We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chain”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #17 of 2,405 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Summerlea
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Chain”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It has more the chain restaurant feeling now.

Food is to the standard expected. Service is acceptable.

The unique patio area is nice, with the windows closable with weather, but the higher chair seating are not the most comfortable. There is no view so selecting the patio for that is an error.

Dress is now very casual, and one would feel considerably overdressed with a tie and jacket....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    98
    41
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Change in menu and service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had lunch at this restaurant last week and we were very disappointed . Honestly, we used to go to this restaurant often for different occasions and we always loved it. But our recent visit was not as good. The food was below average, very small amount and prices much higher. Soup was cold and salad not fresh. The service was much slower without special attention yo the guests.
We are sad about this change as we loved this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious as always”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had the steak as usual, was delicious. He had the ribs, they were very good as well. Prices are not cheap, but I believe the quality is in line. It is a great place for a nice meal. The mojitos were delicious as well!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgentSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Must admit, I didn't realize there was a Cactus Club in Edmonton! Enjoyed a very pleasant lunch with friends this week. Rocket Salad was excellent as was the service. Reasonably priced menu and wine list. Very pleasant surroundings.

Direct access to the restaurant from parking area, not through the mall. It is located on the north side of West Edmonton Mall, near the Sears entrance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Can't wait till they open in Onatrio!!!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went for lunch on our last day of a 6 day trip just before heading to the airport. We were on a business/vacation in Calgary and Edmonton and were out for dinner every night. We had many great evenings like the hardware grill Edmonton, and river cafe in Calgary, however the biggest surprise of our entire trip was cactus club.

The reason i say this is because of a build up of expectations. I have had the pleasure of dinning at Rod Feenie's restaurant in Vancouver year ago, and 2 nights there are still in my top 10 all time for me. Then when he won iron chef, he became my culinary hero.

Anyhow, after waiting for the opportunity to head west and try another Feenie experience, i started thinking "how good can this place be"? a chain of restaurants cannot be that special? Boy was i wrong, had the BBQ duck clubhouse planning on being disappointing, and wow was i sadly mistaken. best clubhouse ever........

I am going to Vancouver soon, will be trying Cactus Club there. Again send Rob Feenie [Cactus Club] east for the rest of Canada to enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing