We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disappointing”

Bears Den Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bears Den Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #422 of 3,529 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $99
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Crowchild & Bearspaw Rd.
Description: Warm cherry wood walls, crackling fire, crystal, crisp linens, great steaks, fresh fish and wild game...Bears Den is a one of a kind restaurant in North West Calgary.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

They have a team approach to service here which doesn't work. Poor communication. Person bringing the salads and dinner had everything stacked on top of each other, had no idea whose was whose and still did it wrong after we told him, 3 of the 4 meals were good, one had to go back as it was undercooked. Bison was very good and very expensive. Truly the food was quite good but the service was very poor making you feel rushed. Not relaxing. The decor is outstanding. If they change to traditional service it would be a big improvement.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Losgatosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    22
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It.s ok”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Went for Valentines day with friends on a high recommendation. Food was quite good BUT the group style wait staff was very marginal. Not relaxing. They did not communicate with each other and so while the food and atmosphere is nice, the staff diminished the experience. Have been to MANY better places. Really must say it was a nice valentines day, but was nit enhanced by dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food poison. ALERT!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Sunday brunch disaster.
The most disgusting kitchen I have ever seen in my life, and I just took a look from the door,there is garbage by the food and it is all dirty they are begging for a law suit for neglecting peoples safety and health.
All the cold sea food that is served on the buffet is expose to a way higher temperature that it is supposed to be in order to control bacteria growth result it is not good for humans anymore. That is right I said sea food.
On the top of everything they don' t serve the same thing to everybody they pick and choose what they want to serve you and then when you ask can I have break they ran out of bread, WHAT A SHOCKER!!!! Bread for brunch??? who would want that when they have all sort of contaminated food.
The food made me real sick I will never go back there why would I pay these people to make me sick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aoah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The host was wonderful - very friendly. The food was exceptional with a good cross-section of different foods from bison to salmon to lamb. We were given a complimentary amuse bouche, which was delicious. Our main courses were all good, and the desserts lovely. We asked the waiter to recommend a wine based on the variety of meals we were having, and his recommendation worked very well. I don't like to be rushed when I am dining, but we felt the service was a bit on the slow side. Although not in the most convenient location, the Bears Den is fairly near to my home, and worth the drive in the country.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“worth while visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

the service is good the food is good , well presented , ample amount for what you pay , and you get good food .2 sides to the interior one side dinning the other side bestrio,you can ordor from the dinning room menu in the bestrio side ,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bears Den Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bears Den Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing