We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service is so important”
Review of The Bear and Kilt

The Bear and Kilt
Ranked #187 of 3,573 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent service is so important”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is half kitch have dilapidated in a charming way with all the memorabilia hanging on the walls, and on our visit with a local drunkard. Despite or should I say, in spite of this, our waiter was efficient and very friendly. Wow how nice! Great pub food and very affordable prices. A recommendation for those visiting Calgary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissXTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good pub grub going for the bear platter to share which was a big size. Warned the IPA was very hoppy and it was.

Staff was local and good for a chat. Would go back again

Crowd was mainly young getting ready to head out for a Saturday night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canishound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irish pub”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Headed here for drinks after watching the ice hockey. Drink wine from a cask- it wasnt as bad as anticipated. Ate a platter of ribs, wings, sweet potato fries and cost about $27. Fed 5 of us - we were just after snacks. Drinks were reasonably priced. Table service was poor, bar service was good. The pub is a bit dreary and old. Could do with a face lift. Would not go back- mainly because i would prefer an up beat bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average Pub”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good location down town, and interesting to be down stairs. 2 dart boards with lots of action. Fair selection of beer on tap. Food was OK - nothing special.

There are a bunch of Pubs all along that strip. This is the only one we had time to go in to. Would check others out before going back. Not bad - just not great.

Service was slow and not very attentive. Nice enough people.

Average is as good as this one gets

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leavethesn0wbehind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Poor service and not celiac-friendly”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I usually enjoy a good pub, and from their outdoor sign, it looked like this might be a good place to try out - it wasn't. The day I was there, the server ignored me for so long I actually approached her to ask if there was anything she could suggest on the menu that would be (or could be adapted to be) gluten free. The rather rude answer was - nothing. For a non-celiac person, or a group that is partying and not fazed by bad service, this might be an okay choice for beer and cheap food, but it was not for me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AhaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear and Kilt also viewed

 

Been to The Bear and Kilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing