We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Above all, the service was incredible. We took advantage of the "I'm on my way" check in by email. We arrived by car at the front entrance and the valet supervisor took our car keys and handed us the room keys! Done. It was impressive. The room was typical for the Mac. Very well maintained, immaculately clean and well appointed. Our one negative comment would be the meal in the Confederation Lounge. The fish and chips entree was atrocious- soggy fish and served cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a river room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay’s experience. We were delighted to read your gracious comments about the overall service received during your recent stay. At the same time we have well noted your remarks regarding the quality of our fish & chips dish and this is currently being looked at for further improvements as required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Sincerely,


Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    262
    85
    37
    17
See reviews for
180
322
54
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Macdonald and had a fantastic experience. Valet staff was extremely helpful, and check-in staff made sure that I felt comfortable. Rooms were great, and worth the pretty penny they charge :)

If you're looking for an experience stay as opposed to a economical stay, I highly highly recommend the Fairmont brand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connie J, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about how fantastic your recent stay with us was at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald. Your comments are much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.


Sincerely,



Connie Jakob
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Seems to have been renewed. I had a 6th floor room, spacious, with new furniture, nice sized bed, and flat screen TV, and nice sized bathroom. I stayed here a number of years ago and it reminded me of the Royal York Toronto that can be outdated in many of its rooms - but this time, everything seemed new - new and fresh looking furniture.

No Gold Floor, so that was surprising for a Fairmont. Love the lobby patio, especially this time of the year - it was beautiful. And service was over the top, from reception, valet, lobby and patio bar service. And the gym facilities were great - bigger than most hotels. But no towels in early morning to help with the workout.

Overall, great visit, one night stay. I would stay again for sure.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a landmark in Edmonton (and for the past many years, now without the ugly tower building). Its a great hotel - the rooms are comfortable and very quiet. I had a river-view room, which was wonderful - sunrises and sunsets over the river valley - which is beautiful in the fall. The patio overlooking the river is wonderful.

Great service - particularly the room service staff - very respectful and non-pushy.

All in all, a great place! And excellent for travelling around Edmonton.

Room Tip: Get a river valley room view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyRCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grande prairie
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the outside all is grand and impressive, but when you experence all the flaws it works out to a little less than impressive. We just stayed at the Hotel McDonald again and it is still a beautiful building with architecture from the turn of the century and great service also from the turn of the century. Exquisite wood paneling and deep carpeting. But to no fault of the employees the plumbing was not up to Canadian standards and the food at the banquet was cold and disappointing for the cost of it. It reminds me of the time we went to England and stayed at some of their hotels. I realize that with a first class facility you need to pay a little more for the service etceria, but $14. for a drink in the lounge is a little extreme.
If you want to experence Britain without the long flight, this is the place to stay. But if you will only accept the standard set by most newer Canadian hotels. Hotels that have a tub that drains quickly, shower fixtures that work well, a room with more than 2 plug-ins, hot food, and reasonably priced drinks, there are other choices. I still love this hotel, but slowly the quirky is taking over.

Room Tip: Rooms have air conditioning but the rooms with the view of the river valley are the quietest. Due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairieboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited the lobby bar with my wife for a late dinner, I was extremely impressed! The hotel itself is that old school architecture that is stunning to see. There was a live guitar player strumming away in the background, the male wait staff all wearing white shirts and vests. I can't remember the last time I saw a free pour of wine at the table!

Food was excellent, staff were extremely attentive and the overall atmosphere was very classy.

Pricing was a bit on the higher end but within expectations for such an establishment, and well worth while. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

First thing that struck me was that on sitting in the restaurant, we were presented with a 'Lifestyle' menu, that has a special set of menus for vegan, gluten free, lactose free, healthy heart and raw food. Never ever have I seen such a considerate selection on offer, catering for all special diets. The waiters were als very considerate and knowledgable. My meal was fantastic - although I didn't particularly enjoy the flavours, it was interesting, unusual, beatifully cooked and presented, which more than made up for it. The only down side was that dessert took so long to come we had to cancel it and the chocolates that came with the bill were cheap and nasty. A surprising oversight from an otherwise top class place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustylou63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing