We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything sparks, shine and clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything sparks, shine and clean room”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everytime I visited Edmonton, I will come back to this hotel. The room was speechlessly clean, they did a good housekeeping job as always.
Breakfast buffet are free with unlimited choices. The two ladies serving at the breakfast buffet were very courteous and hardworking .... kept refilling the fast moving goodies. Excellent customer services.
I also worked out at the fitness centre and swim in the indoor pool prior to taking breakfast every morning. It was such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dream H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Dream H,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you have chosen Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South as your official hotel in Edmonton.

We are so proud that we have met and exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. We will share your reviews with our housekeeping staff, breakfast servers and front desk clerks, so they know all their hard work are being rewarded with guests’ satisfactions and appreciation.

We, at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South understand the importance of clean and hygiene facilities and friendly helpful services will make a big difference in the hospitality world.

Thank you for your kind patronage and continuing support to our hotel.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    110
    49
    14
    21
See reviews for
114
45
15
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites with my family, fantastic hot and cold breakfast with lots of selections. I will definite come back and recommend this hotel to everyone, as the service staff were extremely helpful, kind and cheerful. We felt very welcomed and happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Lower floor close to fitness centre, indoor pool, breakfast room, easy access to hotel facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AT151_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear AT151_12,

Thank you very much for taking time to write us a review about your first stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are very happy to hear that you and your family had enjoyed the huge selection of hot and cold breakfast items offered by our hotel as a compliment to our in room guests. On your next and future visits to Edmonton, please come stay with us again and to try out our in house fitness centre facilities, and an indoor pool. You can also host family reunions in one of our rental function rooms available on the premises.

On behalf of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, we would like to convey our sincere thanks for your generous personal recommendation of our hotel facilities and services to other viewers. It has been an honor for our team to be able to serve you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is very new and incredibly clean. I am a little crazy and actually clean hotels with Clorox wipes before I settle in - remote, door knobs, and bathroom, top to bottom. This was the CLEANEST hotel I've ever stayed in. Our room was facing a busy street but I didn't hear much traffic. The pool is small but clean and open great hours. And the breakfast is unbelievable! Hot items like cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, pancakes, toast, oatmeal, yogurt. I almost hate giving such a great review because it might come back to bite me when I need the room again and it's all booked!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chakra_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Michelle B,

It is a great pleasure to read your “Amazing” reviews on Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.
My team will be very touched and motivated by your appreciative words and encouraging comments.

We would not blame you for using Clorox wipes to clean all remote, door knobs and bathroom (though our housekeepers have already wiped them down prior to your check-in to the rooms). We totally understand the importance of hygiene especially in today’s hospitality world. We always emphasize to all staff members at our daily meetings that “Cleanliness and Hygiene” are the keys to a comfortable stay at a hotel. In addition to these, “Friendly, Helpful and Knowledgeable staff members” from each and every department will enable our hotel guests staying at our hotel to feel like staying at home-away-home. All our staff members have undergone professional on the job hospitality training and corporate training as well. They are the front line personnel that help to connect and understand our hotel guests’ needs and to achieve guests’ total satisfaction.

It is priceless to hear from you, our valuable guest that we are the CLEANSEST hotel you have ever stayed in. We feel extremely happy that you have found our hotel to be new, incredibly clean, pool is clean, staff are nice and helpful, room facing street are quiet, hot breakfast are unbelievably good with plenty of selections.

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we would love to extend our sincere heartfelt thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Please do not hesitate to contact us for future room reservations and we will try our best to accommodate your needs.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to be our guests again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were very happy with the outward "appearance" of the hotel. It smelled clean, looked clean, and the front desk staff was great in even making our room on a floor where our kids wanted to stay. Got to our room and were satisfied with the way the room looked, until we got a closer look. The room we stayed in had a hide-a-bed, so we grabbed the bedding down from the shelf, put the sheet on, and proceeded to put the blanket on only to find a large "old" looking blood stain on it...we called down to the front desk to have this taken care of. One of the hotel staff came up and tried to rectify the situation, but the blanket he brought in to replace the "bloody" one had a huge rip in it.
That was problem number 1! Problem number 2; there is no pay per view service and the cable they had MAYBE had 12 channels.
Problem 3, came back the next day after being gone from 9am until 9:30pm that night to a room that hadn't been touched by the housekeeping staff! No "freshen" up of the plastic cups, or facecloths or towels...no remake of the beds....nothing.
Also the pool is VERY small!
At $159/night PLUS taxes, this hotel has absolutely NOTHING to offer except maybe a hot breakfast, which you can get at the time horton's or mcdonald's down the road!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have the hotel lights blaring right into the rooms, try for a rear f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleskye27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear purpleskye27,

Thank you very much for spending time to contribute your reviews concerning your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are happy that you like the layout of our hotel and room, our front desk clerk was able to provide you and your kids in a room at a desirable location.

Please accept our sincere apology for the unfortunate mishap on the blanket you intended to use on the murphy bed. We hope for your kind understanding that this incident was an unintentional human error and an oversight of the stain at our end. We will bring this matter up in our meeting to alert all our housekeeping staff to check all the blankets more intricately.

Our hotel has provided 40 cable television stations to our hotel guests. We do not have pay-per-view service as we have provided two complimentary movie channels from Movie Central. All guests are welcome to contact the Front Desk for help with any problems in tuning into the stations.

Our housekeeping staff makeup the rooms and refresh linens on a daily basis, except for rooms that have the Do Not Disturb signs. Please contact the Front Desk immediately if you need room makeup or maintenance assistance.

The size of the pool was built according to Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel corporate brand standard. For the room rate per night is reflected by the room type selected at time of reservations. We have different room types of different room rates suitable for different needs and budget. We recommend early room reservations as all room types are subject to availability on a first come first serve basis.

We understand that our hotel is situated in a very convenient location among a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and entertainment complex, where you can get hot breakfast. However; our room rates are inclusive of the fabulous complimentary hot and cold breakfast. We have received plenty of favorable comments from our hotel guests so far.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip so you can give us an opportunity to serve you our fabulous complimentary hot and cold breakfast.

Thanks and regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Clean fresh rooms. Hotel is spotless. Breakfast is fantastic for travellers. Located just outside city, very close to West Edmonton Mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear FerTravel,

Thank you very much for granting us a 5-star great review reference to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We feel great and happy that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. It is fantastic that you and your family were able to spend some quality time around the City, visiting the West Edmonton Mall. Our hotel is truly situated in a very ideal location right in the middle of everything: restaurants, theatres, shopping malls, business offices… etc.

We are also glad that you found our breakfast to be fantastic, and our rooms were to your likings: clean, fresh and spotless. We hope that you have made use of the indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and a fully equipped fitness centre right on the premises as well.

We look forward to the opportunities of welcoming you and your family back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South again soon.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a dog and two teenagers our stay was a week and I highly recommend it. Rooms were good size with fridge and microwave, clean pool was great and the breakfast was fantastic. Staff were all friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccrVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear ccrVictoria,

Good Day. Thank you so much for posting your personal experiences about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

It is wonderful to learn that you and your two teenagers with your pet enjoyed a good week stay at our hotel. We are glad that we have met and exceed your expectations and that you have given us a 5-stars rating score.

It is always a pleasure to hear that you found the rooms to be of good size and well equipped with fridge and microwave, the pool was clean and great, fantastic breakfast and friendly staff…… We will share your insights with our fellow coworkers so they can be proud of their achievements and to keep up with their good works.

On behalf of the entire team at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, we would like to extend our sincere thanks for your highly recommendations of us to all travelers.

We hope to see you and your family again on your next and every Edmonton trips.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here probably a total of 16-20 nights in total. Nice clean hotel, friendly staff and free breakfast in the morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MatadorJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Matador JK,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We feel very special and joy to receive positive compliments from you in particular, as a valuable regular hotel guest who constantly come back to stay with us all through the time.

We are glad that you have numerous enjoyable stays with us and that our friendly staffs are able to measure up with your high expectations. You are truly a member of our big family at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

On behalf of the hotel team, please accept our sincere appreciation of your continuous support. Your kind note will boost our staffs’ energy empowering them to work as a team to excel their best.

It has been a great pleasure for us to be of services to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South big family on your next and every visit again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing