We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN UPMARKET, TRENDY PIZZA JOINT”
Review of Una Pizza + Wine

Una Pizza + Wine
Ranked #7 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: UNA Pizza + Wine is a neighbourhood restaurant serving Californian & Italian influenced cuisine, thin crust pizzas, wine and as much local product as we can get. We are open 7 days a week from 11:30am - 1am for lunch, dinner & late night dining and 7 days a week from 4pm - 11pm for delivery in the southwest of Calgary.
toronto
Level Contributor
365 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“AN UPMARKET, TRENDY PIZZA JOINT”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Una, on trendy 17th ave is the hip and young 'Y-generation' hangout. Goumet pizzas are the main deal and there are 'not pizza' dishes like the scrumptuous meatballs and fresh salads; butter lettuce salad - my favourite. Got to be early there as there is no reservations. It seems that the trendy thing in Calgary is paying $2 for water - Q water in Una, in the name of enviroment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    136
    48
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fiasco from beginning to end”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Another example of no reservation-taking leading to mayhem at the door. After eventually being seated, we were harassed from beginning to end to see if we had finished and could get out. Appetizers and mains came within 5 minutes of each other. Appie was nice, the pizza was abysmal. Server was rude, disinterested and unprofessional. This was the second time in 22 years I have not left a tip. Nothing could tempt me back to this crowded and mediocre money maker on 17th.

Helpful?
7 Thank anderses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great food and atmosphere. It's a small place so arrive early or be prepared to wait (so worth it though!).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug8486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
540 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Una Experience!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had lunch here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon -- so picked one of the small outside tables (there are 2 tables and then a small eating bar overlooking the sidewalk). Our waiter was very helpful as we decided on beer, wine and pizza. We eventually went with the salami pizza -- which was very tasty. We enjoyed the extremely fresh tomatoe sauce, as well as the very flavourful cheeses and meat. I would have liked a bit more meat on the pizza -- but overall very good.

We noticed that some tables ordered one pizza per person -- but it seemed like they all ended up taking some home with them. We found that one pizza shared between two people was great for lunch -- you might want more for dinner.

We did seem to be waiting a very long time for our pizza to arrive. Just as we were going to mention this to our waiter - he actually came over and apologized -- saying he had put the order in late. He did offer a small snack to tide us over until the pizza came.

Generally we had a very good experience -- even with the slight delay getting our food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Succulent Pizza”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here early one lunchtime and within minutes it was crowded. Had a ringside seat watching the pizzas being made until the starters arrived. Who knew Broccoli could be so tasty! I recommend it highly. Then came the pizzas. Whilst they wouldn't please a purist, the base was a tad thicker than I am used to and the topings were heavy I have to say the taste was divine. Even though I had had a huge breakfast only a couple of hours ago my cheese bianca pizza drizzled with honey truffle oil was great, as was my friends mushroom and smoked mozzarella. Great coffee too. I really enjoyed it and understood why people queue to get into this place. Not cheap, especially the wine but very very nice food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgarynixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Una Pizza + Wine also viewed

 

Been to Una Pizza + Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing