We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location in downtown Edmonton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful location in downtown Edmonton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

business in Edmonton --I stayed at the old Railway hotel perched on the river, overlooking the valley. Beautiful hotel garden, great room to work in and fabulous staff.
Walking distance to arts centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfilmcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    256
    81
    37
    17
See reviews for
175
311
53
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is in a great location overlooking the river at the edge of Downtown Edmonton.
Whilst the room was comfortable Fairmont's claims to great service were not always apparent.
A check in clerk who was ice cold and made no eye contact and some forgetfulness by Restaurant service staff were examples of this.
Also the pool and Gym area lacked any atmosphere whilst obviously being recently done up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank covenanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel seems to have no life for a by gone era. Too bad as the building is beautiful. Good location but that is it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo_6674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My stay at the Fairmont Hotel Macdonald was wonderful. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature could be easily controlled. The staff were typical of a Fairmont property: courteous, helpful, and welcoming. Although housekeeping had forgotten robes, a quick mention to the front desk and robes were promptly delivered. If I could change anything, it would have been the water pressure for the shower; other than that, I have no complaints and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

A great Fairmont property in the heart of downtown Edmonton. Staff went above and beyond to be helpful, and did everything to make my stay perfect. A true gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River - great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I am not fond of all the Fairmont properties I've stayed in. Some are too large with smallish rooms - grand public spaces but the insides are sometimes disappointing. Not so the MacDonald in Edmonton. It's a superb hotel within a heritage building - one of the many old railroad hotels now brought into the 21st century. The MacDonald has large rooms, well appointed - half of which look out onto the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley - always book a room facing south. Bedrooms well appointed and quiet! Great staff, a gorgeous set of gardens off the terrace overlooking the river valley, and very central to downtown. The main restaurant, the Harvest Room, has been out of commission (ice and snow damaged the glass roof last winter) but is soon to be reopened. Until then the bar and lounge have been turned into a restaurant and that is working. 6 months ago you could only order the full breakfast buffet, but now you can order a la carte - thank you for those of us who want cereal and toast only for breakfast. Good workout facilities. I trust my inner compass - when I walk into my hotel room and feel myself relaxing with pleasure, I know it's a good hotel. The MacDonald does that to me. Always.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
582 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

It was our anniversary and they very nicely upgraded our room. Thank you! They also left a "Happy Anniversary" tray in our room with fruit and chocolates. A wonderful thoughtful touch. We had a large nicely finished room on the 6th floor overlooking the river. The views are amazing plus the sunrise is wonderful each morning over the river. The room has high quality finishes and a large LCD TV. The bed is very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The service levels by the household staff was excellent. The location is right in the heart of the city so you can easily walk to most places. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing