We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR food for locavores!”
Review of Design District Urban Tavern - CLOSED

Design District Urban Tavern
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Beltline
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR food for locavores!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this place. My only complaint, AT ALL, is that it gets crowded and seats are grab 'em as you can get 'em. That makes it hard to get a seat! However, the food is spectacular. The menu changes on a regular basis based on what's in season. They also pickle vegetables in house and they are SO YUM! They have some really good microbrews, as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank girlfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More in to the atmosphere then the food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Before this was The District I had visited the previous establishment @ this location. Inside the decor hasn't really changed but the atmosphere sure has. Was pretty noise when all the tables had filled up, which lent itself to a cozy booth experience. I liked their vibe with in house made items like ketchup, pickles & bacon, though other then the deep fried pickles (which were outstanding) there was nothing spectacular about the food we had ordered to our table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandeedavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best server in calgary!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have gone to district a few times with friends, my girlfriend and work colleagues. It seems like any of those groups fit perfectly at district. Admittedly the kitchen has ebbed & flowed in quality, but from what I understand they now have a new chef at the helm and he is turning out greatness.
I went in last Friday with my girlfriend for date night dinner. The food was spot on. We started with the beef short and mussels. Both so amazing melt in your mouth goodness. I moved on to the gnocchi arrabata & my gf had the pork ear salad. Both meals were perfect! Excellent additions by the new chef!
Highlight of the night was our server. It seems like people have negative experiences with service at district, but ours was incredible. Her name was Chelsea and she just might be the best server in Calgary! She's friendly, attentive, knowledgeable & genuinely likes her job. If you go to district I hope you get her as a server! Definitely worth requesting her for a reservation.
Highlights:
-server
-pasta
- beer! Hairy eyeball & black pilsner are the favs
-gelato- red velvet gelato... Need I say more?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Below standard”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Atmosphere: noisy even the place is nearly empty. Food: fries, crab cakes and beef ribs were exagerately greasy. Service: slow, rude, inefficient. Value: very expensive. Beer: chilled.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The regular spot”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

As far as pubs go, I generally go to District more than anywhere else. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly and all the staff are really great. The happy hour is definitely worth it and is a nice break from the drink gouging that goes on in nearby downtown. Their beer is delicious and the food isn't bad either (the jalapeno-infused vodka that comes with the oysters is a hands-down winner).

It's tough to put your finger on what sets District apart from other watering holes but for some reason it seems to stand out. It's just an overall really good place to hang out and have some beers or cocktails with friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDF_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Design District Urban Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing