not up to Canadian standards and the food at the banquet was cold and disappointing for the cost of it. It reminds me of the time we went to England and stayed at some of their hotels. I realize that with a first class facility you need to pay a little more for the service etceria, but $14. for a drink in the lounge is a little extreme.
If you want to experence Britain without the long flight, this is the place to stay. But if you will only accept the standard set by most newer Canadian hotels. Hotels that have a tub that drains quickly, shower fixtures that work well, a room with more than 2 plug-ins, hot food, and reasonably priced drinks, there are other choices. I still love this hotel, but slowly the quirky is taking over.

Room Tip: Rooms have air conditioning but the rooms with the view of the river valley are the quietest. Due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairieboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,714 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#29 of 93 in Edmonton
348 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#19 of 93 in Edmonton
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: $197 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing