We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suite, new hotel, some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
White Rock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful suite, new hotel, some issues”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is right on the Calgary Trail, so if you dont like the freeway out your window, dont stay here. When I reserve, I always ask for a quiet room. I was put on the freeway side of the hotel rather than the parking lot. I was too tired to go down and complain so I sucked it up. The noise is masked by really good windows, but of course in the wee hours of the am when the trucks race by, you will hear them.
The room was beautiful - I had a king suite, so the bedroom is partially seperated from the living area. Two massive flatscreen tvs, the furniture almost brand new, the bed super comfy. Bathroom wasnt glamorous, but functional, and I was happy to see they had a bathtub!
Front desk was not what I would call welcoming, but then I guess not everyone is friendly in this world. The person who checked me out was certainly better, but when I asked how I would go about getting a quiet room the next time I was told to "put a memo on the reservation". I said that I did, to which she responded "oh". She said I could call in and ensure it next time. Issue is that the onus is completely on me to ensure a good stay - not on the hotel. (very unlike the nearby Hampton).
I missed their complimentary breakfast because the elevators were down. Being on the top floor with heavy luggage, I had to wait. After checking in with the repair man 3 times, he finally told me it was working and I could use it all along- it was just annoying for him to call it up for me I guess?
All in all, the room was lovely, but with so much nearby competition not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    110
    50
    14
    22
See reviews for
117
48
15
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Came to Edmonton for a wedding, this hotel was recomended by the wedding party for its good location

Room itself was really spacious, with two queen beds as well as a microwave and a fridge - quite handy.

Good buffet breakfast, a bit chaotic in the lsat half hour of the serving time, but you could always get up a bit earlier - however finishing at 9.30 on a Sat morning seemed a bit early for most guests.

Free wi-fi is available, but speeds are pretty average, and the connection does drop in and out at times. Wouldn't recommend for a business hotel for this reason.

There is a small pool and jacuzzi as well as a small weights/cardio room, both of which we used.

Have been impressed and would consider the Holiday Inn Chain again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here as a family of four for one night in July 2011. There was a conference going on in the hotel, but the hotel did not feel over crowded or loud. We were on the third floor facing north. While the view was nothing to look at, I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was being right on Calgary Trail. We heard no road noise at all! The room was clean and large, as was the bathroom. They have the usual, and tasty full breakfast included. Everything was fresh, and the staff was very quick to fill things up and clean things away that guests hadn't taken cleaned away.

I was very pleased with this hotel - clean, quiet, comfortable, tasty - all good things for an overnight stay!

Room Tip: comparison shop, and use a AAA card if you have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ansafae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stay here every time we are in Edmonton and we love it! There isn't anything about this hotel I could complain about, except maybe the really, really slow elevators.

This hotel also has coin laundry, which is a big plus!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lotusberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

hotel was fine, room was clean, bed was very good, no complaints. Room was quiet even though it was front of bldg, near road - no road noise. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestengkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We recently purchased a pass for WEM and decided to go up for another weekend in June. Our first hotel option was not so great so based on a referral we decided to try out the Holiday Inn Express. We booked the kids room that has a sliding door to seperate the main bedroom from the kids so in the evening when you have little ones they can go to sleep and the parents can watch some TV without having to go to bed by 8:00.

The room was not super fancy but it was clean, had everything we needed, great location and a decent size pool. The free breakfast in the morning was awesome with many hot items to choose from and something for everyone. So far this has been our best hotel in Edmonton and definitely recommend it for families who want a good rest and enjoy the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranstonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Over the last year and half we have been staying at this hotel on Medical rate, due to Our son's having to see the paediatric specialist dentist just 1/2 a block away. We have been booking at the medical rate all the visits we have stayed. I would have to say 6-8 of them at least.

I have in the past had to show our confirmation of the appt. But sometimes I have also been told that they didn't need to see it.

Well this time unfortunately will be our last visit; we will be finding a different hotel to stay at.

We had just got settled into our room, and received a phone call from the front desk clerk. She said after reviewing my medical letter that they cannot accept it as it is not for a hospital appt. I explained to her the past times we have stayed here, and she did note that she saw we had the special rate, and that we should have not been booked at this rate, as this type of appt didn't qualify.

I went downstairs and requested to see a copy of their conditions for medical rate. They couldn't provide this to me. I would have to wait until the morning to talk to the manager. So I will wait tell the morning to see.

I told her that this is going to be the last time we will be staying here. It didn't seem like there was any remorse to my concerns. The front desk explained to me that the rules had changed, but when I spoke to the other lady, she said that this has been a rule for a very long time. So what is the deal???? Is it new or not.

To me it is a medical appt, to a specialist, and we live 5 hours away, it’s not like we live here and are just trying to get a deal. It’s for a paediatric dentist specialist to boot.

I guess we will find a new place to stay that will honour our rates for medical apt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syaremko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing