We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic upscale property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic upscale property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just a great upscale property. Ultra professional and attentive. This is a text book upscale hotel with consisten quality and service levels. Recently stayed for over a week and the staff was wonderful. The rooms are wonderful and modern, the hotel has a turn of the century charm.
Would definately stay there again. Nothing more to say other than if you get the chance, stay here.

Room Tip: Just ask at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    256
    81
    37
    17
See reviews for
175
311
53
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights during a business trip.

The Good: charming building in a very old, kind of dated style. Felt like walking into an episode of Downton Abbey. Rooms were very clean though first room was small and overlooking the city with lots of street noise and thin walls. I could hear every conversation, cough and sneeze from next door. Mentioned the noise issues to front desk staff and was moved to a very pleasant river-view room. Staff: very pleasant and helpful.

The Bad: daily charge for internet access. Valet parking for over $30 a day. But the one that bothered me the most and would make me think twice about staying here again: way overpriced room service. This was really inconvenient because the area where the hotel is seems kind of sketchy in the late afternoon and evening. I did not think going out for dinner was a good idea so I was stuck eating in paying way too much for O.K. food.

Room Tip: River-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie_NYC10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was in Edmonton last week on business and stayed at the Fairmont Hotel MacDonald. Located right downtown on a bluff overlooking the North Saskatchewan River, the hotel is easy walking distance to most destinations in the downtown core, and just a few minutes from the LRT (Edmonton subway).

My room was a standard Fairmont room, with a lot of space, big comfy king bed, nice bathroom that was fully appointed with the standard Fairmont stuff, and as expected, spotlessly clean. It was also surprisingly quiet in spite of being located closer to the elevator than I might have liked. Check-in took all of about 60 seconds thanks to the very helpful and friendly front desk staff.

After a full day of business meetings, I returned to the hotel for a quick shower and change, then set off downstairs for something to eat. I wanted something light, so chose the Confederation Lounge rather than the main restaurant. The food (steak sandwich) was terrific, and the beer (a local dark ale I forget the name of) was delightful. Service was awesome, as expected.

The Confed Lounge has a magnificent outdoor terrace that overlooks the river valley - it would be a treat to sit outside in nicer weather. Indeed, there are some old photos of the hotel on display, including a great shot from the 1920s of diners enjoying the patio.

Upon returning to my room, I was surprised to find that housekeeping had been by to offer an unexpected turn-down service. Excellent!

The next morning I was on my way home. Checkout was quick, my bill was correct, and again, the staff were super-friendly and helpful. All this, and for a room rate that was not a whole lot more than what they were asking at the Best Western.

In a nutshell, the building is magnificent, the service is magnificent, and while not the cheapest accommodation in town, the value cannot be beat. The Mac has a strong reputation as a great place to stay, and it's easy to see why.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium for a river view, it's absolutely worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, so I booked the honeymoon suite, which was outdated, grungy carpet, but the bathroom was nice and big. Certainly not worth over $900 night! Closer to $200 or $300 would have been reasonable for this particular room. Dining room was closed, so we opted for the lounge, we sat and waited to be helped for over 20 minutes, when nobody acknowledged us, we got up and left. We ended up going to Ruth Chris' just 1 block away, and it was fabulous!! That was the highlight of our evening. We mentioned our concerns about the poor service in the lounge at checkout, and the offered to give us a discount on our next visit, too bad we won't be able to take them up on that as we will never return. Too pricey, poor service, unsatisfied.

Room Tip: Ruth Chris' down the street in Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Macdonald recently! From the time we drove up and the car was whisked away to for valet parking (much easier than trying to find parking yourself), to the breakfast buffet, to the cozy lounge, to the great pool and steam room, we felt pampered. We too were upgraded to a bigger room, which we appreciated, and our room rate was fairly reasonable as well. We chose to pay in advance, which costs the least. The only tiny complaint we had was that the hot water seemed not plentiful enough. It is probably difficult to heat water in such an old building. Also we commented to management that room service trays seemed to linger much too long in the hallways (this didn't affect us; it just doesn't look very sanitary). These are not dealbreakers, however, and I'm sure they will remedy this. The staff is amazingly helpful. If you are going to stay in Edmonton, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have to be honest, Hotel Macdonald was not my first choice. Once upon a time I lived in Edmonton so I know the Mac isn't one of the more affordable hotels....or so I thought. We booked a VERY affordable room at the Mac and got bumped to an executive suite due to a booking error! Hooray!
I'm not a fussy traveler. I expect exceptional SERVICE, pride in one's job, decor, cleanliness, and demeanor of staff. The Mac exceeded my expectations.
I could agree with some reviews. Was there a little lifting in the wallpaper in the bathroom? Yes. Do I care? No. Was the carpet discoloured in one or two areas? Sure. Again, do I care? No. I have children and an older home....I am familiar with trying to keep ahead of routine wear and tear.
The suite was very clean, very sanitary, no bugs, no dust, no left-behinds from previous guests. The pool was great for the children. The change area was fantastically accommodating. Everything was fresh and clean. The Mac shows it's character beyond all other hotels, and age in a few limited regards. I'm simply not the type of person to approach a 97 year old and complain that it's not maintaining itself like the 20 year old's around the area.
The hotel staff was above and beyond. Super helpful, very friendly, and clearly well educated for all guest questions (even gave me some tips on my upcoming stay at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa). The breakfast buffet on Sunday was AMAZING! Seriously, if for nothing else, stay here for the breakfast buffet! So delicious.
My spouse was blown away, our daughters were giddy and giggling at all the fancy-ness. To be honest....we won't stay anywhere else in Edmonton from now on. The Hotel Macdonald won us over with it's SERVICE alone.
Oh! I almost forgot, the bed was deliciously comfortable and the location can NOT be beat!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fridgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hotel is everything that you would expect from a Fairmont. Beds and bedding is really comfortable, rooms are spotless, and service is exceptional. They have valet parking which is a huge bonus so you don't have to find parking in downtown Edmonon, and it was at a reasonable price. I lived in Edmonton for years, and this is definately the best hotel there. Very pricey, however very worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetiJaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing