We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a one night stay”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #82 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for a one night stay”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Clean, quiet motel that is close to majour highways, easy to get to from southern cities like Red Deer and Calgary, and eastern cities like Lloydminster, Battleford and Saskatoon. Has a decent restaurant, and pub, which was relatively quiet at night. Enjoyed help received from the front desk clerk.

Room Tip: Second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworm4503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
Yes! Our Hotel is on the corner of Yellow head Trail with easy to access to Anthony Henday for all outside cities to go and come in from.
I am pleased our Hotel & Staff were there to make your visit comfortable.
Christee - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    18
    14
    28
See reviews for
21
19
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have utilized the Sands Hotel Edmonton the last three years to facilitate our Avalanche Training Programs that we hold three to four times a winter.

The Sands Hotel and Staff have been very helpful and tolerant of our schedule and student number changes. We have found that when we need to make changes they are ready and can usually accommodate our needs.

We stay at the Sands anytime we are in Edmonton as they have good parking, clean rooms and a nice restaurant where we can grab a quick bite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kava T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
We are pleased to be the Venue & Hotel of choice for Zac's Tracs. These groups of Ladies are professional, organized and dedicated to please their student’s which in turn we need to ensure that all are satisfied.
We hope that you will be pleased with 2014 renovations when completed!
Christee – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Sands staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms are outdated and the AC didn't work (we were there in the summer), although when we called the front desk, they sent someone up to try to fix it right away. It worked sporadically for the rest of our week stay. The internet is horrible, it worked the first day and then didn't work again for the rest of the time we were there, I asked a few times about it, and they said that they were having problems with it. Unfortunately it was something I really needed while I was there so it was a major downfall of my stay. The hotel is pet friendly which was great for us and they treated our dog great. When taking the dog out at 1am during the week, there were some teenagers out front smoking and drinking and being a little loud but they didn't bug us, I think they might have been trying to get into the bar/casino attached to the hotel (I think thats what it is, I didn't actually go inside) The Sands has lots of free parking, and is close to the highway.. but there is no pool, fitness room or activity room.. There is a restaurant, and breakfast is included if you pay a daily rate but extra if you pay a weekly rate.. my grandparents stayed there for a couple days when they came to visit us and said the breakfast was ok but they charged them extra for coffee, its not included in the specials... overall you get what you paid for.. its cheaper then downtown, clean but outdated, and nothing extra included. I would suggest this hotel for someone looking for a clean bed to lay your head, not recommended for families or people wanting to walk somewhere from the hotel... good place if you want a cheap place close to Rexall Place..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
To share an update of our Hotel with you, The AC is brand new in each room with your own control of temperature. The WIFI is now with Live port VS our other carrier and is quick to get onto the Internet. Yes we are DOG friendly on our 1st & 2nd Floor which makes our guests pleased to have them by their side. We are very close to Rexall which is very accommodating for events that all will attend and our guests have felt safe walking back & forth.
We have completed some updates in our Hotel since your last stay and are going forward with more changes that I am excited for all to see.
Christee - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have held our annual dinner at the Sands for a number of years. This year 50 people attended, again with little or NO complaints. Food, service and staff attitude was great.

The cost per plate, however is getting up there as they charged us for room rental this year on top of the $29.00 per person buffet charge... Next time we will have to consider a smaller room and menu to try and lower costs either that or look for a place where room rental doesn't apply..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
I am pleased that the service and food were to your group’s satisfaction.
I understand that there was an error on room rental charges; however I did not see you add to your comment that we IN FACT refunded you that full amount.
Thank you for comment
Christee – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Rooms are excellent, Staff is really polite and helpful. Lounge needs some updates but over all was a great experience and would definitely stay here again. #Harry working at Front Desk is great. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Rooms on Third Floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Harry757575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your comment!
We appreciate all customers’ comments and wanted to share that we are at present working with designers to renovate our Lounge! We are very excited!
Also I am pleased that our Front Desk Manager; Harry, was memorable as he aims to please all of our Guests along with his Team and Staff at the Hotel!
Christee - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the older hotels. I remember this place when I was a kid growing up. I had tickets to an Oilers game and I remember the last game I went to we stayed at the Ramada. At the end of the game we waited for over an hour for a cab. This time I wanted to stay somewhere closer so if we had to it was in walking distance. The place is for its age as clean as could be expected. The one thing my wife and I did find annoying was the fact that the bathroom fan was wired to the light switch and the fan was loud. They also offer smoking rooms. The front desk was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Rexall Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmritGrewal, Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
You are correct; we are an older Hotel however with a new Management Team that is working very hard to give the Sands Hotel a new identity!
We are in the process of adding new designs, and one of them is in our rooms!
Big changes in 2014 and I am excited for you to see them!
Thank you for staying with us!
Christee - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff and location were great. We went to a hockey game at Rexall Place. The rooms themselves could use some updating and maintenance. We were given a quiet room away from the elevator so that was great.

Room Tip: It was close to Rexall Place for a hockey game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeing-the-globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christee R, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
I hope next time you are in Edmonton and in our area you will book one of our renovated rooms. I am sure you will be pleased with the changes!
Christee - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.7 mi away
Eastglen Inn
Eastglen Inn
#81 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Edmonton East
Travelodge Edmonton East
#77 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edmonton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn  Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton North
2.0 mi away
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
#54 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Casino and Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 12340 Fort Rd NW | Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4H5, Canada (Formerly Sands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Inn & Suites is one of the North Edmonton Hotels located on Yellow Head Trail. We are 5 minutes from Rexall place, Northlands Expo and 10 minutes from shopping & ameneties. 53 Hotel rooms that offer NON smoking & smoking, PET Friendly, Large RV Parking, Laundry facilities & 24 hour front desk staff. Our lounge is open 7 days a week with Karaoke, VLT's, Pool Tables and a food & drink menu that will satisfy your apetitie! Our Banquet Facility staff are trained to meet all your needs for weddings, conferences and Live Entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn & Suites Edmonton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing