We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Sushi, you must go to Zipang.”
Review of Sushi Bar Zipang

Sushi Bar Zipang
Ranked #110 of 3,607 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Description: Great little sushi restaurant for quality fish that is well prepared. Serves a variety of delicious sushi as well as other traditional Japanese dishes.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you like Sushi, you must go to Zipang.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service, top quality sushi, and a pleasant atmosphere. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for. You can actually say something to them in Japanese and they'll respond in kind, unlike other sushi bars that are run by non-Japanese staff. Great location in Bridgeland as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CT-Raider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A REAL PIECE OF 'CIPANGU'(JAPAN)”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My son who had lived in Japan, in Vancouver, knows a thing or two about sashmi and sushi; he was in ectasy when he found Zipang after moving to Calgary. It is a true Japanese sushi & sashmi bar way out on 1st ave, the mission area, serving top quality fish; superbly created into melt-in-mouth sashmi and heavenly-delicious sushi by its master chef/owner. The restaurant is very populated and reservation is highly recommended. A rare 'ZEN' find indeed! ITATAKIMASU!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“best negri in calgary”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

the price is really hight but i have never had a better belly of tuna in my life. the belly of tuna melted in my mouth as i was eating so much flavor. Best i have ever had, this is the best place for negri in calgary but the rolls are just better then average which is sad cause the negri is out of this world. i would recommend this as it is amazing but dont bother with the rolls as it is not comarable to the negri

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

A hidden gem in bridgeland that boast very good sushi. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for really good sushi, and an overall great experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkilburn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi restaurant, never disappoints!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the best sushi restaurant I have been too, and I've been to a lot. It's a quaint little place reservations are definitely recommended. The staff is unbelievably friendly and extremely humble. The quality of the sushi and sashimi is unparalleled. The smoked salmon is so fresh and melts in your mouth. And you don't have odd non-traditional sushi rolls that have bacon or are deep fried (some of these places I've frequented unfortunately). Excellent dining and service!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Bar Zipang also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Sushi Bar Zipang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing