We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and cold beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toad N Turtle

Toad N Turtle
Ranked #166 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Description: The Toad 'n' Turtle first opened its doors on December 4, 2001. Ever since then we have been one of northeast Calgary's favorite places to party. We like to think of ourselves as an English pub with attitude. We also, however, take great pride in our culinary skills. We don't just serve up your typical pub food. We have a roof top meat smoker where we smoke all our own meats. Don't worry, we're not all about the smoked meats, even though we do love it, our menu has a large variety for almost any palate. The Toad's menu will keep you coming back for more.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food and cold beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was warned that this place have kind of boring bar food, but I visited anyhow and was plesently suprised. They had a great selection of beer and the food was actually really good. I had some kind of marinated beef ribs and a chicken quesadilla which I really enjoyed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level Contributor
250 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a great little pub/sports bar. Atmosphere is pretty good, but had a great assortment of great beers on tap and the food was real tasty. The service was great and everyone was really friendly. We were staying at the hotel across the street so were happy for the 1 a.m. closing time here so that we had somewhere to hang out. we would return forsure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkeytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great for a pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

For a pub this is one of my favorites in Calgary, good food even the butter chicken which I found surprising. Great waitresses.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really enjoyed the food here. The bison burger is excellent. Atmosphere is pretty good, service was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great beers, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Well its another sports bar / restaurant but its worth a visit
For food, it kind of the standard bar foods, although much of it appeared made on site, (not per packaged) Had a Prime Rib sandwich for luch and it was excellent. Cooked nicely and came with a peppercorn sauce that was great.
Our waitress was sweet and very attentive, love to corporate dress,
Went back for dinner for take out (basball game on TV), had a turckey wrap, well made and a nice sauce, would have it again,
BUT the BEER, strong supporter of Craft Breweries, had a good selection of styles and types. Had a local Pilsner for Village Brewing and it was very enjoyable.
Well done Toad

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior4094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toad N Turtle also viewed

 

Been to Toad N Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing