We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
St. Paul, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first stay at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton South and we enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Shopping is close by as well as a lot of restaurants. We appreciated the flat screen TV and the fridge. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Rudolph W,

Thanks very much for taking time out of your busy day to share your experiences regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are also happy that you found our breakfast delicious; and are able to make use of the flat screen TV and the fridge. Our hotel is truly close by a lot of shopping and dining restaurants.

We could not wait to welcome you and your family to revisit us again and stay for a longer period so you can enjoy all the other facilities we have had on site. In our lobby level, you will find an indoor pool, a whirlpool and a fitness centre where you and your family can spend some family time together and have fun.

For your business or communications need, we have a well-equipped business centre with desktop computers and printer where you can run your own complimentary print outs. Should you need to host any family functions such as birthday parties, meetings in the future, you might consider using one of our function rooms; we will help to make your occasion a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for your favorable reviews and support to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    102
    48
    14
    21
See reviews for
107
40
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

clean, comfortable, non-smoking hotel, pet rooms 1st floor, fee was $25 total for 2 dogs 1 nt. Room 102, low weekend rate for king suite. Complimentary breakfast had loads to choose from - hubbie had eggs, bacon, I had healthy fresh fruit, oatmeal. Hotel has fenced rear parking lot with landscaping & garbage cans to pick up after your pet. Very nice. Close to loads of shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 102 is king suite with bedroom & separate sitting room, huge ceilings. regular rate is $179 but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear arcticgrrl,

Thank you for choosing ‘Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South’ during your recent stay in Edmonton. It is lovely to learn that we have made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one.

We would like to extend our sincere appreciation towards your kind reviews on our hotel services, clean, comfortable bedroom and pet friendly. Your favorable comments will certainly help to boost our staff morale and to encourage them to achieve better and best to exceed guests expectations.

We hope that on your next trip back to Edmonton, you will be able to spend more time here to experience all other facilities our hotel has to offer on site. These include our daily complimentary hot and cold breakfast, a fully equipped fitness centre, an indoor swimming pool.

Thanks again for your generous support to our hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here on business a few times. Stayed in what I think was called the King Suite It was basically 1 step above just your standard room, and was only an additional $4 per night when I booked. The bed is quite comfortable. The room is segmented into two areas. The first is a sitting area with couch/table, kitchenette, and a TV. The second is the bedroom with a desk, TV, sitting area, and the bed. Both TVs were LCD. It was actually a larger area than I was expecting.
I didn't try the excercise area so cannot comment.
The Breakfasts are fine, but nothing special. The first time I was there the omlette was actually hard from sitting too long under the heat lamp and I thought "Well, this sucks, but it's free." I was food and I was in a rush to get to the client's office so I just ate it and left. The next couple of times that I stayed here the food was significantly better so I am writing the first time off to an anomaly.
Bottom line, it was comfortable, food was okay, and I had no real complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MySuzLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MySuzLuc,

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write us your personal experiences at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We appreciate it very much for your kind reviews on our hotel facilities and amenities. We are glad that you are happy and feel comfortable during your entire stay with us.

We constantly observe and listen to our guests’ needs and will try out utmost to improve and maintain the service quality and standard for our valued guests. Please do not hesitate to reflect your suggestions to our staff on duty if you found anything that requires improvement and attention. We will be eager to seek ways to improve same.

We hope that you will visit us again soon either for business or for leisure, to make use of our leisure facilities available on site, such as the fitness centre, the indoor pool for some rest and relaxation. You may like to book our meeting room for your business and/or personal occasions such as family and friends gatherings or business functions.

Thank you again for your kind support and continuous patronage.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express met our needs: clean, quiet, comfortable bed, healthier options for breakfast, parking, and friendly staff. Convenient location when travelling from south of Edmonton. Large box store shopping and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear cdar,

Many thanks for sharing your valuable review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are thrilled that we are able to meet your needs. It is most encouraging to hear from our valued guest like yourself mentioning about our staff being friendly. We are also happy to learn that you have found our hotel to be clean and comfortable, environment are quiet, and our complimentary breakfast have the healthier options that suit your requirements.

Thanks to your positive comments about the hotel convenient location enabling easy access to restaurants and shopping in Edmonton and nearby area.

On behalf of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, we want to convey our sincere thanks for your kind support. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express. We only dealt with the front desk at check in and check out. The room was a basic two queen beds with a full bathroom. Flat screen tv and fridge in the room. One of the light bulbs in the bathroom was burnt out the whole time we were there. Housekeeping was very prompt in cleaning the room. They were there by 9am. The hotel offered an included breakfast. Worst coffee I have ever had. It was very busy in the breakfast room, but they had additional seating in a small conference room. There was a pool and hot tub that we did not use. The location is convenient to Calgary Trail. Easy to get to lots of restaurants and shopping. I would stay again if they had a great rate, but otherwise I might try another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear traveler06,

Thanks very much for taking time to write us a review to express your comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We also want to thank you for your appreciation of our convenient location nearby the Calgary Trail and are easy reach to lots of restaurants and shopping.

Please be informed that our team of staffs is always there at your services. Should there be any room facilities or amenities that are malfunction such as a burnt light bulb, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk by dialing our in-room phone at your convenience. Our staff will be very happy and eager to offer prompt assistance.

We have constantly trying out the newest and the best possible coffee available in the market. We felt bad that you dislike the coffee. In the case that the coffee was not hot enough, you are always welcome to talk to our breakfast attendants and to notify them to replace yours with a new cup.

We hope to see you and your friends back to our hotel and to be our guests again very soon.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A Holiday Inn Express next to the Calgary Trail South? you think it would be noisy, but we were put on the parking lot side and found no problem with noise at all
The close proximity to the Edmonton South Common shopping district makes this hotel worth every cent. Added to the location that it's a Holiday Inn sweetens the pot. Comfortable room, breakfast in the morning, everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Hotel is fairly new and shows as such

One issue, Holiday Inn (IHG) would not honour their lowest price guarantee, they claimed they could not find the lower rate on Travelocity. It wouldn't make me not stay at an IHG hotel again, i'd be as tricky as they are about getting the guarantee fulfilled.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the parking lot side to avoid noise from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We (myself and my wife) are frequent travellers to Edmonton for both business and leisure. We stayed at different hotels each time we come here, this was the first time we tried out this hotel.
The rooms and common areas are very neat and clean. We enjoyed the great selection of breakfast items. The front desk staff were polite and helpful.

We could not think of anything negative. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear mr w,

Greetings!

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and to share your experiences at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South with other viewers.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your first stay with us in Edmonton. It is our honor to be able to serve you with great breakfast, and to provide you and your wife with comfortable and clean rooms and surroundings. We will share with our front desk staff your happy review and to tell them they have made a very positive impression to our dear guests like you.

Your recommendation of our hotel means a lot to us and our team. We hope to welcome you and your wife back to our hotel on your next and every future visits to Edmonton. Until then, take care.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing