We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay in Edmonton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent stay in Edmonton”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Edmonton for one night for his company Christmas party.

I have stayed in several hotels recently, and I must say that this was the cleanest room I have stayed in.

The service at the front desk could use some work (and some personality), especially when dealing with rewards members (shouldn't you know how to look up the rewards # on the computer? They can at other Holiday Inn's!)

The continental breakfast is awesome, with lots of selection of hot & cold foods and the fruit was fresh.

All in all, it was a decent stay and we will be back when visiting Edmonton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Calgarygrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Calgarygrl11,

Many thanks for writing us a review to let us know what we have done right and where we should make room for improvements.

We are glad to hear that you found our room to be the cleanest one you had stayed by far. We are also happy that you found our continental breakfast to be awesome with sufficient choices of hot and cold items with fresh fruits and that you enjoyed very much.

We will ensure all our front desk team including the newly appointed know how to deal with rewards members. Thank you for pointing that to us and we apologize if there was any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you and your spouse back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    108
    49
    14
    21
See reviews for
113
43
15
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby & kids. Seriously not convenient to drive to. Suite was small & not worth what we paid. Beds were hard & lumpy. Room was so hot I had a bleeding nose & 2 of us were sick by morning. Would not go back to this holiday inn

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear T O,
Thank you for your time to write us your experience at Holiday Inn Express Inn & Suites Edmonton South.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the beds in our room. We are also surprise to hear that your room is too hot as there is an adjustable thermostat available in each room. You are welcome to contact the front desk 24/7 should you need any assistance.

We hope that you will visit us again so we can demonstrate our true hospitality.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stay at hotels 5-8 nights/month for work. This hotel was a great location for me, but the signage made it nearly impossible to find! There's no restaurant in the hotel, which I really dislike when I'm traveling alone, since I'd prefer to just walk downtstairs or order room service for dinner. Their complimentary breakfast however is the best I've seen (huge room with ANYTHING you can think of). The rooms have fridges and microwaves, which I always appreciate. Upon check-in though I entered the room and I saw dirty towels on the bed, and then noticed that there was an open suitcase on the floor... the room was already being used! Worst part, he was in the bathroom! The fact that they activated a key to someone else's room is a huge mistake and privacy issue. The front desk clerk simply said "oh sorry" and activated a card for a new room. Also, their internet is not password secured, which also confirms that they don't care much about privacy. Even though their rooms are large, very clean, and I like the location, their lack of confidentiality and privacy will prevent me from using this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: very slow elevators, so 2nd floor was ideal for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Julie M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and provide use with your comments.
We are very sorry to hear that the front desk clerk came across had mistakenly assigning an occupied room for you. This certainly is not the impression we wish to give our guests. We understand the importance of guest privacy and confidentiality and we will investigate and discipline the front desk clerk in question.

All Holiday Inn hotels are using WiFi for their internet and are password protected. There are moments when the password might be disabled when our internet service providers conducting regular maintenance on site. Sorry for any confusion caused in this occasion.

We do not operate any restaurant on site therefore room service is unavailable. However; we have a lot of take-out menus from restaurants in Edmonton available at front desk and most of them offer delivery service. Should you need further city shopping and dining guidance, you are welcome to contact our front desk for further information.

There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance close by our hotel such as a family diner within 1-minute walk on left of the hotel. About 2-minute walk from the hotel, you will find Outback steakhouse, Nellos Italian Restaurant, Japanese Village Restaurant. A 3-minute walk will take you to the Cora Breakfast & Lunch Restaurant. A 5-minute drive will bring you to the South Common Strip Malls where there are lots of shops and restaurants. A 10-minute drive will take you to the Southgate Centre shopping mall with shops and a food court loaded with F&B outlets serving international cuisines. To name a few: KFC, A&W, Arby’s, Edo Japan, Pizza Hut, Opa Souvlaki, Thai Express, Koryo Korean BBQ, Taco Time, New York Fries, Joey Seafood, Extreme Pita and so on.

We appreciate your positive comments on our hotel good location, awesome breakfast and ok service, large clean rooms. We certainly understand that all these good facts would not make up with the error made. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that we have caused you. We take all the comments from our guests very seriously and will make changes to improve our quality and service whenever possible. We hope you will visit us again so that our staff can demonstrate their usual service abilities.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Inn & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very polite front desk. Room was clean and kept up nicely for three days (three teenagers). Good continental breakfast! would stay there anytime. Pool and sauna were nicely kept. They handled the boys very well and were lenient in their use of the facilities.

Room Tip: Book early,tell the what you want. They do try hard to please you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bobCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear 1bobCanada,

Thank you for spending time from your busy schedule to write us an appreciative review. It will certainly uplift the work spirits of our front desk team members to perform better and best to serve our valuable guests like yourself.

It is truly amazing to learn that you have had a good time with your loved ones enjoying your vacation here at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South. We are also glad that your three teenagers were able to enjoy time in the pool and sauna, as well as our complimentary hot and cold breakfasts.

We at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South understand the importance of being courteous, polite and friendly to ensure that our guests have a wonderful and pleasurable stay at our hotel.

We hope you could spend a leisure trip back to Edmonton again soon and to stay with us to experience our other facilities. We are sure you will also enjoy the well equipped Fitness Centre, the Business Centre with complimentary printer and free usage of desktop computers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and to be of services to you and your family in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Walked in and the friendly staff were able to provide a comfortable room at a competitive rate. Knowing they were having group arrivals they were easily able to accommodate my request for a quiet, upper floor room which was greatly appreciated. The morning breakfast that was included was varied and well stocked with friendly staff in attendance. A bit of a challenge to locate the property entrance, but once figured out, access to all highway entrances/options was a piece of cake and very efficient. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Yukon Landcruis… R,

It is with great pleasure for us to be able to serve you during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Your kind considerations and understanding towards our group arrivals on the same day as your arrival has deeply touched our hearts. We are glad that our team members are able to accommodate your requests and that they have made a friendly and helpful impression to you.

Our breakfast attendants must be very happy when they hear that you have enjoyed the well stocked breakfast, whereas our dedicated housekeepers will be smiling to learn that you have a comfortable stay with us. We want to thank you once again for your appreciation to our excellent brand new property, quiet comfortable room, competitive rate and to your compliment to our friendly staffs.

In addition, we are happy that you are able to locate and to access to the highways nearby our hotel. We will continue with our good team work spirits and to keep up with your high expectations.

We look forward to have the honor to serve you again in your next and every future visits.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

this is our 2nd time staying at h.i.e. edmonton south. we like it here. quick and friendly check-in and check-out. rooms modern and clean, large flat screen t.v., microwave, mini fridge, and comfortable beds. very minor complaint - elevators noisy, bumpy and slow (could use some maintenance)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for coming back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South big family. We appreciate it very much for your great insights of our hotel and the confirmation of our persistency in maintaining our best possible hospitality service standard.

We are glad that you have a great stay with us and have found our front desk coworkers to be friendly and approachable over your entire stay at our hotel. In addition, they were able to serve your check-in and check-out efficiently.

Thanks also for your compliments on our hotel rooms modern décor, update and well equipped in room facilities such as the large flat screen tv, microwave, mini fridge. Most important of all, you are able to enjoy the comfortable beds and clean rooms.

We are sorry to learn that you had a bumpy ride in our elevators. We have regular check up and maintenance for our elevators from the service provider. We will notify them to fix the noise, bumpy and slow situations ensuring the elevators are smooth and quiet in future.

Thank you for your kind support and continuous patronage. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South family again soon.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything was top notch. In Dutch we say gezellig. If you want everything perfect go to another planet. Do you really think the Holiday Inn chain got as big as it is by pissing people off? NO!.... to err is human to forgive divine. I have worked in the Hotel industry in the past and I have seen my share of lies to get a discount in the room. Bed bugs...Schmedbugs! If you need to feel safe and you want a room for a dog and you fit for a King and Queen on the first floor with a separate entrance go here. LOVE LOVE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear d k,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South during your October stay in Edmonton.

Please accept our heartfelt thank you for your time to write us an unforgettable 5-star top notch review to our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Guests’ satisfaction and clean comfortable accommodations are always our main priorities.

It was truly our pleasure to have you, your loved one and your pet to be our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for allowing us to serve you.

We hope to see you as our regular guest again soon at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#18 of 93 in Edmonton
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing