We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Homefire Grill

Homefire Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Homefire Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 2,393 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Native American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Place LaRue
Cross street: 184 St NW
Description: Contemporary Canadian Fire Roasted Cooking. Experience the aroma of cooking on flames and the warmth of a central fireplace. Be surrounded by rich colours and natural elements of rock, wood and metal; and take in highlights of petroglyphs and artwork from ancient times. This is the feel of the Homefire Grill concept. The Homefire Grill features an open kitchen concept with the best in rotisserie and fire-roasted oven equipment. The restaurant seats 120 people with plenty of booth seating and the lounge seats 60.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A reasonable dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I would go back (probably will this week). The menu is all over the place, from brick oven pizza to escargot and lamb. Not too sure where this is going. The Bison burger was pretty good and the service was notable. The Bison egg rolls are worth the try for sure. The lounge was comfortable and the bar keep was attentive to our needs. Bottom line, give it a try and decide for yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsgrilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    76
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our soccer team manager booked reservations ahead of time for a team supper for approximately 17 teen girls (ages 14-17) and 30 parents. On arrival the staff had a room set aside and ready for the team to sit together and parents were seated in booth seating. Essentially close to 50 people arrived at once and I must say the staff and service here for this amount of people arriving at once was excellent. Our orders were taken and efficiently and drinks came out quickly. There is a great slection of quality wines to chose from. All of our meals arrived with in 30 min or so of being ordered and were all served hot and fresh out of the kitchen. Many of the teens (and parents) chose pizza from the menu with rave reviews. Our table also tried the rotisserie chicken and steak salad and both were excellent and well portioned. The staff efficiently arranged seperate bills for us all and a 15% gratuity is added to groups 10 or over and this made it easy to pay the bill. Will definitely keep this restaurant on our list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggy-del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality has declined”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We ate here a few years ago when it first opened and it was delicious, with a great wine selection. Unfortunately our last experience was not so great. The food was expensive and the quality was not comparative. The service was good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DEB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl O, Manager at Homefire Grill, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your dining experience at the Homefire Grill on March 19. As you indicated the standards for food and service delivery that you received were not indicative of the norm for us or for you. Only through the feedback of valued customers such as yourselves can we improve and meet the expectations of all our guests.

I believe that we have a winning formula, the combination of excellent people, food, and ambiance that will set our establishment apart from many other foodservice operations, but despite our best intentions, sometimes things don’t execute in the fashion that we want. Unfortunately it is you as a customer that suffers when this happens. My apologies.
Please contact me personally if I can assist you in any other way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were staying at the hotel behind the restaurant, so decided to give it a try. The atmosphere was very nice and although the restaurant had mood lighting, it was still easy to read the menu at the table. We ordered a Chicken Caesar Salad, Salmon, Chicken Alfredo and Chicken and Ribs. Majority of the meal was good, but the Alfredo sauce was disappointing. Not something I would order again. The server was friendly, but no drinks were refilled and other than checking to see how the first bites were, we didn't see her again.

I think we should have tried more of the specialty items to get a better feel for the chef's talent, but we were not in an adventurous mood that day. I would be willing to give them a second try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Can_Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had arranged a family New Years eve supper for 13 adults and 8 children in private room from ages 3 to 97. Selection of unique items off the menu and a special menu for New Years was all amazing- we were all passing around each others dishes to try because it was all so good. Service was quick and appreciated the personal touches such as checking the room before we left to ensure no items were left behind, and delivery of wine to the hotel we stayed at that shared the same parking lot. Will definitely plan to visit this restaurant again when staying in Edmonton.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homefire Grill also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Homefire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing