We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived after a 14 hour drive from Vancouver for an extended stay (6 days) to do a sound setup.

Greeted warmly by the reception staff; brought my dog with me. Room was spacious - 16 foot ceilings on the dog-friendly floor - clean and included a microwave and bar fridge.

Housekeeping staff did an excellent job and were unobtrusive (my 20-ish roomate was not careful about keeping things neat ).

Breakfast was excellent - eggs, sausage, pancakes, juice, coffee - the works; the staff made a point of greeting each and every guest.

Business centre includes free printing and internet access.
Tons of parking.

Negatives: no dog parks within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Rodney C,

Thank you very much for your happy review on your recent extended stay with us at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are very excited to hear that you have a very pleasant and relaxing stay with us. Most importantly, our reception and breakfast staff team had provided warmly greetings and friendly impressions; our housekeeping staff had done their job in a professional and unobtrusive manner.

Thanks for mentioning to us our rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Our breakfasts are full of different varieties of hot/cold food and beverages items. We are glad that you had enjoyed the excellent breakfast and was able to make use of the facilities in our business centre, as well there were ample parking for your usage.

We will relay your kind compliments to our staff teams to let them know that their friendliness and hardworking are being noticed and have met with our guests’ expectations. Our teams are sure to be inspired by your kind words to work better and best

It is always our pleasure to enable your stay a relaxing and comfortable one so you can feel like staying at home away home. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel so we can be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    107
    49
    14
    21
See reviews for
113
42
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently stayed here for a friend's wedding in Nisku. The room was great, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was good, even for a person with dietary preferences like mine that make menus limited. On a side note, even a small variety of fruit is always acceptable! The breakfast staff was amazing and quick to replenish food items, the housekeepers were the friendliest I've ever encountered (telling me I looked sexy in my wedding get-up even!), but the front desk staff did not smile once. As I work front desk in a hotel, of course I am interested in other hotels, so I was attentive. Not once did they crack a smile. When passing the front desk multiple times, very few even looked up to acknowledge us. I'm not sure what they were all so sour about, but that is what's holding my review back from an Excellent.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower floor would be easier to get to. Though the breakfast area can be very noisy in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHowkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jacrxo,

Thank you for your precious time to write a review on your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We have taken note of your comment and will remind our front office team to reciprocate smile to guests passing by the reception area while they are working at the front desk. We want to assure you that this is not the normal attitude of our front desk clerk and we will look into this situation seriously. Please accept our sincere apology for not meet up with your expectations in this regard.

We appreciate your compliments to our great hotel and rooms with comfortable beds. We are glad that you have enjoyed the complientary breakfast with good varieties of hot and cold items, and options for vegetarians. We are fortunate to have a great team of friendly and efficient breakfast staff to maintain the breakfast room and to replenish the breakfast items timely.

Thanks also to our diligent housekeeping team for upkeeping the high standard of cleanliness of our hotel rooms and areas so that our hotel guests can enjoy and feel their stay at home away home. We will share your kind notes with them to further encorage them to keep up with their good work.

Thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South. We hope to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you our true hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon SK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We can say the "elevator is very slow". Recommend a lower floor and take the stairs. Nice bed, comfortable, quiet, clean and a variety at breakfast. Access from Calgary Trail is easy to miss. You have to take service road to get there from either direction.On the whole, a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMFOX222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear RMFOX222,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We feel bad and like to apologize for the slow experience you have had with our elevator. This situation exists when numerous users using the elevator consistently at the same time during a full house occupancy.

We are very happy to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us, and you found our bed to be nice, clean and comfortable. Thank you for telling us that we did well in our breakfast varieties.

We will share your nice comments with our coworkers to encourage them to continue with their good hospitality service. We deeply appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
865 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed in this Holiday Inn hotel several times during my business trips but this is the first time they upgraded me to a suite. The hotel is about 40 min drive from the airport .It offers a free decent breakfast . I arrived early (around 9am) and just took my chance of checking in early and what to you know they allowed me to check in right away plus they even upgraded my room to a suite.I appreciate the upgrade since my room has its own kitchen and has a roomier space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear betty I,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a nice review. It is our pleasure to have you as our regular guest at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South for both business and leisure accommodations.

Our hotel is situated in a fabulous location in South Edmonton, conveniently nearby highways, shops, commercial and entertainment complex, restaurants… It is certainly a convenient location for business, leisure, family gatherings, business events, meetings…etc.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the suite and our very popular daily complimentary hot and cold breakfast. It is nice that you have found the room with kitchen more spacious. The room upgrade is based on the IHG rewards subject to room availability.

Our staffs at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South are very service oriented and hospitality driven. We will try our best to accommodate our valuable guests’ needs and to provide a memorable stay for all our dear guests.

We will definitely share your kind remarks with our team. Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I'll start with the negative...this hotel is difficult to get to if you don't know your way around Edmonton. We came in from the south, and once we turned left on 23rd, almost missed the little sign that said 'service road'. Coming from the north was a bit better, as long as you don't miss the turnoff to that service road. The other negative is that on the third floor and lower, I don't think there is a good view. We looked out onto an empty lot (behind the Saratoga), and others we knew looked out onto an apartment, the parking lot, and the side of Calgary Trail south.

That being said, this was an excellent hotel. We were there for a wedding, and there was a whole block of rooms close together. We travelled with our two adult children, and there was plenty of room for us to get ready or relax. There was free wifi, which worked very well, a free breakfast, which was very tasty with a large selection, and plenty of room to sit, as they opened up another room for the breakfast crowd. Check in was very easy and fast, and they let us in a bit early.

Everything in the room worked well, including the air conditioning, and the shower had good pressure. There was a fridge, and the beds were very comfortable. There was an easy chair with ottoman and a reading light behind it.

The location was good for getting back to the Anthony Henday, or for going to South Common. As others have said, it's kind of tough to get anywhere without a car, although there were a few restaurants within walking distance. We did try the Saratoga, which had very good pizza. All in all, it was a good stay, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Princess_Lu,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South. We greatly appreciate your comments and reviews on your experiences with us.

It is very nice of you to provide information to first time visitors to our hotel how to come around from both the south and the north directions.

We are delighted to know that our complimentary breakfast has met up to your expectations. It is always a pleasure to note that our guests are able to relax comfortably in the spacious rooms.

We are also glad that you are able to make use of the available facilities provided such as the wifi, fridge and the good air conditioning and good pressure shower, the comfy chair and ottoman, tv, etc.

We are sure your two adult children will also enjoy the equipment in the fitness centre and the indoor pool.

Thanks for telling us our front desk clerk has well performed their job and were able to make your check in fast and easy. We will definitely share your compliments to our team members who contributed to your great experience.

We will keep up and continue to improve our hospitality services and quality to better serve our valued guests at all times. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I usually stay at the HI Express in Nisku right across from the Edmonton, International Airport. Recently, it has been under renovations and sometimes is a bit noisy so we gave this property a go for one night in late August 2013. The place is clean, newer, and very busy. The room was clean, well appointed, and up to expectations for an HI express. My sole complaint is it is difficult to get to and leave from Calgary Trail (Hwy 2 south) owing to recent changes to the 23rd avenue exit. You need to approach and leave from the north on the service road. As another reviewer noted, being out here is sort of a wasteland without a car. Might be better choices if you wish to be near amenities, or to walking around town.

Room Tip: Backside of building up high has nice views towards west Edmonton (not exceptionally scenic at best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLLtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear MHKtraveller,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South during your recent stay in Edmonton. We appreciated your precious time to write us a candid review.

We are thrilled to learn that our hotel room and facilities are clean and well-appointed, able to meet with your high expectations. Thanks also for your room tip suggestion to describe the hotel exterior. We will share your kind reviews to our staff team. Thank you again.

We apologize for the confusion and temporary inconvenience caused by the road maintenance on 23rd avenue, the city is having some road markings touch up during this time, and the traffic will be back to normal soon after the city project is completed in due course.

Our hotel location is close by and within walking distance to some of the restaurants and shops. There is a family diner, the Saratoga within 1-mintue walk on left of the hotel. About 5 minute walk to Nellos Italian Restaurant, Japanese Village Restaurant, a 5-minute walk to Cora Breakfast & Lunch restaurant. A 10 to 15-minute walk to Tim Hortons, Chapters, Starbucks, etc. Fat Burgers, Winners, Safeway are not far from there. If you have a car, a 5-minute drive will reach South Common Strip Mall where there are lots of shops, restaurants and cinema, supermarket, etc. A 10-minute drive will take you to the Southgate Centre shopping mall with shops and a food court loaded with food and beverage outlets serving international cuisine such as: KFC, A&W, Arby’s, Edo Japan, Pizza Hut, Opa Souvlaki, Thai Express, Koryo Korean BBQ, Taco Time, New York Fries, Joey Seafood, Extreme Pita … etc.

We look forward to welcoming you and family to stay with us on your next trips. Please do not hesitate to consult our front desk clerk to obtain the directions of nearby adventure for your exploration.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for several days on family vacation. Room was quiet to external noises, but the a/c (which we needed) was noisy (although effective) when it went on. The hot breakfast was very good for a hotel. Beds were comfy and the fitness room was adequate. Staff were friendly and seemed competent. My least favorite part of the stay was the location. Yes, reasonably easy to find and access, but in a part of town which demanded using a vehicle for going anywhere. There is light rail access to downtown, but it is a 1.5 mile walk to reach (and that park and ride lot fills early) - and we didn't see a bus anywhere near the hotel during our stay. There is shopping and dining nearby, but it is very spread out in a big box development and not easily accessible on foot. There was an independent family restaurant/diner next door (walking distance!) which we tried and liked. Overall, very good value, but don't plan to walk anywhere - you'll need a vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 65Rambler,

Thank you very much for your time to post a review on your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

First of all, please accept our apologies for the air conditioning noise you had encountered. We conduct routine check up on a regular basis. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk so we could send our maintenance staff to solve the problem immediately.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the quiet rooms and comfortable beds. Thanks for your compliments to our friendly and knowledgeable staffs, as well as the very good complimentary breakfast and the well-equipped fitness room.

It is great that you found it easy to locate our hotel though we are not situated directly along the bus stop route. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance close by our hotel such as a family diner, the Saratoga within 1-minute walk on left of the hotel. About 2-minute walk from the hotel, you will find Nellos Italian Restaurant, Japanese Village Restaurant. A 3-minute walk will take you to the Cora Breakfast & Lunch Restaurant. A 5-minute drive will bring you to the South Common Strip Malls where there are lots of shops and restaurants. A 10-minute drive will take you to the Southgate Centre shopping mall with shops and a food court loaded with F&B outlets serving international cuisines. To name a few: KFC, A&W, Arby’s, Edo Japan, Pizza Hut, Opa Souvlaki, Thai Express, Koryo Korean BBQ, Taco Time, New York Fries, Joey Seafood, Extreme Pita and so on.

It is certainly more convenient to have a vehicle as it will only take minutes to the shopping malls such as the South Common, Southgate Centre, Kingsway mall, West Edmonton mall and other sightseeing spots. In the case you do not feel like walking or driving, you can consult our Front Desk staff to provide you with a list of restaurants who offer take out menus and delivery services.
We hope the above information will help make your future stays more relax. We sincerely hope to have the opportunities to serve you and your family on your next vacations.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing