We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pita and dips but pricy”
Review of Sofra

Sofra
Ranked #19 of 2,405 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pita and dips but pricy”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went for dinner with husband. Had 2 beers, one appetizer and to entrees. $100 meal. Pita with dips really good but not sure worth $27. Filet overcooked, well done instead of medium. Prices have increased since they first opened. Eggplant dip no longer on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nans1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    24
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OMG... they can cook meat!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went there with friends last night. We shared a bunch of dishes so I was able to taste the lamb loin, chicken, shrimp and swordfish. It all tasted so good. The lamb was so tender and tasty. The chicken blew me away...it melted in your mouth! We also tried a few appetizers...the apricot appetizer was unbelievable. The fresh hummus and red pepper dip was also very good and served with FRESHLY homemade pita bread. I am usually not a fan of bulgar but loved it too. There was nothing at all to complain about...it was all 5 star! The server was also excellent. She was friendly and we never went without anything. We will go back again. You definately need a reservation as the place is busy. This is a top five place in Edmonton.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taryn-Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No children under 10 allowed”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We did not eat here therefore the scores are not representative regarding the food or value.
We did call for a reservation and were told our 9 year old child would not be welcome as they have a policy for 10 yrs old and up only! No mention of this on the tripadvisor reviews so I wanted to make sure that those with families are aware that this is NOT kid friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aup231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Good tasting & pricey Turkish food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a neat little restaurant in downtown Edmonton offering really good Turkish food. I had Adana and Turkish coffee. The meat was so nicely cooked, spicy enough and well marinated, coffee was good too. I did found the place quite expensive concerning quantity of food one gets as well as the location of the restaurant, but I will still give this place 5 out of 5. Service was polite and good too...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InterMMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Last week I met with four other women for a dinner before Amaluna. The room is divided into different areas and levels - we had a lovely private table in a alcove which was very conducive to visiting. Our server was attentive and helpful. We shared two appetizers - grilled apricots and a spicy date dip with pita. Both were delicious and different enough to be intriging. We then shared three dinners - beautifully cooked swordfish, chicken and meatballs. The platters were nicely balanced with grilled vegetables, and salad. There was also something the menu said was bulgar, or was it rice? It was quite soft, bland and not memorable. For dessert we had baklava and coffee. The amount of food was adequate for us, and we didn't feel sleeply and stuffed at our show.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Sofra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing