We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wings were old,dry, poor & service was dismal.”
Review of Kilkenny Irish Pub

Kilkenny Irish Pub
Ranked #1,308 of 4,024 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Description: This is a great place to meet up with friends or it can be a quiet retreat to share an intimate conversation in front of a cozy fireplace. Kilkenny is your destination to all premier sporting events, as we have rooms filled with HD TV’s and a superb sound system. The extensive menu is one to remember, from scrumptious appetizers to sweet desserts, traditional fare food and daily food specials, there is something for everyone for every occasion. Stop in on Sunday mornings for their famously large and delicious brunch!
Reviewed August 7, 2018

4 seniors arrived at 5 pm, ordered drinks and various plates (6) of wings. The Hot wings, Mango Chipotle, Salt & Pepper and Greek wings all looked the same (old, dry, crispy, hard) and tasted the same in flavour and low quality. I guess the wing supplier is at fault as the cook could not make so many bad wings. Empty beer glasses did not even get the server's attention. Trying to get the attention of the 2 ladies in black outfits (managers) was a failure so standing up and walking to our server finally got our orders placed, required for each refill. In our area 5 tables had patrons and 7 tables were empty so they were not busy as a reason for the poor table service. Happy hour was gone by the time we got refills and she showed no effort to understand her slow service. I really do not understand the need to tip when the service is so poor, the food poor and the living wage increases imposed on us. Table was never cleared while we were there.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018

It is one of my preferred pubs in Calgary, their own draft beer (lamps) is great and food is excellent for a pub.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TIprMESC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgarysBestPubs_CBP, Public Relations Manager at Kilkenny Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Came here with a group. We were served quickly. The food was hearty, everyone had leftovers. I had the beef and bison stew.

Beer was good, good selection. The place was not too noisy so we could have a conversation.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgarysBestPubs_CBP, Public Relations Manager at Kilkenny Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018

Had terrible service here last week. Had a reservation booked and showed up to no one having a clue about it. Took forever to get seated on what was not exactly a full house. I would understand if it was busy.

Took forever to get drinks ordered. My drink order was wrong. Waitress threw napkins on table and was rude throughout. She actually tossed a plate on the table. Who does that? I was never offered a 2nd drink, which is where pubs make their money on wings night.

Wing orders were wrong for just about everyone at the table. They just kept bringing wings. None thet right order. after waitress confirmed the order 3 times. Wings were stale, dry and had no flavour what so ever. Wings with sauces had no sauce.

Really disappointed. Don't normally like to leave bad reviews for customer service. But everything that night was terrible.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

We stopped by this pub for an early dinner so the pub was not too busy. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. The food, although a tad expensive, was good. I had the Reuben with sweet potato fries and a few ciders for just under $50. The side of sweet potato fries at $2 extra was a bit smaller than expected. I liked the decor and feel of the pub and easy, but not obtrusive access to sports games through a few screens scattered on the walls.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank silverbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalgarysBestPubs_CBP, Public Relations Manager at Kilkenny Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback! We're glad you enjoyed our pub and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilkenny Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Kilkenny Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing