We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Last---a well-worth repeat experience!”

Bears Den Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bears Den Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 3,547 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $31 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bahamian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Crowchild & Bearspaw Rd.
Description: Warm cherry wood walls, crackling fire, crystal, crisp linens, great steaks, fresh fish and wild game...Bears Den is a one of a kind restaurant in North West Calgary.
calgary
Level Contributor
734 reviews
553 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“At Last---a well-worth repeat experience!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Been a long time but hosts encouraged us to try again!
Without a doubt, the building speaks for itself--beautifully done,
Reception was warm and helpful---immediate attention at the table
was apparent and very pleasant.
Wine menu was exquisite--appetizers excellent----market soup was
tomato/basil and was hot and delightful! Spinach salad very generous
and crispy.
Main: 3 orders of halibut with a squash risotto-steamed and perfectly
done----prime rib-superb, and lamb with veggies and gnocci--excellent,
Bit slow on the start of dinner, but well worth it.
Bread was served late.
Desserts involved chocolate and sorbets---best finish to a well balanced
presentation.
Transition involves now a dining room and a bistro/bar/lounge,
and new ownership---Thank you Anthony for a lovely evening of food and
beverage.
We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    23
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A special occasion. What's nice is you don't have someone sitting in your back pocket, lots of room and privacy around the tables. Outstanding service and you are not rushed. The appetizer was duck and bison sausage, proscuito and a pate served with grain mustard and/or saskatoons, this was fantastic. For dinner, two had duck breast, one a steak, one had prime rib. All were hot, full portioned and delicious. The menu has numerous other entrees but you can only eat so much at a sitting. Now desert was special as you can order a "sampler" of all the offered deserts and these disappeared in no time. Certainly not the cheapest place in town but you truly get your money's worth.
Just an outstanding place for dinner and we'll all be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank webeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
758 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we'd been to the Den twice before - this time we went with a group of 9 people, booked the private room and were looking forward to an amazing time. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We waited 15 minutes to order our drinks and then almost 35 minutes to get them; then the waiter didn't know which were the gin and tonics and which was the vodka tonic - no one was impressed with him sniffing the drinks to tell. Again a long wait to order our food. However, even though they no longer serve the AAAA beef, when the food finally arrived it was great; but why can't they serve all the appetizers at one time? - only three or four plates and a pause and a few more - the restaurant was not so busy. Mushroom soup, parsnip soup, scallops, shrimp ceviche were all very well done. Another long wait before the entrees came and when they did they were again not all served at the same time. The food was very nicely done - great flavours and presentations. The halibut, the steaks all excellent. My gnocchi risotto would have been just fine if I didn't have to wait 10 minutes for my scallop side dish. One lamb dish was served almost blue rather than medium rare and the lobster tails were tiny. All-in-all it was disappointing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Slow, Terrible Service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely food, nice presentation, you will not be disappointed with the food. However, there is NO service. Expect to wait at least 15 - 20 minutes for a drink, your bread, dessert and bill. The server we have a long, greasy hair which was unappealing as his hair hung into our food. The severs have their eyes down and are not attentive, you are an inconvenience to them. They have an arrogant attitude. They never asked about how our dinner was and every time we needed something, from a fork to a drink it was a challenge to get it. As great as the food was, we would not go back or recommend this restaurant as it was sub standard for fine dining. A disappointment because of the lack of attention of service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hall1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced for what you get”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I went to have a nice evening out and were very disappointed with the service. The server could not answer simple questions about ingredients in the food, no ice bucket for our wine, had to ask for bread. There was only 10 other people in the restaurant so service. Should have been excellent. We ordered prime rib the large piece to bring leftovers home but there was so much fat we actually weighed it and 1/3 was fat. We normally would have had after dinner drinks and enjoy our time but left very unhappy. Not even the manager wanted to do anything for us when we complained. I would not return or recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne2Woodcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bears Den Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bears Den Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing