We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's favourite restaurant”
Review of The Coup

The Coup
Ranked #17 of 3,575 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Mont royal
Description: We use as much organic & local food, liquor and wine as possible, including all soy products & grains. Menu items are made from scratch & with love. We have a wine & cocktail lounge with weekend DJs, and a restaurant. We recycle all we can & compost our kitchen waste. We purchase food from local farmers, and with minimal packaging; we plant 36 trees a month, and we are 100% wind powered.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My wife's favourite restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great atmosphere and excellent service. Certainly one of the healthiest menus in the city and not too pricey. Try the yam fries for an appy and the Dragon Bowl is really tasty. Don't go there if you have to have meat because there isn't any, but if you're in the mood for organic and locally sourced ingredients, give it a try. Your body will thank you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CT-Raider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    83
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Calgary by far. The food is so unique and tasty, unlike any other place in town. I must mention, it is vegetarian food, so if you are looking for seafood or meat, this is the wrong place. But if you are looking for original vegetarian fare, this is the place for you.
Everything is extremely fresh and reasonably priced, with an ample selection of entree's and appetizers to choose from. The Dragon Bowl is one of my personal favourites. Their drinks are also very unique and tasty.
The only downfall with this place, is that you can't make reservations, you are seated on a first come first served basis, so be prepared to wait if you are going on the weekend, as people line up outside the door.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fabulous time with friends, best food on 17th!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A good friend took me out for dinner here and both the cocktails and the dish I had were amazing. They use really unique herbs and ingredients in everything they make. I'd never had lotus root and they did it up beautifully in the stir fry I had. Everything was mouth watering. The ambiance is great and the service is attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tastiest vegetarian food in Calgary”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Even being a omnivore, we eat at a lot of vegetarian restaurants. In Vancouver this is easier than Calgary, but Coup is an oasis here for vegetarians. So many good options, this is part of our regular rotations of Calgary restaurants and eat here about once a month. The bees knees pizza is a great combo of flavors, the club med salad is amazing. This should satisfy even the carnivores.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orshatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Cowtown”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a gluten-free vegetarian in Calgary is probably the hardest thing to do. Many restaurants offer vegetarian and gluten-free options but they are often bland, boring, and not filling. This is not the case with the Coup. The food is absolutely delicious and made with such love and care. It feels like a home made meal!!! And you don't even feel like you are sacraficing anything to be on a special diet. Not to mention the drinks are original and amazing!!! Try the party punch with a group of friends.This is one of the only restaurants I will be eating at from now on. The fact that people are willing to wait 1 hour plus to get in indicates how good the food really is.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coup also viewed

 

Been to The Coup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing