We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of India in an ultra-modern setting”
Review of Zaika

Zaika
Ranked #143 of 2,440 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A taste of India in an ultra-modern setting”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Zaika is hidden away in south Edmonton, but it is well worth your effort to drive there and experience Indian haute cuisine. This is a tastefully decorated bistro-style modern restaurant. The staff are very polite and helpful. The food, in buffet fashion, is an excellent offering of traditional Indian dishes. If you love curries you will fall in love with Zaika's menu! Whilst you are there, pop next door and find their other venue, offering a fabulous range of Indian groceries and condiments.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMORTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Food was buffet style, very delicious, hot and fresh.
Priced very reasonably.
Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disneylovers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Went there with my family. It's a nice and clean restaurant. Finding it was a bit tricky. Food was average, regular Indian food. Did not find anything special. Seemed like pricey comparing to other Indian restaurants in Edmonton. Up to this was OK but the waitress was not friendly. Service was poor. And We were charged for our 3 year old even though she did not eat the buffet. No where in Edmonton you will get charged for a 3 year old for buffet (And the baby did not eat at the restaurant). Will never come back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Takashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“fabulous dining experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The food is great, staff are professional and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank SJBL0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Menu Items Are Heaven-Sent”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Indian food seems particularly unhappy after sitting too long, buffeted in a buffet. Oily gets oilier, spicy gets over-hot, and salted gets salty. It smelled great, but we tried menu items. The sharp and well-mannered non-Indian server guided our selections with wit and humor. The results were terrific. Sauces were modified -- to meet our taste for heat, and some dishes we wanted to know about were explained quickly and then tested in sample sizes. THAT is a restaurant server deluxe. The meal left us breathless from spices so well combined we were guessing their identity as we praised the restaurant. I am in love with this place. Tastefully done and thankfully quiet, Zaika is a zillion miles from the cheaper fare -- and rather a far piece geographically from center-city and the Western suburbs. Who cares? In a pocket mall. Who cares? Tops.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaika also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Zaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing